

Oaths of Office Taken by the Current Court

INFORMATION SHEET



John G. Roberts, Jr. – Took the Constitutional and Judicial Oaths at the White House to become the 17th Chief Justice of the United States on September 29, 2005. Senior Associate Justice John Paul Stevens administered both oaths. The Judicial Oath was taken first during a private ceremony in the Diplomatic Reception Room with members of the Court and their spouses present. The Constitutional Oath was taken during a televised ceremony in the East Room of the White House. On October 3, 2005, a formal investiture ceremony for Chief Justice Roberts took place in the Courtroom that preceded the Court's scheduled arguments. Justice Stevens again administered the Judicial Oath with President George W. Bush in attendance.



Clarence Thomas – Took the Constitutional Oath on October 18, 1991, during a televised ceremony in the White House Rose Garden hosted by President George H.W. Bush. Senior Associate Justice Byron R. White administered the oath. Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist administered the Judicial Oath to Thomas on October 23, 1991, in the Justices' Conference Room. On November 1, 1991, Chief Justice Rehnquist again administered the Judicial Oath during a special sitting of the Court. President Bush did not attend the formal investiture ceremony at the Court.



Samuel A. Alito, Jr. – Took both oaths in the Justices' Conference Room on January 31, 2006. Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., administered the oaths during a private ceremony attended by members of the Supreme Court. On February 1, 2006, Chief Justice Roberts again administered the Constitutional Oath in a televised ceremony in the East Room of the White House hosted by President George W. Bush. On February 16, 2006, Justice Alito ceremonially took the Judicial Oath again in the Courtroom, administered by Chief Justice Roberts. President Bush did not attend the formal investiture ceremony at the Supreme Court.



Sonia Sotomayor – Became the first Hispanic Justice on the Supreme Court after taking both oaths on August 8, 2009. Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., administered the Constitutional Oath in the Justices' Conference Room and later administered the Judicial Oath in the East Conference Room. For the first time, the Judicial Oath ceremony was televised live from the Supreme Court. On September 8, 2009, a formal investiture ceremony took place in the Courtroom, at which Chief Justice Roberts again administered the Judicial Oath with President Barack Obama in attendance.

Updated: 09/30/2022



Elena Kagan – Took both oaths on August 7, 2010, at the Supreme Court. Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., administered the Constitutional Oath in the Justices' Conference Room and later administered the Judicial Oath in a televised ceremony from the West Conference Room. On October 1, 2010, Justice Kagan took the Judicial Oath for a second time during a formal investiture ceremony in the Courtroom, with President Obama in attendance.



Neil M. Gorsuch – Took both oaths on April 10, 2017. Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., administered the Constitutional Oath in the Justices' Conference Room. Later that morning, senior Associate Justice Anthony M. Kennedy administered the Judicial Oath to Gorsuch in a televised ceremony in the White House Rose Garden hosted by President Donald J. Trump. A formal investiture ceremony was held at the Supreme Court on June 15, 2017, with President Donald J. Trump and First Lady Melania Trump in attendance.



Brett M. Kavanaugh – Took both oaths in the Justices' Conference Room on October 6, 2018. Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., administered the Constitutional Oath and then retired Justice Anthony M. Kennedy administered the Judicial Oath during a private ceremony attended by members of the Supreme Court. On October 8, 2018, Kennedy again administered the Judicial Oath in a televised ceremony in the East Room of the White House hosted by President Donald J. Trump. A formal investiture ceremony was held at the Supreme Court on November 8, 2018, with President Donald J. Trump and First Lady Melania Trump in attendance.



Amy Coney Barrett – Took the Constitutional Oath on October 26, 2020, during a televised ceremony on the White House South Lawn hosted by President Donald J. Trump. Senior Associate Justice Clarence Thomas administered the oath. Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., administered the Judicial Oath on October 27, 2020, at a private ceremony attended by members of the Supreme Court in the East Conference Room. During a special sitting of the Court on October 1, 2021, Justice Barrett took the Judicial Oath for a second time during a formal investiture ceremony.



Ketanji Brown Jackson – Became the first African American woman to join the Supreme Court after taking both oaths on June 30, 2022. Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., administered the Constitutional Oath and retired Justice Stephen G. Breyer administered the Judicial Oath in a ceremony in the West Conference Room. On September 30, 2022, a formal investiture ceremony took place in the Courtroom, at which Chief Justice Roberts again administered the Judicial Oath with President Joseph R. Biden, Jr., in attendance.