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APPENDIX A 

This opinion is nonpreential except as provided by 
Minn. R. Civ. App. P. 136.01, subd. 1(c). 

STATE OF MINNESOTA 
IN COURT OF APPEALS 

A22-0729 

Jade Joseph Nickels, 
Appellant 

vs. 

Drew Evans, Superintendent, Bureau of Criminal 
Apprehension, Respondent. 

Filed July 10, 2023 
Affirmed 

Bjorkman, Judge 

 

Ramsey County District Court 
File No. 62-CV-21-728 

Bradford Colbert, Dylan Larson (certified student 
attorney), Legal Assistance to Minnesota Prisoners, St. 
Paul, Minnesota (for appellant) 

Keith Ellison, Attorney General, Angela Helseth Kiese, 
Assistant Attorney General, St. Paul, Minnesota (for 
respondent) 

Considered and decided by Bjorkman, Presiding 
Judge; Segal, Chief Judge; and Reyes, Judge. 

NONPRECENDENTIAL OPINION 

BJORKMAN, Judge 

Appellant challenges summary judgment dismissing 
his civil claims related to his predatory-offender 
registration requirement. Appellant contends that the 
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district court erred because (1) based on promissory 
estoppel and procedural due process, he is entitled to 
specific performance of the state’s alleged promise that he 
would not be required to register, (2) respondent violated 
his procedural due-process rights by requiring him to 
register as a predatory offender, (3) the predatory-
offender registration statute violates his substantive due-
process rights, and (4) the predatory-offender 
registration statute is an unconstitutional bill of attainder. 
We affirm. 

FACTS 

Appellant Jade Joseph Nickels is required to register 
as a predatory offender based on an incident that 
occurred more than 20 years ago. In June 1998, the State 
of Minnesota charged Nickels with first-degree criminal 
sexual conduct on allegations that he injected a woman 
with a mixture containing cocaine and then vaginally and 
orally penetrated her while she was saying, “No.” 

The state and Nickels entered into an agreement 
under which Nickels pleaded guilty to an amended charge 
of gross-misdemeanor fifth-degree criminal sexual 
conduct in exchange for the state’s dismissal of the first-
degree criminal-sexual-conduct charge. During the 
August 3, 1998, plea hearing, the parties discussed the 
agreement: 

THE PROSECUTOR: A new amended 
complaint has been filed with the Court. The 
agreement that has been reached is as follows: 

Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree 
charge would be dismissed. In exchange for 
that, [Nickels] would be entering pleas to the 
two amended counts of Controlled Substance in 
the Fifth Degree and Criminal Sexual Conduct 
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in the Fifth Degree, a gross misdemeanor. He 
would be sentenced concurrently on both of 
those. He would receive the Guideline sentence 
of 17 months, which would be a stay, but he is 
requesting that that would be executed and the 
one year gross misdemeanor sentence would be 
executed concurrently. As part of this, Your 
Honor, and one of the reasons for the amended 
complaint, it is our purpose and intent that will 
alleviate [Nickels] of responsibility and 
obligation of having to register as a sex 
offender. 

THE COURT: [Defense counsel], is that a 
correct statement of the plea agreement? 

DEFENSE COUNSEL: It is, Your Honor. 

Nickels then entered an Alford plea1 to fifth-degree 
criminal sexual conduct. The district court accepted 
Nickels’s plea and imposed a 17-month prison sentence. 

Upon his 1999 release from prison, Nickels learned 
that he was required to register as a predatory offender 
for ten years pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 243.166 (1998) (the 
registration statute). Nickels was reincarcerated several 
times between then and 2009; each incarceration initiated 
a new ten-year registration period.2 Minn. Stat. § 243.166, 
subd. 1b(a)(iii) (2022). 

In 2010, Nickels moved to withdraw his guilty plea, 
asserting that it was inaccurate and involuntary. The state 
opposed the motion, arguing that it was untimely. The 

 
1 An Alford plea permits a defendant to take advantage of a plea offer 
while maintaining their innocence. Williams v. State, 760 N.W.2d 8, 
12 (Minn. App. 2009) (citing North Carolina v. Alford, 400 U.S. 25, 37 
(1970)), rev. denied (Minn. Apr. 21, 2009). 
2 Nickels’s current registration period expires on February 26, 2030. 
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district court denied the motion, concluding that it was 
untimely and that Nickels’s plea was accurate and 
voluntary. 

In May 2019, Wadena County petitioned to terminate 
Nickels’s parental rights to his daughter, A.A. In a 
supporting affidavit, a social worker described Nickels’s 
criminal history and averred that termination was in 
A.A.’s best interests because of his “current probation 
issues, lack of chemical health treatment, lack of general 
stability, lack of progress on his case plan, and his current 
status as a predatory offender.” Nickels voluntarily 
terminated his parental rights to A.A. But he still has 
parental rights as to another child. 

In February 2021, Nickels commenced this action 
against respondent Drew Evans in his official capacity as 
superintendent of the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal 
Apprehension (BCA). He sought injunctive and 
declaratory relief under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 (2018), based on 
procedural and substantive due-process violations, 
promissory estoppel, and the theory that the registration 
statute is a bill of attainder. The BCA moved to dismiss 
the complaint or, in the alternative, for summary 
judgment. The district court granted the motion to 
dismiss. 

Nickels appealed and asked the district court to 
reconsider its decision. At his request, this court stayed 
the appeal pending the motion for reconsideration. In a 
single order, the district court granted Nickels’s motion 
for reconsideration and the BCA’s motion for summary 
judgment. We then reinstated the appeal. 

DECISION 

Summary judgment is appropriate when the moving 
party shows that “there is no genuine issue as to any 
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material fact and the movant is entitled to judgment as a 
matter of law.” Minn. R. Civ. P. 56.01. We review a grant 
of summary judgment de novo, viewing “the evidence in 
the light most favorable to the party against whom 
summary judgment was granted.” STAR Ctrs., Inc. v. 
Faegre & Benson, L.L.P., 644 N.W.2d 72, 76-77 (Minn. 
2002). 

I. Nickels is not entitled to relief based on the 
alleged breach of his 1998 plea agreement. 

Pointing to the prosecutor’s 1998 statement that he 
would not have to register as a predatory offender if he 
pleaded guilty to the reduced charge, Nickels contends 
that the “doctrine[s] of promissory estoppel and 
constitutional due process estop the BCA from requiring 
Nickels to register.” Neither of these doctrines persuade 
us to reverse. 

A. Nickels’s promissory-estoppel claim fails as a 
matter of law.3 

“Promissory estoppel is an equitable doctrine that 
implies a contract in law where none exists in fact.” 
Javinsky v. Comm’r of Admin., 725 N.W.2d 393, 398 
(Minn. App. 2007). To establish promissory estoppel, a 
plaintiff must prove that: (1) there was a clear and definite 
promise; (2) the promisor intended to induce reliance, and 
the promisee relied to their detriment; and (3) the promise 
must be enforced to prevent injustice. Olson v. 
Synergistic Techs. Bus. Sys., Inc., 628 N.W.2d 142, 152 
(Minn. 2001). Promissory estoppel “may be applied 

 
3  The BCA argues that Nickels’s promissory-estoppel claim fails 
because his sole remedy is plea withdrawal. But the cases that the 
BCA cites do not so hold. And this court has considered the merits of 
a promissory-estoppel argument in a nearly identical case. See Lange 
v. Evans, No. A21-1546, 2022 WL 2438634, at *3-4 (Minn. App. July 
5, 2022), rev. denied (Minn. Oct. 18, 2022). 
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against the state to the extent that justice requires.” 
Meriwether Minn. Land & Timber, LLC v. State, 818 
N.W.2d 557, 564 (Minn. App. 2012) (quotation omitted), 
rev. denied (Minn. Sept. 25, 2012). 

We recently rejected the invitation to apply 
promissory estoppel to bind a party other than the 
promisor under circumstances almost identical to this 
case. Lange, 2022 WL 2438634, at *3. 4  Lange sued to 
prohibit the BCA from requiring him to register as a 
predatory offender, arguing that his plea of guilty to fifth-
degree criminal sexual conduct was premised on the 
prosecutor’s promise that he would not be required to 
register. Id. We noted that no Minnesota precedent 
supports applying promissory-estoppel principles against 
an entity other than the promisor. Id. at *4. 

Nickels contends that Lange’s reasoning is 
“inexplicable,” citing a case in which our supreme court 
collaterally estopped parties in privity with an actor. See 
Willems v. Comm’r of Pub. Safety, 333 N.W.2d 619, 621 
(Minn. 1983). And Nickels argues that the Eighth Circuit 
applied promissory estoppel to a party in privity with the 
promisor in Maitland v. Univ. of Minn., 43 F.3d 357 (8th 
Cir. 1994). Neither contention is persuasive. Willems 
presented the question of whether the commissioner of 
public safety could—in a license-reinstatement 
proceeding—relitigate the validity of a traffic stop 
previously decided in a license-revocation proceeding. 
Willems, 333 N.W.2d at 621. Resolution of the issue 
turned on general principles of collateral estoppel, which, 
by their terms, apply to both a party and those in privity 

 
4 While Lange is a nonprecedential decision, it is highly persuasive 
because it is a recent case and involves nearly identical facts. Minn. 
R. Civ. App. P. 136.01, subd. 1(c) (stating “nonprecedential opinions 
may be cited as persuasive authority”). 
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with a party to the prior adjudication. Id. And, as we 
pointed out in Lange, Maitland did not apply privity to a 
promissory-estoppel claim. See Maitland, 43 F.3d at 364 
(reviewing the district court’s conclusion that the 
plaintiff’s claim was barred by “general principles of 
estoppel”); Lange, 2022 WL 2438634, at *4. 

Even if privity could be invoked in the context of 
promissory-estoppel claims, Nickels has not established 
privity between the prosecutor and the BCA. Our analysis 
is guided by State v. Lemmer, in which our supreme court 
considered whether the state and the commissioner of 
public safety were in privity for collateral-estoppel 
purposes. 736 N.W.2d 650, 660-61 (Minn. 2007). The court 
looked at the commissioner’s and the state’s “functions 
and responsibilities,” determining the two were not in 
privity because the licensing and safety responsibility of 
the commissioner is distinct from the state’s duty to 
prosecute crimes. Id. at 661. 

In Lange, we relied on Lemmer to similarly conclude 
that the state and the BCA were not in privity. Lange, 
2022 WL 2438634, at *4. We analyzed their respective 
“functions and responsibilities” and noted that the BCA 
performs “such functions and duties as relate to statewide 
and nationwide crime information systems,” which 
includes the maintenance of the registered predatory-
offender database. Id.; see also Minn. Stat. §§ 299C.01, 
subd. 4, .093 (2022). In contrast, the state and county 
attorneys prosecute felonies and other crimes. See Lange, 
2022 WL 2438634, at *4; Minn. Stat. § 388.051, subd. 1(3) 
(2022). We see no reason to depart from Lange’s 
persuasive reasoning. 

Nickels urges us to find privity between the BCA and 
the criminal prosecutor because doing so would not 
implicate separation-of-powers concerns, citing State v. 
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Mosher, No. C6-00-816, 2000 WL 1809083 (Minn. App. 
Dec. 12, 2000). But this would be contrary to Lemmer’s 
instruction to consider the “functions and responsibilities” 
of the government actors. See Lemmer, 736 N.W.2d at 
661. Moreover, the BCA has no authority regarding plea 
agreements, and the prosecutor had no authority to vary 
the terms of the registration statute when negotiating the 
plea agreement. Minn. Stat. § 299C.093, subd. 4; see In re 
McGuire, 756 N.W.2d 517, 519 (Minn. App. 2008) (stating 
that “estoppel cannot be applied when doing so would 
cause an agency to act outside the bounds of its 
authority”). On this record, Nickels’s promissory-estoppel 
claim fails as a matter of law. 

B. Nickels does not have a due-process right to 
specific performance of the prosecutor’s 
alleged promise. 

The United States and Minnesota Constitutions 
prohibit the state from depriving persons of life, liberty, 
or property without due process of law. U.S. Const. 
amend. XIV, § 1; Minn. Const. art. I, § 7. We review 
whether the government has violated an individual’s due-
process rights de novo. Sawh v. City of Lino Lakes, 823 
N.W.2d 627, 632 (Minn. 2012). 

Citing Santobello v. New York, 404 U.S. 257 (1971), 
Nickels argues that the BCA should be enjoined from 
requiring him to register. In Santobello, the Supreme 
Court held that “when a plea rests in any significant 
degree on a promise or agreement of the prosecutor, so 
that it can be said to be part of the inducement or 
consideration, such promise must be fulfilled.” 404 U.S. at 
262. Our supreme court has likewise concluded that 
permitting a prosecutor to break a promise on which a 
plea agreement was based violates due process. See State 
v. Brown, 606 N.W.2d 670, 674 (Minn. 2000) (holding that 
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if a criminal defendant pleaded guilty based on a promise 
or agreement of the prosecutor, and there is a subsequent 
breach of the plea agreement, the district court may 
“allow withdrawal of the plea, order specific performance, 
or alter the sentence if appropriate”); see also James v. 
State, 699 N.W.2d 723, 728-29 (Minn. 2005). 

Nickels cites no binding caselaw for the proposition 
that Santobello supports permitting a person to enforce a 
plea agreement in a civil action. 5  We rejected this 
contention in Lange, explaining that the remedies of plea 
withdrawal and specific performance are available to 
criminal offenders in a postconviction action. Lange, 2022 
WL 2438634, at *7 (citing Minn. Stat. § 590.01 (2020)). 
Accordingly, we held that due process does not require 
relief in a civil action. Id. 

Because Nickels appropriately pursued the relief he 
now seeks in a postconviction proceeding, due process 
does not require an opportunity to obtain relief in a civil 
action based on promissory estoppel. 

II. The registration requirements do not violate 
Nickels’s procedural due-process rights. 

Courts make two inquiries when addressing 
procedural due process: (1) “is there a liberty or property 

 
5 Nickels relies on many cases from other jurisdictions that discuss 
Santobello and one civil case in which the Ninth Circuit notes that 

in individual cases where the state has made an explicit 
promise to a defendant that the defendant would be 
exempt from registration as a condition of his guilty plea, 
that promise—whether memorialized in the terms of the 
written plea agreement or otherwise proven—is entitled 
to be enforced against the State. 

Am. C.L. Union of Nevada v. Masto, 670 F.3d 1046, 1061 (9th Cir. 
2012). But the Ninth Circuit did not apply this concept to the facts of 
that case. 
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interest with which the state has interfered” and (2) “were 
the procedures used constitutionally sufficient”? Werlich 
v. Schnell, 958 N.W.2d 354, 372 (Minn. 2021) does not 
require an opportunity to obtain relief in a civil action 
based on promissory estoppel (quotation omitted). We 
review de novo whether the government violated an 
individual’s procedural due-process rights. Sawh, 823 
N.W.2d at 632. 

In cases such as this, involving interference with a 
person’s reputational interests, we apply the “stigma-
plus” test. Under this test, a liberty interest is implicated 
when “a loss of reputation is coupled with the loss of some 
other tangible interest.” Boutin v. LaFleur, 591 N.W.2d 
711, 718 (Minn. 1999) (citing Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693, 
710 (1976)). Boutin asserted that being required to 
register as a predatory offender met the “stigma-plus” 
test because it resulted in a loss of reputation, and it was 
a burden to comply with the registration statute. Id. The 
supreme court rejected Boutin’s arguments, concluding 
that requiring a person to update their address 
information poses a “minimal burden” and “is clearly not 
the sufficiently important interest the ‘stigma-plus’ test 
requires.” Id. 

At the time the supreme court decided Boutin, the 
registration statute required persons to provide personal 
information, fingerprints, and a photograph to law 
enforcement; annually verify their address by mail; and 
notify law enforcement five days before changing their 
address. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subds. 3-4 (1998). The 
legislature has since amended the registration statute, 
imposing additional requirements. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, 
subds. 3-4b (2022); see also Werlich, 958 N.W.2d at 361, 
374 (noting that Boutin does not foreclose all 
constitutional challenges to the registration statute). The 
current statute requires registrants to provide law 
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enforcement with their primary and secondary addresses; 
the addresses of property they own, lease, or rent; all 
locations where they are employed and schools where 
they are enrolled; the year, make, model, color, and 
license-plate number of all the motor vehicles they own or 
regularly drive and the expiration date of motor-vehicle 
tabs for the motor vehicles they own; and all telephone 
numbers. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 4a(a) (2022). It also 
requires registrants to disclose their registration status 
before admission to a healthcare facility. Id., subd. 4b(b). 

In Bedeau v. Evans, we held that these additional 
requirements did not lead to the loss of a liberty interest 
under the “stigma-plus” test. 926 N.W.2d 425, 432 (Minn. 
App. 2019), rev. denied (Minn. June 26, 2019). We rejected 
Bedeau’s arguments that the healthcare notification 
requirement burdened her liberty interests and that the 
other additional registration requirement made it difficult 
to obtain housing and employment. Id. at 432-33. The 
record did not persuade us that Bedeau had been or was 
likely to be deprived of healthcare and demonstrated that 
she had, in fact, been able to obtain housing and 
employment. Id. at 433. We reasoned that the expanded 
registration requirements imposed “only a minimal 
burden on offenders.” Id. at 432; see also Thibodeaux v. 
Evans, 926 N.W.2d 602, 608 (Minn. App. 2019), rev. denied 
(Minn. June 26, 2019); Lange, 2022 WL 2438634, at *6. 

Nickels asserts that the expanded requirements 
impermissibly burden his liberty interests in four ways. 
First, he contends the requirements significantly impact 
his ability to obtain admission to residential or inpatient 
treatment facilities. Nickels avers that “some residential 
treatment facilities have denied [him] admission based on 
[his] predatory offender status.” (Emphasis added.) But 
the affidavit in support of the termination of parental 
rights petition shows that he, in fact, gained admittance to 
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a treatment facility on at least one occasion. As in Bedeau, 
Nickels’s actual ability to obtain inpatient treatment 
defeats his contention that the registration requirement 
burdens the kind of important interests that the “stigma-
plus” test contemplates. See Bedeau, 926 N.W.2d at 433. 

Second, Nickels argues that the registration 
requirements resulted, in part, in the termination of his 
parental rights. While a social worker identified his 
predatory-offender status as a factor in the assessment 
that Nickels was not “amenable to positive and stable 
parenting,” it was far from the only contributing factor. 
Nickels ultimately agreed to terminate his parental rights 
to A.A. on a voluntary basis. And he still has parental 
rights to another child. On this record, Nickels has not 
demonstrated that registration burdens his right to 
parent. 

Third, Nickels contends that the registration 
requirements impact his ability to find employment and 
housing. To support this argument, Nickels cites 
residency restrictions enacted by different Minnesota 
cities based on registration status. But he does not explain 
how any of these specific restrictions have affected his 
ability to obtain housing or how the additional 
requirements enacted since Boutin have affected his 
ability to find a job or housing. See id. (agreeing with the 
district court’s conclusion that the plaintiff “failed to 
provide sufficient evidence to suggest that the 
registration requirement was the primary cause of her 
difficulties, rather than her recent conviction and prison 
incarceration”). 

Finally, Nickels asserts that he has a liberty interest 
in being free from the threat of prosecution, and the 
registration requirements expose him to such a threat in 
the event that he violates one of the terms. But this 
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possibility existed at the time of Boutin, and the supreme 
court nonetheless held that the registration statute was 
constitutionally valid. See Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 5 
(1998) (outlining the criminal penalties for failure to 
register and follow registration requirements). 

In sum, Nickels has not presented evidence that the 
current version of the registration statute led to his loss 
of any tangible interest and is more than “a minimal 
burden.” See Bedeau, 926 N.W.2d at 432. The registration 
statute does not violate Nickels’s right to procedural due 
process. See Sawh, 823 N.W.2d at 632 (“If the 
government’s action does not deprive an individual of [a 
protected] interest, then no process is due.”). 

III. The predatory-offender registration requirement 
does not violate Nickels’s substantive due-process 
rights. 

Substantive due process protects against “certain 
arbitrary, wrongful government actions regardless of the 
fairness of the procedures used to implement them.” State 
v. Hill, 871 N.W.2d 900, 906 (Minn. 2015). When 
considering a substantive due-process challenge to a 
statute, we first determine whether the law implicates a 
fundamental right. Boutin, 591 N.W.2d at 716. If it does, 
the state must establish “a legitimate and compelling 
interest for abridging that right.” Id. If it does not, we 
consider whether the law has a rational basis. Id. We 
review de novo whether the government violated 
Nickels’s substantive due-process rights. Sawh, 823 
N.W.2d at 632. 

Nickels argues that the registration statute violates 
his fundamental right to parent because the state 
terminated his parental rights, in part, because he must 
register as a predatory offender. See SooHoo v. Johnson, 
731 N.W.2d 815, 820 (Minn. 2007) (stating “[a] parent’s 
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right to make decisions concerning the care, custody, and 
control of his or her children is a protected fundamental 
right”). The BCA contends that “Nickels cannot show that 
his registration status interfered with his right to parent” 
because his status as a predatory offender was only a 
small part of the termination case. We agree with the 
BCA. Nickels’s predatory-registration status was only 
one of many reasons stated for recommending 
termination; the other reasons were his “extensive 
criminal history,” failure to comply with an out-of-home 
placement plan, lack of chemical-health treatment, and 
lack of general stability. Nickels voluntarily terminated 
his parental rights to A.A., and the termination 
proceeding did not affect his right to parent his other 
child. Thus, the registration statute did not implicate 
Nickels’s fundamental right to parent.6 

Because the registration statute does not implicate a 
fundamental right, we consider whether it “provide[s] a 
reasonable means to a permissible objective” or whether 
it is “arbitrary or capricious.” Boutin, 591 N.W.2d at 716. 
Although Nickels does not address the rational-basis test, 
he challenges the “fundamental premise underlying the 
[registration] statute” in connection with his argument 
that the law does not serve a compelling interest. This 
contention is unavailing. The supreme court held in 

 
6 Nickels asserts that in Werlich, the supreme court “held that the 
registration statute affected a person’s fundamental right to parent.” 
We disagree. The issue in Werlich was whether a mandatory 
investigation for threatened sexual abuse affected his fundamental 
right to parent his child. Werlich, 958 N.W.2d at 371. The court held 
that Werlich sufficiently alleged facts to “establish that the 
investigation mandated as a result of his registration status” affected 
his fundamental right to parent by disturbing the presumption that 
he is a fit parent, but remanded for the commissioner to show that the 
statute requiring an investigation advances a compelling government 
interest and is narrowly tailored to serve that interest. Id. 
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Boutin that the registration statute did not violate the 
constitutional right to substantive due process because 
“the “primary purpose of the [registration] statute is to 
create an offender registry to assist law enforcement with 
investigations” and “[k]eeping a list of such offenders is 
rationally related to the legitimate state interest of 
solving crimes.” Id. at 717-18. Accordingly, the 
registration statute does not violate Nickels’s substantive 
due-process rights. 

IV. The registration statue is not a bill of attainder. 

The United States and Minnesota Constitutions 
prohibit bills of attainder. U.S. Const. art. I, § 9, cl. 3; 
Minn. Const. art. I, § 11. A bill of attainder is a law that 
“specifically singles out an identifiable group or individual 
for the infliction of punishment by other than judicial 
authority.” Rsrv. Mining Co. v. State, 310 N.W.2d 487, 490 
(Minn. 1981). The prohibition against bills of attainder is 
grounded in separation-of-powers concerns. Nixon v. 
Adm’r of Gen. Servs., 433 U.S. 425, 469 (1977). 

Nickels contends that the registration statute is a bill 
of attainder because being required to register is 
punishment. To determine whether the registration 
statute has a punitive purpose, we assess: “(1) whether the 
law imposes punishment such as death, imprisonment, 
banishment, confiscation of property, or barring 
participation in certain employment or occupations; (2) 
whether the law furthers a non-punitive legislative 
purpose; and (3) whether the legislative body had a 
punitive motive in passing the law.” Council of Indep. 
Tobacco Mfrs. of Am. v. State, 685 N.W.2d 467, 474-75 
(Minn. App. 2004), aff’d, 713 N.W.2d 300 (Minn. 2006). 

The supreme court answered this question in Boutin, 
holding that the registration statute is regulatory, and not 
punitive. See Boutin, 591 N.W.2d at 717 (concluding Minn. 
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Stat. § 243.166 is a “civil, regulatory statute” because it 
“does not promote the traditional aims of punishment”). 
We recently relied on Boutin in Nguyen v. Evans, holding 
that the registration statute is not a bill of attainder 
because it is civil regulatory rather than punitive. No. 
A21-1319, 2022 WL 1210277, at *9 (Minn. App. Apr. 25, 
2022), rev. denied (Minn. July 19, 2022).7 We noted that 
the registration statute does not impose a punishment 
such as imprisonment, banishment, or confiscation of 
property, and the fact that the registration requirement 
may make it more difficult to obtain employment does not 
make the registration statute punitive. Nguyen, 2022 WL 
1210277, at *9; see also Werlich, 958 N.W.2d at 369 
(concluding that a defendant’s ineligibility for the 
Challenge Incarceration Program due to his status as a 
predatory offender was not punitive). The registration 
statute furthers the non-punitive legislative purpose of 
assisting law enforcement with investigations. See 
Boutin, 591 N.W.2d at 717 (stating “the primary purpose 
of the [registration] statute is to create an offender 
registry to assist law enforcement with investigations”). 

Nickels urges us to depart from Nguyen because it is 
“simply not true” that the registration statute assists law 
enforcement with investigations because in the past the 
authorities discovered his wrongdoing during a “routine 
check[] of registered sex offenders.” We are not convinced 
to do so. The fact that the registration statute did not 
assist law enforcement in investigating Nickels on one 
occasion does not alter its primary purpose. It is not 
designed to and does not impose punishment. It is not an 
unconstitutional bill of attainder. 

 
7 Nguyen is persuasive because it is a recent case and involves similar 
facts. See Minn. R. Civ. App. P. 136.01(c). 
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In sum, the district court did not err by granting 
summary judgment dismissing this action. 

 

Affirmed. 
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APPENDIX B 

STATE OF MINNESOTA     DISTRICT COURT 
COUNTY OF RAMSEY  SECOND JUDICIAL 

DISTRICT 

_________________________________________________ 

Jade Joseph Nickels, 

Case No. 62-CV-21-728 
Plaintiff, 

ORDER 

v. 

 

Drew Evans, Superintendent, Bureau of Criminal 
Apprehension, 

Defendant. 
_________________________________________________ 

The above-entitled matter came on for a hearing 
before the undersigned on August 16, 2022, pursuant to 
Plaintiff’s Motion for Reconsideration of the Court’s 
Order Granting Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss. Brad 
Colbert, Attorney at Law, and Julia Durst, certified 
student attorney, appeared on behalf of the Plaintiff. 
Angela Kiese, Attorney at Law, appeared on behalf of the 
Defendant. All appearances weremade remotely via 
Zoom. 

Based on all the files, pleadings, records, and 
proceedings herein, and on the arguments and 
submissions of the parties, the court makes the following: 
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ORDER 

1. Plaintiff’s motion for reconsideration is granted. 

2. Defendant’s motion is converted to a Motion for 
Summary Judgment and is granted. 

3. Plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied. 

4. The attached Memorandum is incorporated herein 
as part of this order. 

LET JUDGMENT BE ENTERED ACCORDINGLY. 

BY THE COURT: 

 

Dated: November 15, 2022 _____________________ 

The Honorable Sara R. Grewing 
Judge of District Court 

 

MEMORANDUM 

FACTUAL BACKGROUND 

Plaintiff, Jade Nickels, has brought a § 1983 action 
against Defendant, Drew Evans, the Superintendent of 
the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension 
(“Defendant” or “Superintendent Evans”), in his official 
capacity. Plaintiff has alleged various violations of 
procedural and substantive due process, promissory 
estoppel, and asserts that the predatory offender 
registration statute is a bill of attainder. Defendant denies 
these allegations. 

Statement of Undisputed Facts 

In 1998, Plaintiff was charged with one count of 
Possession of Schedule 1, 2, 3, 4 – Not Small Amount of 
Marijuana in the Fifth Degree and one count of Criminal 
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Sexual Conduct in the First Degree. Both charges arose 
from an incident where Plaintiff and another individual 
sexually assaulted the female victim. Compl. ¶ 5; Def. Ex. 
1. On August 3, 1998, pursuant to a plea agreement 
offered by the State, Plaintiff pled guilty to Criminal 
Sexual Conduct in the Fifth Degree and Possession of a 
Controlled Substance in the Fifth Degree. Compl. ¶ 6; 
Def. Mem. Exs. 3, 4-1, 4-3, 4-4, 4-6, 4-7, 5. The plea petition 
itself did not discuss predatory offender registration. Def. 
Mem. Exs. 4-3, 4-4. Plaintiff also entered an Alford plea to 
both amended counts. Compl. ¶ 7. During the August 3rd 
hearing, Mr. Nickels’ attorney stated that one of the 
reasons the plea agreement was reached was to alleviate 
Mr. Nickels from having to register as a sex offender. Def. 
Mem. Exs. 5-2, 5-3, 5-9. The adjudicating court sentenced 
Mr. Nickels and convicted him of the offenses as outlined 
in the plea agreement. Compl. ¶ 7. Mr. Nickels was 
sentenced to an executed seventeen-month sentence. 
Compl. ¶ 7. Neither the court nor the parties discussed 
registration any further at the time of sentencing. 

In May 1999, Mr. Nickels first registered as a 
predatory offender in connection with the 1998 offenses. 
Def. Mem. Ex. 6-1. At some point between 2000 and 2002, 
Mr. Nickels failed to register. The Anoka County 
Attorney’s Office declined to prosecute Mr. Nickels’ 
failure to register after reviewing the Crow Wing County 
court records. Def. Mem. Exs. 7-4, 7-5. 

Plaintiff moved to Seattle, Washington at some point 
between January and May 2002. When the Minnesota 
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (“BCA”) learned of 
this, the BCA attempted to get him into compliance with 
the registration statute. Registration forms were sent to 
Plaintiff’s Washington state address. Def. Mem. Exs. 8-1–
8-8. Plaintiff returned to Minnesota at some time between 
2002 and 2003. The BCA learned of his return when 
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Plaintiff was arrested in Crow Wing County on controlled 
substance and property crimes charges. Def. Mem. Exs. 
8-12, 9-1–9-4. Plaintiff was arrested again in August 2003 
in Forest Lake, Minnesota. After his second arrest, the 
BCA again attempted to get Plaintiff into compliance with 
the registration statute. Def. Mem. Exs. 9-5, 9-6. Address 
verification forms were filed for the years 2003 and 2004. 
Def. Mem. Exs. 9-7–9-16, 41-4. 

Between 2004 and 2020, Mr. Nickels was in and out of 
incarceration. As a result of his incarceration, Plaintiff 
intermittently complied with the obligation to register 
and send updated address verification forms. Mr. Nickels’ 
most recent release from incarceration was in February 
2020.1 

Procedural History 

Plaintiff commenced this action against Defendant on 
February 12, 2021, alleging that the registration 
requirement has caused him undue hardship in accessing 
state-provided housing, stable employment, and 
reintegration into the community. Compl. ¶ 10. 
Specifically, Plaintiff alleges violations of his 
constitutional right to due process, asserts that the BCA 
should be required to enforce its promise that Plaintiff 
should not register as a predatory offender, and asserts 
that Minn. Stat. 243.166 is an unlawful bill of attainder. Id. 
¶¶ 11–22. Plaintiff requests injunctive relief from this 
Court. 

Defendant brought Motions to Dismiss and for 
Summary Judgment on November 17, 2021. Plaintiff filed 
their Motion for Summary Judgment on November 18, 
2021. The Court held a hearing on both Motions and 

 
1 Mr. Nickels’ most recent release from incarceration stems from an 
arrest on an unrelated controlled substance matter. 
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granted Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss and for Summary 
Judgment on March 29, 2022. 

STANDARDS OF REVIEW 

I. Motion for Reconsideration 

“Motions for reconsideration play a very limited role 
in civil practice, and should be approached cautiously and 
used sparingly.” Minn. R. Gen. Prac. 115.11 cmt. The 
district court is likely to exercise its discretion to 
reconsider a prior ruling “only where intervening legal 
developments have occurred…or where the earlier 
decision is palpably wrong in some respect.” Id. In his 
request for reconsideration, Plaintiff raises both 
procedural defects in the Court’s order as well as an 
outstanding factual dispute. In light of the possibility that 
the Court’s conclusions were palpably wrong, this Court 
determines that reconsideration is appropriate. 

II. The Court Erred in Granting Defendant’s 
Motion to Dismiss 

In considering a motion to dismiss pursuant to Minn. 
R. Civ. P. 12.02(e), this Court may not consider materials 
outside of the pleadings, and all assumptions made from 
the pleadings must favor the non-moving party. N. States 
Power Co. v. Franklin, 265 Minn. 391, 395-96, 122 N.W.2d 
26, 29–30 (1963). In reaching its conclusion, this Court 
referenced several documents outside of Plaintiff’s 
complaint, and thus dismissal of the matter under Rule 12 
was palpably wrong under Rule 115.11. The Court regrets 
any confusion this error may have caused. 

III. Defendant’s Summary Judgment Motion is 
Granted 

Summary judgment is appropriate when the record, 
taken as a whole, shows that “there is no genuine issue as 
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to any material fact and that either party is entitled to a 
judgment as a matter of law.” Minn. R. Civ. P. 56.01. “A 
motion for summary judgment shall be granted when the 
pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and 
admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, 
show that there is no genuine issue of material fact and 
that either party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of 
law.” Fabio v. Bellomo, 504 N.W.2d 758, 761 (Minn. 1993) 
(citing Minn. R. Civ. P. 56.03). Summary judgment is 
improper when reasonable minds could differ and draw 
different conclusions from the evidence presented. DLH, 
Inc. v. Russ, 566 N.W.2d 60, 69 (Minn. 1997). 

Minnesota case law has long held that when 
considering a motion for summary judgment, “the district 
court must view the evidence in the light most favorable 
to the nonmoving party.” DLH, Inc. v. Russ, 566 N.W.2d 
60, 72 (Minn. 1997). The party opposing summary 
judgment cannot rely on conclusory allegations in the 
pleadings for support, but must present specific facts that 
demonstrate “genuine issues of material fact” for trial. 
W.J.L. v. Bugge, 573 N.W.2d 677, 680 (Minn. 1998). 
Further, when determining whether a genuine issue of 
material fact for trial exists, the court is “not required to 
ignore its conclusion that a particular piece of evidence 
may have no probative value, such that reasonable 
persons could not draw different conclusions from the 
evidence presented.” DLH, 566 N.W.2d at 70. 

LEGAL ANALYSIS 

I. Statute of Limitations 

Defendant contends that Mr. Nickels’ claims are 
barred by the statute of limitations and he is entitled to 
summary judgment on that ground alone. Defendant 
argues that any alleged harm accrued by May 1999, when 
Mr. Nickels first registered as a predatory offender, and 
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that Mr. Nickels had six years from May 1999 to bring his 
claims before this Court. Plaintiff maintains that Mr. 
Nickels’ claims are not barred by the statute of 
limitations. Plaintiff argues that even if Mr. Nickels’ 
claims were brought after the limitations period ended, 
Mr. Nickels has been subjected to a continuing violation 
that essentially restarts the limitations period each time 
he has been injured by the violation. 

The issue here is whether Mr. Nickels’ claims result 
from a continuing violation or if it is a discrete, one-time 
act that accrued in May 1999. If it is a continuing violation, 
Plaintiff’s claims would not be time-barred, and the 
instant lawsuit must proceed. However, if Plaintiff’s 
claims accrued in May 1999 when Mr. Nickels first 
registered, his claims would be time-barred, and his suit 
must be dismissed. 

Statute of Limitations 

Under Minnesota law, the statute of limitations 
commences once a cause of action has accrued. Minn. Stat. 
§ 541.01 (2020).2 See also Hamann, 808 N.W.2d at 832. A 
cause of action accrues when “it could be brought in a 
court of law without dismissal for failure to state a claim.” 
Bonhiver v. Graff, 311 Minn. 111, 117, 248 N.W.2d 291, 296 
(1976) (citation omitted). See also Sec. Bank & Tr. Co. v. 
Larkin, Hoffman, Daly & Lindgren, Ltd., 916 N.W.2d 
491, 496 (Minn. 2018). A claim accrues when there exist 
sufficient operative facts to support each element of a 
claim. Id.; Hamann, 808 N.W.2d at 832. In this case, the 

 
2 “Actions can only be commenced within the periods prescribed in 
this chapter, after the cause of action accrues…” 



25a 

 

applicable statute of limitations for each of Plaintiff’s 
claims is six years. Minn. Stat. § 541.05, subd. 1(5).3 

Generally, there are no exceptions to the statute of 
limitations and courts are not empowered to make 
exceptions to such statutes. State v. Bies, 258 Minn. 139, 
145, 103 N.W.2d 228, 234 (1960). One exception that exists 
to the statute of limitations is the continuing violation 
doctrine. This doctrine provides that a cause of action 
does not lapse if the alleged wrongful act was a continuing 
violation. Sigurdson v. Isanti Cnty, 448 N.W.2d 62, 66 
(Minn. 1989). The premise of the continuing violations 
doctrine is that a continuous practice “over a period of 
time [can] indicate a systematic repetition of the same 
policy and constitute a sufficiently integrated pattern to 
form, in effect, a single … act.” Hubbard v. United Press 
Int’, Inc., 330 N.W.2d 428, 440 n.11 (Minn. 1983). When 
applying the continuing violations doctrine, courts must 
focus on whether a present violation exists. See 
Sigurdson, 448 N.W.2d at 67. “So long as the violation 

 
3 Congress did not include a statute of limitations for claims brought 
under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. When federal statutes do not contain their 
own limitations periods, courts apply the most appropriate or 
analogous statute of limitations from the forum state. Wilson v. 
Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 266–68 (1985); Egerdahl v. Hibbing Comm. 
College, 72 F.3d 615, 617 (8th Cir. 1995). In Wilson, “the [United 
States] Supreme Court held that § 1983 claims are best characterized 
as personal injury actions for statute of limitations purposes.” Cook 
v. City of Minneapolis, 617 F. Supp. 461, 463 (D. Minn. 1985). See also 
Owens v. Okure, 488 U.S. 235, 240–41 (1989) (“a State’s personal 
injury state of limitations should be applied to all § 1983 claims”). 
Courts in Minnesota have held that § 1983 claims are governed by the 
six-year limitations period for personal injury claims. Helleloid v. 
Indep. Sch. Dist. No. 361, 149 F. Supp. 2d 863 (D. Minn. 2001); Berg 
v. Groshen, 437 N.W.2d 75, 77 (Minn. App. 1989) (holding that the six-
year statute of limitations applies to § 1983 claims). Since § 1983 
claims are construed by the courts as personal injury actions, Minn. 
Stat. § 541.05, subd. 1 applies here. 
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continues into the limitations period, the statute of 
limitations does not bar the claim.” Lewison v. 
Hutchinson, 929 N.W.2d 444, 450 (Minn. App. 2019). 

Minnesota’s Predatory Offender Registration Statute 

Minnesota law requires certain offenders who are 
charged with criminal sexual conduct to register even if 
they are convicted of another offense “arising out of the 
same set of circumstances.” Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 
1b(a)(1)(iii) (2020). Registrants are required to “continue 
to register” for ten years after they initially register. Id. 
subd. 6(a). Failure to comply with registration is a felony. 
Id. subd. 5(a). Furthermore, a failure to comply with 
registration results in an additional five-year period 
where the registrant must continue to register. Id. subd. 
6(b). The statute also provides that a registrant who is 
“incarcerated due to a new conviction for a new offense or 
following a revocation of probation, supervised release, or 
conditional release for any offense” must continue to 
register for an additional ten years from when the person 
was last released or the supervision period expires. Id. 
subd. 6(c). 

Application to Mr. Nickels’ Claims 

Mr. Nickels, after pleading guilty to an amended 
count of criminal sexual conduct, was first notified of the 
registration requirement in May 1999, after which he 
began to register. Mr. Nickels has mostly complied with 
the registration requirement from when he first 
registered until now. Between 1999 and 2021, Mr. Nickels 
has been incarcerated on new convictions, with the most 
recent incarceration occurring in February 2020. As a 
result of his incarcerations on new convictions unrelated 
to the original criminal sexual conduct conviction, Mr. 
Nickels must register as a predatory offender for an 
additional ten years. Def. Ex. 40-1, 40-2, 40-3, 42. See also 
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Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 6(c). Currently, Mr. Nickels’ 
current registration end date is February 26, 2030, which 
is ten years from the date he was last released from 
incarceration in February 2020. Id. Ex. 42 ¶ 4. 

Plaintiff argues that although Mr. Nickels was 
originally required to register in May 1999, the continuing 
violation doctrine applies, and the statute of limitations 
was tolled because of the BCA recent determination that 
Mr. Nickels must continue to register as a predatory 
offender for ten more years after his most recent 
incarceration in February 2020. Furthermore, Plaintiff 
contends that Mr. Nickels experiences an injury each time 
he is required to complete address verification forms, or 
provide notice of address changes, employment changes, 
or vehicle changes. Plaintiff points the Court to an order 
issued in a similar case. See Drobec v. Drew Evans, 
Superintendent of the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal 
Apprehension, No. 62-CV-18-3944, *1 (Minn. Dist. Ct. 
Dec. 5, 2019). 

In Drobec, a jury found the plaintiff, Darcy Drobec, 
guilty of one count of second-degree intentional murder, 
one count of second-degree felony murder, and one count 
of kidnapping. Id. at *1. Ms. Drobec was adjudicated 
guilty of all three counts and was sentenced to serve a 
total of 550 months. Id. *2. When Ms. Drobec committed 
the offense and was convicted, neither of the crimes for 
which Drobec was charged or convicted were registrable 
offenses under the Minnesota predatory offender 
registration law, nor did they arise out of the same set of 
circumstances as a registrable offense. Id. As a result, the 
requirement to register as a predatory offender was not 
addressed at any point prior to, during, or after trial. 

In 1999, the Minnesota legislature amended the 
predatory registration laws, making it so that all charges 
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arising from kidnapping offenses became registrable. Id. 
In 2004 while Drobec was incarcerated, ten years after 
being sentenced, she was informed that she was required 
to register as a predatory offender. Id. Ms. Drobec had to 
complete the registration and notice forms and submit 
them to the BCA. Id. Ms. Drobec was not afforded a 
hearing before being required to register. Id. The Drobec 
Court found that each time Ms. Drobec was required to 
register was a separate actionable wrong, resulting in a 
new six-year period each time she registered. Id. *8 –*9. 
As a result, the Drobec Court concluded that Ms. Drobec’s 
continuing obligation to register was a continuing 
violation, and that her lawsuit did not exceed the statute 
of limitations. Id. *7 –*8. 

Defendant argues that the continuing violation 
doctrine is not applicable here and that the injury 
culminated when Mr. Nickels was first required to 
register in May 1999. Defendant points the Court to an 
unpublished case, Jones v. Evans, as instructive on the 
issue of continuing violation.4 In Jones, the plaintiff was 
charged with third-degree criminal sexual conduct in 
2005. 2018 WL 3716094, A18-0139 *1, *1 (Minn. App. 
2018). In 2005, Mr. Jones plead guilty to, and was 
adjudicated guilty of, an amended charge of fifth-degree 
criminal sexual conduct. Id. Mr. Jones was first informed 
of needing to register in 2006, after which he did register. 
Id. Mr. Jones twice failed to comply with the registration 

 
4  While unpublished opinions of the court of appeals are not 
precedential, district courts may consider unpublished court of 
appeals decisions for their persuasive and instructive value. Adams 
v. Harpstead, 947 N.W.2d 838, 846 (Minn. App. 2020). See also White 
Bear Lake Restoration Assoc., ex rel. State v. Minn. Dept’. of Nat. 
Res., 928 N.W.2d 351 (Minn. App. 2019), aff’d in part, rev’d in part, 
946 N.W.2d 373 (Minn. 2020); Kruse v. Comm’r of Pub. Safety, 906 
N.W.2d 554 (Minn. App. 2018). 
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requirement and was duly convicted of his failure to 
comply with registering under the predatory offender 
registration statute. Id. 

Mr. Jones sued the BCA Superintendent in 2016, 
bringing claims for violation of his substantive and 
procedural due process rights, and promissory estoppel. 
Id. at *3. Mr. Jones alleged that the BCA wrongfully 
required him to register, arguing that his 2005 plea 
agreement contemplated that he would not have to 
register as a predatory offender. Id. The Court of Appeals 
upheld the District Court’s decision to dismiss his claims 
as the applicable six-years limitations period had expired. 
Id. at *3. Furthermore, the Court of Appeals noted that 
the continuing violation theory did not apply to Mr. Jones’ 
claims because Mr. Jones was challenging the initial 
determination that he must register. As such, Mr. Jones’ 
claims were based upon a discrete act by the BCA. Any 
additional and ongoing reporting requirements that Mr. 
Jones was subject to were merely a consequence of the 
BCA’s initial determination, not a new cause of action. 

While the Court finds the Jones opinion persuasive 
and instructive, the Court is hesitant to find that all of Mr. 
Nickels’ claims must be dismissed because the limitations 
period expired. The Court is persuaded by Plaintiff’s 
arguments that Mr. Nickels new ten-year registration 
period constitutes a continuing violation. Here, Plaintiff 
was first required to register in May 1999. Between 1999 
and 2020, Mr. Nickels has largely complied with the 
registration requirements. Within that same timeframe, 
Mr. Nickels has been incarcerated several times, with his 
most recent incarceration being in February 2020, which 
triggered a new ten-year registration period. Plaintiff 
commenced his lawsuit in February 2021, twenty-two 
years after the BCA first required that he register as a 
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predatory offender and one-year after his most recent 
incarceration. 

While this is a close call for the Court, the Court does 
find that Mr. Nickels has been subjected to a continuing 
violation when he was made to register for ten more years 
after his 2020 incarceration on an unrelated conviction. 
The Court finds that a new six-year limitations period is 
triggered, and that Mr. Nickels’ claims are not time-
barred. 

II. Summary Judgment Motion 

Plaintiff’s Statutory Requirement to Register as a 
Predatory Offender 

As previously stated, Minn. Stat. § 243.166 requires 
certain individuals to register as predatory offenders. The 
statute provides for how long registrants are required to 
continue to register as well as what happens when a 
registrant fails to comply or is incarcerated on a new 
conviction for a new offense. Id. The statute provides that 
when a person is required to register, the sentencing 
court must tell the person of the duty to register, require 
the person to complete a registration form, and forward 
that form, along with the complaint and sentencing 
documents, to the BCA. Id. The court may not modify an 
offender’s statutory obligation to register as apredatory 
offender in the pronounced sentence. Id. If, as happened 
here, the court does not notify a person of the registration 
requirement at the time of sentencing, the person’s 
assigned corrections agent or law enforcement officer is 
required to notify the person of the registration 
obligation. Id. 

Here, Mr. Nickels was initially charged with one 
count of first-degree criminal sexual conduct. He later 
pled guilty to, and was convicted of, fifth-degree criminal 
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sexual conduct. While not an enumerated offense that 
would require registration, that fifth-degree criminal 
sexual conduct arose from the same set of circumstances 
that led to the first-degree charge, specifically, Plaintiff’s 
sexual assault of a female in a motel room in 1998. 
Between 1999 and 2021, Mr. Nickels has been 
incarcerated on new convictions. 

The issue of “arising out of the same set of 
circumstances” has been previously addressed by the 
Minnesota Supreme Court in Boutin v. LaFleur, where 
the Court held that a person was required to register as a 
predatory offender when convicted of an offense that 
arose from the same set of circumstances as one of the 
enumerated registration offenses. 591 N.W.2d 711 (Minn. 
1999). The Boutin Court held that: “Once an offender is 
charged with and convicted of a crime that satisfies these 
elements, the offender must be notified of his duty to 
register.” Id. at 714–15. This principle has been 
consistently applied by the courts since Boutin and 
affirmed by the Minnesota Court of Appeals as recently 
as July of this year. See Lange v. Evans, No. A21-1546, 
2022 WL 2438634, at *3 (Minn. App. July 5, 2022) (“mere 
dismissal of a charge alleging an offense that requires 
registration does not compel the conclusion that the 
charge was not supported by probable cause.”). 

There is no dispute that there was probable cause to 
support the original charge of first degree criminal sexual 
conduct. The fact that Mr. Nickels pled guilty to a lesser 
charge does not extinguish probable cause for the original 
charge. Given this, Plaintiff was properly required to 
register as a predatory offender. Plaintiff was charged 
with first-degree criminal sexual conduct and was 
convicted of an offense that arose from the same set of 
circumstances. Defendant properly required Plaintiff to 
register as a predatory offender, and to have Plaintiff 
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continue to register pursuant to Minn. Stat. 243.166. 
Therefore, Plaintiff is not entitled to declaratory or 
injunctive relief relieving him of his registration 
obligations. 

Violations of Procedural Due Process 

Plaintiff alleges that Defendant violated his 
constitutional right to procedural due process under both 
the United States and Minnesota Constitutions by 
requiring him to register as a predatory offender. U.S. 
Const. amend. XIV, § 1; Minn. Const. art. 1, § 7. “When 
procedural due process is at issue, we must first 
determine whether a protectable liberty interest is at 
stake.” Boutin, 591 N.W.2d at 718. Minnesota has adopted 
the “stigma-plus” test, which holds that “‘a liberty 
interest is implicated when a loss of reputation is coupled 
with the loss of some other tangible interest.’” Id. (citing 
Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693, 701–02, 96 S. Ct. 1155, 1160–
61, 47 L. Ed. 2d 405 (1976)). 

The Minnesota Supreme Court has held that Minn. 
Stat. § 243.166 did not violate procedural or substantive 
due process. Boutin, 519 N.W.2d at 716–20. Regarding 
procedural due process, the Boutin Court explained that 
requiring a person to register as a predatory offender did 
not meet the “stigma-plus” test. Id. at 718. “In Boutin, the 
[S]upreme [C]ourt held that although being labeled a 
predatory offender is injurious to one’s reputation, that 
injury must still be coupled with the loss of some other 
recognizable interest.” Bedeau v. Evans, 926 N.W.2d 425, 
431–32 (Minn. App. 2019) (citing Boutin, 591 N.W.2d at 
718). The Boutin Court further maintained that 
complying with the requirements of the registration 
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statute was a minimal burden and was not a sufficiently 
important interest the “stigma-plus” test requires. Id.5 

Since the predatory offender registration statute was 
enacted, additional requirements have been added by the 
Legislature. The changes include new procedures for 
individuals with no primary address or who are working 
outside of the jurisdiction in which one is registered, as 
well as procedures for recording real property, 
employment, vehicles, and health care facility notification. 

Plaintiff has filed an affidavit attesting to the 
difficulties he has encountered with the registration 
requirement. Specifically, Plaintiff notes that having to 
register makes it difficult for him to find a job and 
housing. Aff. of Jade Joseph Nickels, ¶ 9 (hereinafter 
“Nickels Aff.”). He also points out that he has struggled 
with substance abuse and his having to register interferes 
with his ability to gain placement at residential treatment 
facilities due to his offender status. Id. Plaintiff also 
attests that his offender status has impacted his personal 
life. He voluntarily agreed to terminate his parental rights 
to his daughter. Id. ¶ 10. He has been accosted based on 
his status as a predatory offender, causing him mental 
anguish, and his status has prevented his significant 
others from having their children around him. Id. ¶¶ 10 –
12. 

While the Court sympathizes with Mr. Nickels and 
the difficulties he has had to face, the Court is not fully 
persuaded that he has been or is likely to be deprived of 
any recognizable interest. The appellate court has held 
that the additional reporting requirements are a minimal 
burden imposed on offenders. See Bedeau, 926 N.W.2d at 

 
5  The Court of Appeals also noted that “there is no recognizable 
interest in being free from having to update address information.” Id. 
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432. In Bedeau, the appellate court concluded that the 
additional requirements are similar to the updating 
address information, which the Supreme Court had 
previously determined was a minimal burden and not a 
sufficiently important interest as required by the stigma-
plus test. Id. Plaintiff contends that he has had difficulty 
finding housing and employment as a result of his 
registration as a predatory offender. Again, while the 
Court deeply sympathizes with Mr. Nickels, it cannot find 
sufficient evidence to suggest that the registration 
requirement is the primary cause of his difficulties rather 
than his convictions and most recent incarceration. 

In addition, Plaintiff argues that when he accepted 
the plea agreement, and was convicted of fifth-degree 
criminal sexual conduct, it was understood by everyone 
that he would not have to register as a predatory offender. 
The sentencing transcript shows two specific points 
where registration was briefly discussed. First, Mr. 
Nickels attorney acknowledged that one of the reasons for 
entering into the plea agreement was to alleviate Mr. 
Nickels of his obligation to register as a predatory 
offender. Pln. Ex. 1, Sentencing Tr. at 2, 2–7. The second 
instance was during the inquiry of Mr. Nickels. Mr. 
Nickels’ attorney asked Mr. Nickels if he understood that 
the plea was being entered into so that he would not have 
to register as an offender. Id. at 9, 21–23. Mr. Nickels 
replied that he understood. Id. at 9, 24. Outside of those 
two instances, the fact that Mr. Nickels would not have to 
register was not addressed at any other point during 
sentencing. The prosecutor did not address that Mr. 
Nickels would not have to register as an offender.6 The 

 
6 At the beginning of the sentencing hearing, Mr. Nickels attorney 
recited the essence of the plea agreement, which is where it was first 
mentioned that the agreement was being entered so that Mr. Nickels 
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sentencing court did not acknowledge or specifically 
pronounce that Mr. Nickels would not have to register as 
a predatory offender or address registration in any way. 
In short, the BCA was not present at Plaintiff’s 
sentencing hearing, nor were any representations made 
to the Court that some unique circumstance made the 
statute inapplicable to Plaintiff’s circumstances. For the 
purposes of this Motion, Plaintiff offers his testimony 
under penalty of perjury that the prosecutor told him that 
the plea agreement meant he did not have to register. 
Nickels Aff. at ¶ 6. (“The prosecutor promised that, if I 
pled guilty, I would not have to register as a sex/predatory 
offender.”). Even if the prosecutor eventually testified to 
the credibility of Plaintiff’s statements in this matter, the 
Court could find no case law that suggests it would have 
any legal consequence. See also infra regarding privity. 

Plaintiff was first informed of his registration 
requirement in 1999, when the BCA contacted him to get 
him to register. If Plaintiff was promised that he would 
not have to register if he pled guilty, or was misinformed 
or misunderstood the plea agreement, his remedy was to 
seek withdrawal of the guilty plea. Plaintiff sought the 
withdrawal of the plea, which the Crow Wing County 
court denied. As such, Plaintiff cannot establish that there 
has been a violation of procedural due process here. 

Violations of Substantive Due Process 

Plaintiff also alleges that Defendant denied him his 
constitutional right to substantive due process. See U.S. 
Const. amend. XIV, § 1; Minn. Const. art. 1, § 7. 
Substantive due process requires plaintiffs to show that 

 
would not have to register. The sentencing court asked the prosecutor 
if that was a fair recitation of the facts. The prosecution agreed. See 
Pln. Ex. 1, Sentencing Tr. at 2. 
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there was a government action that deprived them of a 
fundamental right and that a government official acted in 
a manner that shocked the conscience. In Boutin, the 
Minnesota Supreme Court held that the registration 
statute did not implicate a fundamental right and that the 
statute was rationally related to the legitimate state 
interest of solving crimes. Boutin, 591 N.W.2d at 716-20. 
Similarly, the Eighth Circuit also held in Gunderson v. 
Hvass that Minnesota’s registration statute is non-
punitive and rationally related to a legitimate government 
purpose. 339 F.3d 639 (8th Cir. 2003). 

Plaintiff cannot establish a violation of substantive 
due process here. Plaintiff argues that the registration 
requirement has interfered with his fundamental right to 
parent his child. Specifically, Plaintiff argues that a 
county human services agency could petition to terminate 
his rights at any point. Plaintiff asserts that in 2019 a 
petition was brought to terminate his parental rights to 
his daughter. Mr. Nickels ultimately voluntarily chose to 
terminate his parental rights. Since Mr. Nickels has 
voluntarily terminated his parental rights, Mr. Nickels 
has neither shown a fundamental right at stake nor any 
governmental action that shocks the conscience. Mr. 
Nickels substantive due process violation claim is 
dismissed. 

Promissory Estoppel 

Promissory estoppel is an equitable doctrine that 
implies a contract in law where none exists in fact. 
Martens v. Minn. Min. & Mfg. Co., 616 N.W.2d 732, 746 
(Minn. 2000). To establish a claim for promissory estoppel, 
there must be: (1) a clear and definite promise; (2) the 
promisor intended to induce reliance and the promisee 
relied on the promise to his detriment; and (3) the promise 
must be enforced to prevent injustice. Id. Plaintiff asserts 
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that the BCA promised to Mr. Nickels that if he pled 
guilty to an amended charge of criminal sexual conduct, 
he would not have to register as a predatory offender. Mr. 
Nickels relied on that promise when he entered into the 
plea agreement and is now seeking enforcement of that 
promise to prevent injustice to himself. 

Defendant argues that the BCA did not make a 
promise to Mr. Nickels. First, Defendant points to the fact 
that the BCA is not in privity with the prosecutor who 
made the charging decision. Second, even if there was 
privity, there was no clear and definite promise from the 
prosecutor. The Court agrees with Defendant that the 
BCA itself did not make a promise to Mr. Nickels. 
Furthermore, the Court has struggled to find where in the 
sentencing transcript, the prosecutor made a clear, 
definite statement that it promised to Mr. Nickels that he 
would not have to register as an offender. Specifically, the 
sentencing transcript does not contain any discussion 
from the prosecutor, or between defense counsel and the 
prosecutor, as to the alleged promise to not have Mr. 
Nickels register as a predatory offender. Instead, only 
defense counsel addressed the alleged reasoning behind 
the plea agreement. Moreover, as the Court of Appeals 
very recently noted in Lange, the functions and 
responsibilities of the BCA are distinct from that of the 
state and a county attorney's office. The BCA, which is a 
division of DPS, performs “such functions and duties as 
relate to statewide and nationwide crime information 
systems,” including the maintenance of the registered 
predatory offender database. Minn. Stat. § 299C.01.093 
(2020). County attorneys and their assistants, in contrast, 
prosecute felonies and other crimes. Minn. Stat. § 388.051, 
subd. 1(3) (2020). Lange v. Evans, No. A21-1546, 2022 WL 
2438634, at *4 (Minn. App. July 5, 2022). As such, 
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Plaintiff’s claim for promissory estoppel fails and should 
be dismissed. 

Bill of Attainder 

Plaintiff brings a claim that Minn. Stat. § 243.166 
constitutes an unconstitutional bill of attainder. Under 
both the United States and Minnesota Constitutions, no 
bill of attainder shall be passed. U.S. Const. art. I, § 9, cl. 
3; Minn. Const. art. 1, § 11. A bill of attainder is defined as 
“a law that legislatively determines guilt and inflicts 
punishment upon an identifiable individual without 
provision of the protections of a judicial trial.” Council of 
Indep. Tobacco Mfrs. Of America v. State, 685 N.W.2d 
467, 474 (Minn. App. 2004). See also Nixon v. Adm’r of 
Gen. Servs., 433 U.S. 425, 468 (1984). To support a claim 
that a statute is a bill of attainder, Plaintiff must show that 
the statute singles out an identifiable individual or group 
and punishes them without a judicial trial. Council of 
Indep. Tobacco Mfrs. of America, 685 N.W.2d at 474. 

Minnesota courts have determined that registration 
as a sex offender does not advance the traditional aims of 
punishment and is therefore not punitive. See State v. 
Manning, 532 N.W.2d 244, 248 (Minn. App. 1995). See 
also State v. Larson, No. A05-40, 2016 WL 618857, *4 
(Minn. App. Mar. 14, 2006). Minnesota’s predatory 
offender registration statute is not an unconstitutional bill 
of attainder. 

CONCLUSION 

For the reasons discussed above, Plaintiff’s Motion 
for Reconsideration is granted, and Defendant’s 
alternative motions are condensed into one motion for 
summary judgment. Defendant’s motion is granted, and 
judgment entered as a matter of law. 

 



 

(39a) 

APPENDIX C 

STATE OF MINNESOTA     DISTRICT COURT 
COUNTY OF RAMSEY  SECOND JUDICIAL 

DISTRICT 

_________________________________________________ 

Jade Joseph Nickels, 

Case No. 62-CV-21-728 

Plaintiff, 

ORDER 

v. 

 

Drew Evans, Sperintendent, Bureau of Criminal 
Apprehension, 

Defendant.  
_________________________________________________ 

The above-entitled matter came on for a hearing 
before the undersigned, on December 16, 2021, pursuant 
to Defendant’s Motions to Dismiss and for Summary 
Judgment and Plaintiff’s Motion for Summary Judgment. 
Brad Colbert, Esq., and Julia Durst, certified student 
attorney, appeared on behalf of the Plaintiff. Angela 
Kiese, Esq., appeared on behalf of the Defendant. All 
appearances were made remotely via Zoom. 

Based on all the files, pleadings, records, and 
proceedings herein, and on the arguments and 
submissions of the parties, the court makes the following: 
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ORDER 

1. Defendant’s motion to dismiss is granted. 

2. Plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied. 

3. The attached Memorandum is incorporated herein 
as part of this order. 

LET JUDGMENT BE ENTERED ACCORDINGLY. 

BY THE COURT: 

 

Dated: March 24, 2022         _____________________ 

The Honorable Sara R. Grewing 
Judge of District Court 

 

MEMORANDUM 

FACTUAL BACKGROUND 

Plaintiff, Jade Nickels, has brought a § 1983 action 
against Defendant, Drew Evans, the Superintendent of 
the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension 
(“Defendant” or “Superintendent Evans”), in his official 
capacity. Plaintiff has alleged various violations of 
procedural and substantive due process, promissory 
estoppel, and asserts that the predatory offender 
registration statute is a bill of attainder. Defendant denies 
these allegations. 

For the purposes of Defendant’s Rule 12 Motion, the 
facts in Plaintiff’s Verified Complaint are accepted as 
true. The relevant facts from the Verified Complaint may 
be summarized as follows. 
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Statement of Undisputed Facts 

In 1998, Plaintiff was charged with one count of 
Possession of Schedule 1, 2, 3, 4 – Not Small Amount of 
Marijuana in the Fifth Degree and one count of Criminal 
Sexual Conduct in the First Degree. Both charges arose 
out of an incident where Plaintiff and another individual 
sexually assaulted the female victim. Compl. ¶ 5; Def. Ex. 
1. On August 3, 1998, pursuant to a plea agreement 
offered by the State, Plaintiff pled guilty to Criminal 
Sexual Conduct in the Fifth Degree and Possession of a 
Controlled Substance in the Fifth Degree. Compl. ¶ 6; 
Def. Mem. Exs. 3, 4-1, 4-3, 4-4, 4-6, 4-7, 5. The plea petition 
itself did not discuss predatory offender registration. Def. 
Mem. Exs. 4-3, 4-4. Plaintiff also entered an Alford plea to 
both amended counts. Compl. ¶ 7. During the August 3rd 
hearing, Mr. Nickels’ attorney stated that one of the 
reasons the plea agreement was reached was to alleviate 
Mr. Nickels from having to register as a sex offender. Def. 
Mem. Exs. 5-2, 5-3, 5-9. The adjudicating court sentenced 
Mr. Nickels and convicted him of the offenses as outlined 
in the plea agreement. Compl. ¶ 7. Mr. Nickels was 
sentenced to an executed seventeen-month sentence. 
Compl. ¶ 7. Neither the court nor the parties discussed 
registration any further at the time of sentencing. 

In May 1999, Mr. Nickels first registered as a 
predatory offender in connection with the 1998 offenses. 
Def. Mem. Ex. 6-1. At some point between 2000 and 2002, 
Mr. Nickels failed to register. The Anoka County 
Attorney’s Office declined to prosecute Mr. Nickels’ 
failure to register after reviewing the Crow Wing County 
court records. Def. Mem. Exs. 7-4, 7-5.  

Plaintiff moved to Seattle, Washington at some point 
between January and May 2002. When the Minnesota 
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (“BCA”) learned of 
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this, the BCA attempted to get him into compliance with 
the registration statute. Registration forms were sent to 
Plaintiff’s Washington state address. Def. Mem. Exs. 8-1–
8-8. Plaintiff returned to Minnesota at some time between 
2002 and 2003. The BCA learned of his return when 
Plaintiff was arrested in Crow Wing county on controlled 
substance and property crimes charges. Def. Mem. Exs. 
8-12, 9-1–9-4. Plaintiff was arrested again in August 2003 
in Forest Lake, Minnesota. After his second arrest, the 
BCA again attempted to get Plaintiff into compliance with 
the registration statute. Def. Mem. Exs. 9-5, 9-6. Address 
verification forms were filed for the years 2003 and 2004. 
Def. Mem. Exs. 9-7–9-16, 41-4. 

Between 2004 and 2020, Mr. Nickels was in and out of 
incarceration. As a result of his incarceration, Plaintiff 
intermittently complied with the obligation to register 
and send updated address verification forms. Mr. Nickels 
most recent release from incarceration was in February 
2020.1 

Procedural History 

Plaintiff commenced this action against Defendant on 
February 12, 2021, alleging that the registration 
requirement has caused him undue hardship in accessing 
state-provided housing, stable employment, and 
reintegration into the community. Compl. ¶ 10. 
Specifically, Plaintiff alleges violations of his 
constitutional right to due process, asserts that the BCA 
should be required to enforce its promise that Plaintiff 
should not register as a predatory offender, and asserts 
that Minn. Stat. 243.166 is an unlawful bill of attainder. Id. 

 
1 Mr. Nickels most recent release from incarceration stems from an 
arrest on an unrelated controlled substance matter. 
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¶¶ 11–22. Plaintiff requests injunctive relief from this 
Court. 

Defendant brought Motions to Dismiss and for 
Summary Judgment on November 17, 2021. Plaintiff filed 
their Motion for Summary Judgment on November 18, 
2021. The Court held a hearing on both Motions and took 
the matter under advisement. 

STANDARD OF REVIEW 

I. Motion to Dismiss 

A court should dismiss a complaint when it fails to 
state a claim for which the court may grant relief. Minn. 
R. Civ. P. 12.02(e). “On motions to dismiss for failure to 
state a claim on which relief can be granted, courts 
consider only those facts alleged in the complaint, 
accepting those facts as true and construing all reasonable 
inferences in favor of the non-moving party.” In re 
Individual 35W Bridge Litig., 806 N.W.2d 820, 826-27 
(Minn. 2011). A court need not give any deference to a 
plaintiff’s legal conclusions, opinions, or statements that 
are general and indefinite. Martens v. Minn. Mining & 
Mfg., 616 N.W.2d 732, 747 (Minn. 2000). However, in 
considering the facts alleged in a complaint, the district 
court may “consider…the documents referred to in the 
complaint in addition to the complaint itself.” Hamann v. 
Park Nicollet Clinic, 792 N.W.2d 468, 469 (Minn. App. 
2010). A motion to dismiss should be granted if “it appears 
to a certainty that no facts, which could be introduced 
consistent with the pleading[s], exist which would support 
granting the relief demanded.” DeRosa v. McKenzie, 936 
N.W.2d 342, 346 (Minn. 2019); N. States Power Co. v. 
Franklin, 122 N.W.2d 26, 29 (Minn. 1963). 
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II. Summary Judgment 

Summary judgment is appropriate when the record, 
taken as a whole, shows that “there is no genuine issue as 
to any material fact and that either party is entitled to a 
judgment as a matter of law.” Minn. R. Civ. P. 56.01. “A 
motion for summary judgment shall be granted when the 
pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and 
admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, 
show that there is no genuine issue of material fact and 
that either party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of 
law.” Fabio v. Bellomo, 504 N.W.2d 758, 761 (Minn. 1993) 
(citing Minn. R. Civ. P. 56.03). Summary judgment is 
improper when reasonable minds could differ and draw 
different conclusions from the evidence presented. DLH, 
Inc. v. Russ, 566 N.W.2d 60, 69 (Minn. 1997). 

Minnesota case law has long held that when 
considering a motion for summary judgment, “the district 
court must view the evidence in the light most favorable 
to the nonmoving party.” DLH, Inc. v. Russ, 566 N.W.2d 
60, 72 (Minn. 1997). The party opposing summary 
judgment cannot rely on conclusory allegations in the 
pleadings for support, but must present specific facts that 
demonstrate “genuine issues of material fact” for trial. 
W.J.L. v. Bugge, 573 N.W.2d 677, 680 (Minn. 1998). 
Further, when determining whether a genuine issue of 
material fact for trial exists, the court is “not required to 
ignore its conclusion that a particular piece of evidence 
may have no probative value, such that reasonable 
persons could not draw different conclusions from the 
evidence presented.” DLH, 566 N.W.2d at 70. 

LEGAL ANALYSIS 

I. Statute of Limitations 
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Defendant contends that Mr. Nickels’ claims are 
barred by the statute of limitations and his Complaint 
must be dismissed on that ground alone. Defendant 
argues that any alleged harm accrued by May 1999, when 
Mr. Nickels first registered as a predatory offender, and 
that Mr. Nickels had six years from May 1999 to bring his 
claims before this Court. Plaintiff maintains that Mr. 
Nickels’ claims are not barred by the statute of 
limitations. Plaintiff argues that even if Mr. Nickels’ 
claims were brought after the limitations period ended, 
Mr. Nickels has been subjected to a continuing violation 
that essentially restarts the limitations period each time 
he has been injured by the violation.  

The issue here is whether Mr. Nickels’ claims result 
from a continuing violation or if it is a discrete, one-time 
act that accrued in May 1999. If it is a continuing violation, 
Plaintiff’s claims would not be time-barred, and the 
instant lawsuit must proceed. However, if Plaintiff’s 
claims accrued in May 1999 when Mr. Nickels first 
registered, his claims would be time-barred, and his suit 
must be dismissed. 

Statute of Limitations 

Under Minnesota law, the statute of limitations 
commences once a cause of action has accrued. Minn. Stat. 
§ 541.01 (2020).2 See also Hamann, 808 N.W.2d at 832. A 
cause of action accrues when “it could be brought in a 
court of law without dismissal for failure to state a claim.” 
Bonhiver v. Graff, 311 Minn. 111, 117, 248 N.W.2d 291, 296 
(1976) (citation omitted). See also Sec. Bank & Tr. Co. v. 
Larkin, Hoffman, Daly & Lindgren, Ltd. 916 N.W.2d 
491, 496 (Minn. 2018). A claim accrues when there exist 

 
2 “Actions can only be commenced within the periods prescribed in 
this chapter, after the cause of action accrues…” 
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sufficient operative facts to support each element of a 
claim. Id.; Hamann, 808 N.W.2d at 832. In this case, the 
applicable statute of limitations for each of Plaintiffs 
claims is six years. Minn. Stat. § 541.05, subd. 1(5).3 

Generally, there are no exceptions to the statute of 
limitations and courts are not empowered to make 
exceptions to such statutes. State v. Bies, 258 Minn. 139, 
145, 103 N.W.2d 228, 234 (1960). One exception that exists 
to the statute of limitations is the continuing violation 
doctrine. This doctrine provides that a cause of action 
does not lapse if the alleged wrongful act was a continuing 
violation. Sigurdson v. Isanti Cnty, 448 N.W.2d 62, 66 
(Minn. 1989). The premise of the continuing violations 
doctrine is that a continuous practice “over a period of 
time [can] indicate a systematic repetition of the same 
policy and constitute a sufficiently integrated pattern to 
form, in effect, a single … act.” Hubbard v. United Press 
Int’, Inc., 330 N.W.2d 428, 440 n.11 (Minn. 1983). When 
applying the continuing violations doctrine, courts must 

 
3 Congress did not include a statute of limitations for claims brought 
under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. When federal statutes do not contain their 
own limitations periods, courts apply the most appropriate or 
analogous statute of limitations from the forum state. Wilson v. 
Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 266–68 (1985); Egerdahl v. Hibbing Comm. 
College, 72 F.3d 615, 617 (8th Cir. 1995). In Wilson, “the [United 
States] Supreme Court held that § 1983 claims are best characterized 
as personal injury actions for statute of limitations purposes.” Cook 
v. City of Minneapolis, 617 F. Supp. 461, 463 (D. Minn. 1985). See also 
Owens v. Okure, 488 U.S. 235, 240–41 (1989) (“a State’s personal 
injury state of limitations should be applied to all § 1983 claims”). 
Courts in Minnesota have held that § 1983 claims are governed by the 
six-year limitations period for personal injury claims. Helleloid v. 
Indep. Sch. Dist. No. 361, 149 F. Supp. 2d 863 (D. Minn. 2001); Berg 
v. Groshen, 437 N.W.2d 75, 77 (Minn. App. 1989) (holding that the six-
year statute of limitations applies to § 1983 claims). Since § 1983 
claims are construed by the courts as personal injury actions, Minn. 
Stat. § 541.05, subd. 1 applies here. 
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focus on whether a present violation exists. See 
Sigurdson, 448 N.W.2d at 67. “So long as the violation 
continues into the limitations period, the statute of 
limitations does not bar the claim.” Lewison v. 
Hutchinson, 929 N.W.2d 444, 450 (Minn. App. 2019). 

Minnesota’s Predatoy Offender Registration Statute 

Minnesota law requires certain offenders who are 
charged with criminal sexual conduct to register even if 
they are convicted of another offense “arising out of the 
same set of circumstances.” Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 
1b(a)(1)(iii) (2020). Registrants are required to “continue 
to register” for ten years after they initially register. Id. 
subd. 6(a). Failure to comply with registration is a felony. 
Id. subd. 5(a). Furthermore, a failure to comply with 
registration results in an additional five-year period 
where the registrant must continue to register. Id. subd. 
6(b). The statute also provides that a registrant who is 
“incarcerated due to a new conviction for a new offense or 
following a revocation of probation, supervised release, or 
conditional release for any offense” must continue to 
register for an additional ten years from when the person 
was last released or the supervision period expires. Id. 
subd. 6(c). 

Application to Mr. Nickels’ Claims 

Mr. Nickels, after pleading guilty to an amended 
count of criminal sexual conduct, was first notified of the 
registration requirement in May 1999, after which he 
began to register. Mr. Nickels has mostly complied with 
the registration requirement from when he first 
registered until now. Between 1999 and 2021, Mr. Nickels 
has been incarcerated on new convictions, with the most 
recent incarceration occurring in February 2020. As a 
result of his incarcerations on new convictions unrelated 
to the original criminal sexual conduct conviction, Mr. 
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Nickels must register as a predatory offender for an 
additional ten years. Def. Ex. 40-1, 40-2, 40-3, 42. See also 
Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 6(c). Currently, Mr. Nickels’ 
current registration end date is February 26, 2030, which 
is ten years from the date he was last released from 
incarceration in February 2020. Id. Ex. 42 ¶ 4. 

Plaintiff argues that although Mr. Nickels was 
originally required to register in May 1999, the continuing 
violation doctrine applies, and the statute of limitations 
was tolled because of the BCA recent determination that 
Mr. Nickels must continue to register as a predatory 
offender for ten more years after his most recent 
incarceration in February 2020. Furthermore, Plaintiff 
contends that Mr. Nickels experiences an injury each time 
he is required to complete address verification forms, or 
provide notice of address changes, employment changes, 
or vehicle changes. Plaintiff points the Court to an order 
issued in a similar case. See Drobec v. Drew Evans, 
Superintendent of the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal 
Apprehension, No. 62-CV-18-3944, *1 (Minn. Dist. Ct. 
Dec. 5, 2019). 

In Drobec, a jury found the plaintiff, Darcy Drobec, 
guilty of one count of second-degree intentional murder, 
one count of second-degree felony murder, and one count 
of kidnapping. Id. at *1. Ms. Drobec was adjudicated 
guilty of all three counts and was sentenced to serve a 
total of 550 months. Id. *2. When Ms. Drobec committed 
the offense and was convicted, neither of the crimes for 
which Drobec was charged or convicted were registrable 
offenses under the Minnesota predatory offender 
registration law, nor did they arise out of the same set of 
circumstances as a registrable offense. Id. As a result, the 
requirement to register as a predatory offender was not 
addressed at any point prior to, during, or after trial. 
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In 1999, the Minnesota legislature amended the 
predatory registration laws, making it so that all charges 
arising from kidnapping offenses became registrable. Id. 
In 2004 while Drobec was incarcerated, ten years after 
being sentenced, she was informed that she was required 
to register as a predatory offender. Id. Ms. Drobec had to 
complete the registration and notice forms and submit 
them to the BCA. Id. Ms. Drobec was not afforded a 
hearing before being required to register. Id. The Drobec 
Court found that each time Ms. Drobec was required to 
register was a separate actionable wrong, resulting in a 
new six-year period each time she registered. Id. *8 –*9. 
As a result, the Drobec Court concluded that Ms. Drobec’s 
continuing obligation to register was a continuing 
violation, and that her lawsuit did not exceed the statute 
of limitations. Id. *7 –*8. 

Defendant argues that the continuing violation 
doctrine is not applicable here and that the injury 
culminated when Mr. Nickels was first required to 
register in May 1999. Defendant points the Court to an 
unpublished case, Jones v. Evans, as instructive on the 
issue of continuing violation.4 In Jones, the plaintiff was 
charged with third-degree criminal sexual conduct in 
2005. 2018 WL 3716094, A18-0139 *1, *1 (Minn. App. 
2018). In 2005, Mr. Jones plead guilty to, and was 
adjudicated guilty of, an amended charge of fifth-degree 
criminal sexual conduct. Id. Mr. Jones was first informed 

 
4  While unpublished opinions of the court of appeals are not 
precedential, district courts may consider unpublished court of 
appeals decisions for their persuasive and instructive value. Adams 
v. Harpstead, 947 N.W.2d 838, 846 (Minn. App. 2020). See also White 
Bear Lake Restoration Assoc., ex rel. State v. Minn. Dept’. of Nat. 
Res., 928 N.W.2d 351 (Minn. App. 2019), aff’d in part, rev’d in part, 
946 N.W.2d 373 (Minn. 2020); Kruse v. Comm’r of Pub. Safety, 906 
N.W.2d 554 (Minn. App. 2018). 
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of needing to register in 2006, after which he did register. 
Id. Mr. Jones twice failed to comply with the registration 
requirement and was duly convicted of his failure to 
comply with registering under the predatory offender 
registration statute. Id. 

Mr. Jones sued the BCA Superintendent in 2016, 
bringing claims for violation of his substantive and 
procedural due process rights, and promissory estoppel. 
Id. at *3. Mr. Jones alleged that the BCA wrongfully 
required him to register, arguing that his 2005 plea 
agreement contemplated that he would not have to 
register as a predatory offender. Id. The Court of Appeals 
upheld the District Court’s decision to dismiss his claims 
as the applicable limitations six-years limitations period 
expired. Id. at *3. Furthermore, the Court of Appeals 
noted that the continuing violation theory did not apply to 
Mr. Jones’ claims because Mr. Jones was challenging the 
initial determination that he must register. As such, Mr. 
Jones’ claims were based upon a discrete act by the BCA. 
Any additional and ongoing reporting requirements that 
Mr. Jones was subject to were merely a consequence of 
the BCA’s initial determination, not a new cause of action. 

While the Court finds the Jones opinion persuasive 
and instructive, the Court is hesitant to find that all of Mr. 
Nickels’ claims must be dismissed because the limitations 
period expired. The Court is persuaded by Plaintiff’s 
arguments that Mr. Nickels new ten-year registration 
period constitutes a continuing violation. Here, Plaintiff 
was first required to register in May 1999. Between 1999 
and 2020, Mr. Nickels has largely complied with the 
registration requirements. Within that same timeframe, 
Mr. Nickels has been incarcerated several times, with his 
most incarceration being in February 2020 which 
triggered a new ten-year registration period. Plaintiff 
commenced his lawsuit in February 2021, twenty-two 
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years after the BCA first required that he register as a 
predatory offender and one-year after his most recent 
incarceration. 

While this is a close call for the Court, the Court does 
find that Mr. Nickels has been subjected to a continuing 
violation when he was made to register for ten more years 
after his 2020 incarceration on an unrelated conviction. 
The Court finds that a new six-year limitations period is 
triggered, and that Mr. Nickels’ claims are not time-
barred. 

II. Motion to Dismiss 

Plaintiff’s Statutory Requirement to Register as a 
Predatory Offender 

As previously mentioned, Minn. Stat. § 243.166 
requires certain individuals to register as predatory 
offenders. The statute provides for how long registrants 
are required to continue to register as well as what 
happens when a registrant fails to comply or is 
incarcerated on a new conviction for a new offense. Id. 
The statute provides that when a person is required to 
register, the sentencing court must tell the person of the 
duty to register, require the person to complete a 
registration form, and forward that form, along with the 
complaint and sentencing documents, to the BCA. Id. The 
court may not modify an offender’s statutory obligation to 
register as a predatory offender in the pronounced 
sentence. Id. If, as happened here, the court does not 
notify a person of the registration obligation at the time of 
sentencing, the court does not notify a person of the 
registration requirement at the time of sentencing, the 
person’s assigned corrections agent or law enforcement 
officer are required to notify the person of the registration 
obligation. Id. 
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Here, Mr. Nickels was initially charged with one 
count of first-day criminal sexual conduct. He later pled 
guilty to, and was convicted of, fifth-degree criminal 
sexual conduct. While not an enumerated offense that 
would require registration, that fifth-degree criminal 
sexual conduct arose from the same set of circumstances 
that led to the first-degree charge, specifically, Plaintiff’s 
sexual assault of a female in a motel room in 1998. 
Between 1999 and 2021, Mr. Nickels has been 
incarcerated on new convictions. 

The issue of “arising out of the same set of 
circumstances” has been previously addressed by the 
Minnesota Supreme Court in Boutin v. LaFleur, where 
the Court held that a person was required to register as a 
predatory offender when convicted of an offense that 
arose from the same set of circumstances as one of the 
enumerated registration offenses. 591 N.W.2d 711 (Minn. 
1999). The Boutin Court held that: “Once an offender is 
charged with and convicted of a crime that satisfies these 
elements, the offender must be notified of his duty to 
register.” Id. at 714-15. This principle has been 
consistently applied by the courts since Boutin. 

There is no dispute that there was probable cause to 
support the original charge of fifth-degree criminal sexual 
conduct. The fact that Mr. Nickels pled guilty to a lesser 
charge does not extinguish probable cause for the original 
charge. Given this, Plaintiff was properly required to 
register as a predatory offender. Plaintiff was charged 
with first-degree criminal sexual conduct and was 
convicted of an offense that arose from the same set of 
circumstances. Defendant properly required Plaintiff to 
register as a predatory offender, and to have Plaintiff 
continue to register pursuant to Minn. Stat. 243.166. 
Therefore, Plaintiff is not entitled to declaratory or 
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injunctive relief relieving him of his registration 
obligations. 

Violations of Procedural Due Process 

Plaintiff alleges that Defendant violated his 
constitutional right to procedural due process under both 
the United States and Minnesota Constitutions by 
requiring him to register as a predatory offender. U.S. 
Const. amend. XIV, § 1; Minn. Const. art. 1, § 7. “When 
procedural due process is at issue, we must first 
determine whether a protectable liberty interest is at 
stake.” Id. at 718. Minnesota has adopted the “stigma-
plus” test, which holds that “a liberty interest is 
implicated when a loss of reputation is coupled with the 
loss of some other tangible interest.” Id. (citing Paul v. 
Davis, 424 U.S. 693, 701-02, 96 S. Ct. 1155, 1160-61, 47 L. 
Ed. 2d 405 (1976)). 

The Minnesota Supreme Court has held that Minn. 
Stat. § 243.166 did not violate procedural or substantive 
due process. Boutin, 519 N.W.2d at 716-20. Regarding 
procedural due process, the Boutin Court explained that 
requiring a person to register as a predatory offender did 
not meet the “stigma-plus” test. Id. at 718. “In Boutin, the 
[S]upreme [C]ourt held that although being labeled a 
predatory offender is injurious to one’s reputation, that 
injury must still be coupled with the loss of some other 
recognizable interest.” Bedeau v. Evans, 926 N.W.2d 425, 
431-32 (Minn. App. 2019) (citing Boutin, 591 N.W.2d at 
718). The Boutin Court further maintained that 
complying with the requirements of the registration 
statute was a minimal burden and was not a sufficiently 
important interest the “stigma-plus” test requires. Id.5 

 
5  The Court of Appeals also noted that “there is no recognizable 
interest in being free from having to update address information.” Id. 
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Since the predatory offender registration statute was 
enacted, additional requirements have been added by the 
Legislature. The changes include new procedures for 
individuals with no primary address or who are working 
outside of the jurisdiction in which one is registered, as 
well as procedures for recording real property, 
employment, vehicles, and health care facility notification. 

Plaintiff has filed an affidavit attesting to the 
difficulties he has encountered with the registration 
requirement. Specifically, Plaintiff notes that having to 
register makes it difficult for him to find a job and 
housing. Aff. of Jade Joseph Nickels, ¶ 9. He also points 
out that he has struggled with substance abuse and his 
having to register interferes with his ability to gain 
placement at residential treatment facilities due to his 
offender status. Id. Plaintiff also attests that his offender 
status has impacted his personal life. He voluntarily 
agreed to terminate his parental rights to his daughter. 
Id. ¶ 10. He has been accosted based on his status as a 
predatory offender, causing him mental anguish, and his 
status has prevented his significant others from having 
their kids around him. Id. ¶¶ 10 –12. 

While the Court sympathizes with Mr. Nickels and 
the difficulties he has had to face, the Court is not fully 
persuaded that he has been or is likely to be deprived of 
any recognizable interest. The appellate court has held 
that the additional reporting requirements are a minimal 
burden imposed on offenders. See Bedeau, 926 N.W.2d at 
432. In Bedeau, the appellate court concluded that the 
additional requirements are similar to the updating 
address information, which the Supreme Court had 
previously determined was a minimal burden and not a 
sufficiently important interest as required by the stigma-
plus test. Id. Plaintiff contends that he has had difficulty 
finding housing and employment as a result of his 
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registration as a predatory offender. Again, while the 
Court deeply sympathizes with Mr. Nickels, it cannot find 
sufficient evidence to suggest that the registration 
requirement is the primary cause of his difficulties rather 
than his convictions and most recent incarceration. 

In addition, Plaintiff argues that when he accepted 
the plea agreement, and was convicted of fifth-degree 
criminal sexual conduct, it was understood by everyone 
that he would not have to register as a predatory offender. 
The sentencing transcript shows two specific points 
where registration was briefly discussed. First, Mr. 
Nickels attorney acknowledged that one of the reasons for 
entering into the plea agreement was to alleviate Mr. 
Nickels of his obligation to register as a predatory 
offender. Pln. Ex. 1, Sentencing Tr. at 2, 2–7. The second 
instance was during the inquiry of Mr. Nickels. Mr. 
Nickels’ attorney asked Mr. Nickels if he understood that 
the plea was being entered into so that he would not have 
to register as an offender. Id. at 9, 21–23. Mr. Nickels 
replied that he understood. Id. at 9, 24. Outside of those 
two instances, the fact that Mr. Nickels would not have to 
register was not addressed at any other point during 
sentencing. The prosecutor did not address that Mr. 
Nickels would not have to register as an offender.6 The 
sentencing court did not acknowledge or specifically 
pronounce that Mr. Nickels would not have to register as 
a predatory offender or address registration in any way. 

 
6 At the beginning of the sentencing hearing, Mr. Nickels attorney 
recited the essence of the plea agreement, which is where it was first 
mentioned that the agreement was being entered so that Mr. Nickels 
would not have to register. The sentencing court asked the prosecutor 
if that was a fair recitation of the facts. The prosecution agreed. See 
Pln. Ex. 1, Sentencing Tr. at 2. 
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Plaintiff was first informed of his registration 
requirement in 1999, when the BCA contacted him to get 
him to register. If Plaintiff was promised that he would 
not have to register if he pled guilty, or was misinformed 
or misunderstood the plea agreement, his remedy was to 
seek withdrawal of the guilty plea. Plaintiff sought the 
withdrawal of the plea, which the Crow Wing County 
court denied. As such, Plaintiff cannot establish that there 
has been a violation of procedural due process here. 

Violations of Substantive Due Process 

Plaintiff also alleges that Defendant denied him his 
constitutional right to substantive due process. See U.S. 
Const. amend. XIV, § 1; Minn. Const. art. 1, § 7. 
Substantive due process requires plaintiffs to show that 
there was a government action that deprived them of a 
fundamental right and that a government official acted in 
a manner that shocked the conscience. In Boutin, the 
Minnesota Supreme Court held that the registration 
statute did not implicate a fundamental right and that the 
statute was rationally related to the legitimate state 
interest of solving crimes. Boutin, 591 N.W.2d at 716-20. 
Similarly, the Eighth Circuit also held in Gunderson v. 
Hvass that Minnesota’s registration statute is non-
punitive and rationally related to a legitimate government 
purpose. 339 F.3d 639 (8th Cir. 2003). 

Plaintiff cannot establish a violation of substantive 
due process here. Plaintiff argues that the registration 
requirement has interfered with his fundamental right to 
parent his child. Specifically, Plaintiff argues that a 
county human services agency could petition to terminate 
his rights at any point. Plaintiff asserts that in 2019 a 
petition has been brought to terminate his parental rights 
to his daughter. Mr. Nickels ultimately voluntarily chose 
to terminate his parental rights. Since Mr. Nickels has 
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voluntarily terminated his parental rights, Mr. Nickels 
has neither shown a fundamental right at stake, nor any 
governmental action that shocks the conscience. Mr. 
Nickels substantive due process violation claim is 
dismissed. 

Promissory Estoppel 

Promissory estoppel is an equitable doctrine that 
implies a contract in law where none exists in fact. 
Martens v. Minn. Min. & Mfg. Co., 616 N.W.2d 732, 746 
(Minn. 2000). To establish a claim for promissory estoppel, 
there must be: (1) a clear and definite promise; (2) the 
promisor intended to induce reliance and the promisee 
relied on the promise to his detriment; and (3) the promise 
must be enforced to prevent injustice. Id. Plaintiff asserts 
that the BCA promised to Mr. Nickels that if he pled 
guilty to an amended charge of criminal sexual conduct, 
he would not have to register as a predatory offender. Mr. 
Nickels relied on that promise when he entered into the 
plea agreement and is now seeking enforcement of that 
promise to prevent injustice to himself. 

Defendant argues that the BCA did not make a 
promise to Mr. Nickels. First, Defendant points to the fact 
that the BCA is not in privity with the prosecutor who 
made the charging decision. Second, even if there was 
privity, there was no clear and definite promise from the 
prosecutor. The Court agrees with Defendant that the 
BCA itself did not make a promise to Mr. Nickels. 
Furthermore, the Court has struggled to find where in the 
sentencing transcript, the prosecutor made a clear, 
definite statement that it promised to Mr. Nickels that he 
would not have to register as an offender. Specifically, the 
sentencing transcript does not contain any discussion 
from the prosecutor, or between defense counsel and the 
prosecutor, as to the alleged promise to not have Mr. 
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Nickels register as a predatory offender. Instead, only 
defense counsel addressed the alleged reasoning behind 
the plea agreement. As such, Plaintiff’s claim for 
promissory estoppel fails and should be dismissed. 

Bill of Attainder 

Plaintiff brings a claim that Minn. Stat. § 243.166 
constitutes an unconstitutional bill of attainder. Under 
both the United States and Minnesota Constitutions, no 
bill of attainder shall be passed. U.S. Const. art. I, § 9, cl. 
3; Minn. Const. art. 1, § 11. A bill of attainder is defined as 
“a law that legislatively determines guilt and inflicts 
punishment upon an identifiable individual without 
provision of the protections of a judicial trial.” Council of 
Indep. Tobacco Mfrs. of America v. State, 685 N.W.2d 
467, 474 (Minn. App. 2004). See also Nixon v. Adm’r of 
Gen. Servs., 433 U.S. 425, 468 (1984). To support a claim 
that a statute is a bill of attainder, plaintiff must show that 
the statute singles out an identifiable individual or group 
and punishes them without a judicial trial. Council of 
Indep. Tobacco Mfrs. of America, 685 N.W.2d at 474.  

Minnesota courts have determined that registration 
as a sex offender does not advance the traditional aims of 
punishment and is therefore not punitive. See State v. 
Manning, 532 N.W.2d 244, 248 (Minn. App. 1995). See 
also State v. Larson, No. A05-40, 2016 WL 618857, *4 
(Minn. App. Mar. 14, 2006). Minnesota’s predatory 
offender registration statute is not an unconstitutional bill 
of attainder. 

CONCLUSION 

For the reasons discussed above, Defendant’s Motion 
to Dismiss is granted, and Plaintiff’s Complaint is 
dismissed. Since the Court granted Defendant’s motion, 
the Court does not address Defendant’s Motion for 
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Summary Judgment. Plaintiff’s Motion for Summary 
Judgment is denied. 
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APPENDIX D 

STATE OF MINNESOTA 
COURT OF APPEALS 

 
JUDGMENT 

Jade Joseph Nickels, 
Appellant,         Appellate Court#A22-0729 
vs. Drew Evans, 
Superintendent, Bureau of     Trial Court#62-CV-21-728 
Criminal Apprehension, 
Respondent. 
 
 

Pursuant to a decision of the Minnesota Court of 
Appeals duly made and entered, it is determined and 
adjudged that the decision of the Ramsey County District 
Court, Civil Division herein appealed from be and the 
same hereby is affirmed and judgment is entered 
accordingly. 
 
 

Dated and signed: December 8, 2023 
 

FOR THE COURT 
 

Attest: Christa Rutherford-Block 
Clerk of the Appellate Courts 

 
 

By:  

Assistant Clerk 
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STATE OF MINNESOTA 
COURT OF APPEALS 

 
TRANSCRIPT OF JUDGMENT 

 
 

I, Christa Rutherford-Block, Clerk of the Appellate 
Courts, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a full and 
true copy of the Entry of Judgment in the cause therein 
entitled, as appears from the original record in my office; 
that I have carefully compared the within copy with said 
original and that the same is a correct transcript 
therefrom. 
 
 

Witness my signature at the Minnesota Judicial 
Center, 

 
In the City of St. Paul  December 8, 2023  

       Dated 
 
 

 
Attest: Christa Rutherford-Block 

Clerk of the Appellate Courts 
 
 

By:  

Assistant Clerk 
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APPENDIX E 

STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUPREME COURT 

A22-0729 

Jade Joseph Nickels, 

   Petitioner, 

 

vs. 

 

Drew Evans, Superintendent 
Bureau of Criminal Apprension, 

   Respondent. 

 

ORDER 

Based upon all the files, records and proceedings 
herein, 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the motion of Jade 
Joseph Nickels for leave to proceed in forma pauperis is 
granted. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the petition of 
Jade Joseph Nickels for further review is denied. 

Dated: November 28, 2023  BY THE COURT: 

 
 
G. Barry Anderson 
Associate Justice 

HUDSON, C.J., took no part in the consideration or 
decision of this case.
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APPENDIX F 

Amend. XIV. 
 
Section. 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United 
States and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens 
of the United States and of the State wherein they reside. 
No State shall make or enforce any law which shall 
abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the 
United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of 
life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor 
deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal 
protection of the laws. 
 
Section. 2. Representatives shall be apportioned among 
the several States according to their respective numbers, 
counting the whole number of persons in each State, 
excluding Indians not taxed. But when the right to vote at 
any election for the choice of electors for President and 
Vice President of the United States, Representatives in 
Congress, the Executive and Judicial officers of a State, 
or the members of the Legislature thereof, is denied to 
any of the male inhabitants of such State, being twenty-
one years of age, and citizens of the United States, or in 
any way abridged, except for participation in rebellion, or 
other crime, the basis of representation therein shall be 
reduced in the proportion which the number of such male 
citizens shall bear to the whole number of male citizens 
twenty-one years of age in such State. 
 
Section. 3. No person shall be a Senator or 
Representative in Congress, or elector of President and 
Vice President, or hold any office, civil or military, under 
the United States, or under any State, who, having 
previously taken an oath, as a member of Congress, or as 
an officer of the United States, or as a member of any 
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State legislature, or as an executive or judicial officer of 
any State, to support the Constitution of the United 
States, shall have engaged in insurrection or rebellion 
against the same, or given aid or comfort to the enemies 
thereof. But Congress may by a vote of two-thirds of each 
House, remove such disability. 
 
Section. 4. The validity of the public debt of the United 
States, authorized by law, including debts incurred for 
payment of pensions and bounties for services in 
suppressing insurrection or rebellion, shall not be 
questioned. But neither the United States nor any State 
shall assume or pay any debt or obligation incurred in aid 
of insurrection or rebellion against the United States, or 
any claim for the loss or emancipation of any slave; but all 
such debts, obligations and claims shall be held illegal and 
void. 
 
Section. 5. The Congress shall have power to enforce, by 
appropriate legislation, the provisions of this article. 
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APPENDIX G 

Section 1983 of Title 42, United States Code, provides: 
 
Every person who, under color of any statute, 
ordinance, regulation, custom , or usage, of any State 
or Territory or the District of Columbia, subjects or 
causes to be subjected, any citizen of the United 
States or other person within the jurisdiction thereof 
to the depivation of any rights, privileges, or 
immunities secured by the Constitution and laws, 
shall be liable to the party injured in an action at law, 
suit in equity, or other proper proceeding for redress, 
except that in any action brought against a judicial 
officer for an act or omission taken in such officer’s 
judicial capacity, injunctive relief shall not be granted 
unless a declaratory decree was violated or 
declaratory relief was unavailable. For the purposes 
of this section, any Act of Congress applicable 
exclusively to the District of Columbia shall be 
considered to be a statute of the District of Columbia. 
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APPENDIX H 

243.166 REGISTRATION OF PREDATORY 
OFFENDERS. 
 

Subdivision 1.[Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 3 s 31] 

Subd. 1a. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the 
following terms have the meanings given them. 

(b) "Bureau" means the Bureau of Criminal 
Apprehension. 

(c) "Corrections agent" means a county or state 
probation agent or other corrections employee. The term 
also includes United States Probation and Pretrial 
Services System employees who work with a person 
subject to this section. 

(d) "Dwelling" means the building where the person 
lives under a formal or informal agreement to do so. 
However, dwelling does not include a supervised publicly 
or privately operated shelter or facility designed to 
provide temporary living accommodations for homeless 
individuals as defined in section 116L.361, subdivision 5. 

(e) "Incarceration" and "confinement" do not include 
electronic home monitoring. 

(f) "Law enforcement authority" or "authority" means 
the chief of police of a home rule charter or statutory city 
and the county sheriff of an unincorporated area in that 
county. An authority must be located in Minnesota. 

(g) "Motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section 
169.011, subdivision 92. 

(h) "Primary address" means the mailing address of 
the person's dwelling. If the mailing address is different 
from the actual location of the dwelling, primary address 
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also includes the physical location of the dwelling 
described with as much specificity as possible. 

(i) "School" includes any public or private educational 
institution, including any secondary school, trade, or 
professional institution, or institution of higher education, 
that the person is enrolled in on a full-time or part-time 
basis. 

(j) "Secondary address" means the mailing address of 
any place where the person regularly or occasionally stays 
overnight when not staying at the person's primary 
address. If the mailing address is different from the actual 
location of the place, secondary address also includes the 
physical location of the place described with as much 
specificity as possible. However, the location of a 
supervised publicly or privately operated shelter or 
facility designated to provide temporary living 
accommodations for homeless individuals as defined in 
section 116L.361, subdivision 5, does not constitute a 
secondary address. 

(k) "Treatment facility" means a residential facility, as 
defined in section 244.052, subdivision 1, and residential 
substance use disorder treatment programs and halfway 
houses licensed under chapter 245A, including, but not 
limited to, those facilities directly or indirectly assisted by 
any department or agency of the United States. 

(l) "Work" includes employment that is full time or 
part time for a period of time exceeding 14 days or for an 
aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during any 
calendar year, whether financially compensated, 
volunteered, or for the purpose of government or 
educational benefit. 

Subd. 1b. Registration required. (a) A person shall 
register under this section if: 



68a 

 

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a 
felony violation of or attempt to violate, or aiding, 
abetting, or conspiracy to commit, any of the following, 
and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense 
or another offense arising out of the same set of 
circumstances: 

(i) murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a), 
clause (2); 

(ii) kidnapping under section 609.25; 

(iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 
609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451, subdivision 3, 
paragraph (b); or 609.3453; 

(iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, 
subdivision 3; or 

(v) surreptitious intrusion under the circumstances 
described in section 609.746, subdivision 1, paragraph (h); 

(2) the person was charged with or petitioned for a 
violation of, or attempt to violate, or aiding, abetting, or 
conspiring to commit any of the following and convicted of 
or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another 
offense arising out of the same set of circumstances: 

(i) criminal abuse in violation of section 609.2325, 
subdivision 1, paragraph (b); 

(ii) false imprisonment in violation of section 609.255, 
subdivision 2; 

(iii) solicitation, inducement, or promotion of the 
prostitution of a minor or engaging in the sex trafficking 
of a minor in violation of section 609.322; 

(iv) a prostitution offense in violation of section 
609.324, subdivision 1, paragraph (a); 

(v) soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct in 
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violation of section 609.352, subdivision 2 or 2a, clause (1); 

(vi) using a minor in a sexual performance in violation 
of section 617.246; or 

(vii) possessing pornographic work involving a minor 
in violation of section 617.247; 

(3) the person was sentenced as a patterned sex 
offender under section 609.3455, subdivision 3a; or 

(4) the person was charged with or petitioned for, 
including pursuant to a court martial, violating a law of 
the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military 
Justice, similar to an offense or involving similar 
circumstances to an offense described in clause (1), (2), or 
(3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that 
offense or another offense arising out of the same set of 
circumstances. 

(b) A person also shall register under this section if: 

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for an 
offense in another state similar to an offense or involving 
similar circumstances to an offense described in 
paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3), and convicted of or 
adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense 
arising out of the same set of circumstances; 

(2) the person enters this state to reside, work, or 
attend school, or enters this state and remains for 14 days 
or longer or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 30 
days during any calendar year; and 

(3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was 
released from confinement or, if the person was not 
confined, since the person was convicted of or adjudicated 
delinquent for the offense that triggers registration, 
unless the person is subject to a longer registration period 
under the laws of another state in which the person has 
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been convicted or adjudicated, or is subject to lifetime 
registration. 

If a person described in this paragraph is subject to a 
longer registration period in another state or is subject to 
lifetime registration, the person shall register for that 
time period regardless of when the person was released 
from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated delinquent. 

(c) A person also shall register under this section if 
the person was committed pursuant to a court 
commitment order under Minnesota Statutes 2012, 
section 253B.185, chapter 253D, Minnesota Statutes 1992, 
section 526.10, or a similar law of another state or the 
United States, regardless of whether the person was 
convicted of any offense. 

(d) A person also shall register under this section if: 

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a 
felony violation or attempt to violate any of the offenses 
listed in paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of 
another state or the United States, or the person was 
charged with or petitioned for a violation of any of the 
offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (2), or a similar law 
of another state or the United States; 

(2) the person was found not guilty by reason of 
mental illness or mental deficiency after a trial for that 
offense, or found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for 
that offense, in states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; 
and 

(3) the person was committed pursuant to a court 
commitment order under section 253B.18 or a similar law 
of another state or the United States. 

Subd. 2. Notice. When a person who is required to 
register under subdivision 1b, paragraph (a), is sentenced 
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or becomes subject to a juvenile court disposition order, 
the court shall tell the person of the duty to register under 
this section and that, if the person fails to comply with the 
registration requirements, information about the 
offender may be made available to the public through 
electronic, computerized, or other accessible means. The 
court may not modify the person's duty to register in the 
pronounced sentence or disposition order. The court shall 
require the person to read and sign a form stating that the 
duty of the person to register under this section has been 
explained. The court shall make available the signed court 
notification form, the complaint, and sentencing 
documents to the bureau. If a person required to register 
under subdivision 1b, paragraph (a), was not notified by 
the court of the registration requirement at the time of 
sentencing or disposition, the assigned corrections agent 
shall notify the person of the requirements of this section. 
If a person required to register under subdivision 1b, 
paragraph (a), was not notified by the court of the 
registration requirement at the time of sentencing or 
disposition and does not have a corrections agent, the law 
enforcement authority with jurisdiction over the person's 
primary address shall notify the person of the 
requirements. When a person who is required to register 
under subdivision 1b, paragraph (c) or (d), is released 
from commitment, the treatment facility shall notify the 
person of the requirements of this section. The treatment 
facility shall also obtain the registration information 
required under this section and forward it to the bureau. 

Subd. 3. Registration procedure. (a) Except as 
provided in subdivision 3a, a person required to register 
under this section shall register with the corrections 
agent as soon as the agent is assigned to the person. If the 
person does not have an assigned corrections agent or is 
unable to locate the assigned corrections agent, the 
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person shall register with the law enforcement authority 
that has jurisdiction in the area of the person's primary 
address. 

(b) Except as provided in subdivision 3a, at least five 
days before the person starts living at a new primary 
address, including living in another state, the person shall 
give written notice of the new primary address to the 
assigned corrections agent or to the law enforcement 
authority with which the person currently is registered. If 
the person will be living in a new state and that state has 
a registration requirement, the person shall also give 
written notice of the new address to the designated 
registration agency in the new state. A person required to 
register under this section shall also give written notice to 
the assigned corrections agent or to the law enforcement 
authority that has jurisdiction in the area of the person's 
primary address that the person is no longer living or 
staying at an address, immediately after the person is no 
longer living or staying at that address. The written notice 
required by this paragraph must be provided in person. 
The corrections agent or law enforcement authority shall, 
within two business days after receipt of this information, 
forward it to the bureau. The bureau shall, if it has not 
already been done, notify the law enforcement authority 
having primary jurisdiction in the community where the 
person will live of the new address. If the person is leaving 
the state, the bureau shall notify the registration 
authority in the new state of the new address. The 
person's registration requirements under this section are 
suspended after the person begins living in the new state 
and the bureau has confirmed the address in the other 
state through the annual verification process on at least 
one occasion. The person's registration requirements 
under this section are reactivated if the person resumes 
living in Minnesota and the registration time period 
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described in subdivision 6 has not expired. 

(c) A person required to register under subdivision 
1b, paragraph (b), because the person is working or 
attending school in Minnesota shall register with the law 
enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area 
where the person works or attends school. In addition to 
other information required by this section, the person 
shall provide the address of the school or of the location 
where the person is employed. A person shall comply with 
this paragraph within five days of beginning employment 
or school. A person's obligation to register under this 
paragraph terminates when the person is no longer 
working or attending school in Minnesota. 

(d) A person required to register under this section 
who works or attends school outside of Minnesota shall 
register as a predatory offender in the state where the 
person works or attends school. The person's corrections 
agent, or if the person does not have an assigned 
corrections agent, the law enforcement authority that has 
jurisdiction in the area of the person's primary address 
shall notify the person of this requirement. 

Subd. 3a. Registration procedure when person 
lacks primary address. (a) If a person leaves a primary 
address and does not have a new primary address, the 
person shall register with the law enforcement authority 
that has jurisdiction in the area where the person is 
staying within 24 hours of the time the person no longer 
has a primary address. 

(b) Notwithstanding the time period for registration 
in paragraphs (a) and (c), a person with a primary address 
of a correctional facility who is scheduled to be released 
from the facility and who does not have a new primary 
address shall register with the law enforcement authority 
that has jurisdiction in the area where the person will be 
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staying at least three days before the person is released 
from the correctional facility. 

(c) A person who lacks a primary address shall 
register with the law enforcement authority that has 
jurisdiction in the area where the person is staying within 
24 hours after entering the jurisdiction. Each time a 
person who lacks a primary address moves to a new 
jurisdiction without acquiring a new primary address, the 
person shall register with the law enforcement authority 
that has jurisdiction in the area where the person is 
staying within 24 hours after entering the jurisdiction. 

(d) Upon registering under this subdivision, the 
person shall provide the law enforcement authority with 
all of the information the individual is required to provide 
under subdivision 4a. However, instead of reporting much 
specificity as possible. 

(e) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (f), if 
a person continues to lack a primary address, the person 
shall report in person on a weekly basis to the law 
enforcement authority with jurisdiction in the area where 
the person is staying. This weekly report shall occur 
between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. The person 
is not required to provide the registration information 
required under subdivision 4a each time the offender 
reports to an authority, but the person shall inform the 
authority of changes to any information provided under 
this subdivision or subdivision 4a and shall otherwise 
comply with this subdivision. 

(f) If the law enforcement authority determines that 
it is impractical, due to the person's unique circumstances, 
to require a person lacking a primary address to report 
weekly and in person as required under paragraph (e), the 
authority may authorize the person to follow an 
alternative reporting procedure. The authority shall 
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consult with the person's corrections agent, if the person 
has one, in establishing the specific criteria of this 
alternative procedure, subject to the following 
requirements: 

(1) the authority shall document, in the person's 
registration record, the specific reasons why the weekly 
in-person reporting process is impractical for the person 
to follow; 

(2) the authority shall explain how the alternative 
reporting procedure furthers the public safety objectives 
of this section; 

(3) the authority shall require the person lacking a 
primary address to report in person at least monthly to 
the authority or the person's corrections agent and shall 
specify the location where the person shall report. If the 
authority determines it would be more practical and 
would further public safety for the person to report to 
another law enforcement authority with jurisdiction 
where the person is staying, it may, after consulting with 
the other law enforcement authority, include this 
requirement in the person's alternative reporting process; 

(4) the authority shall require the person to comply 
with the weekly, in-person reporting process required 
under paragraph (e), if the person moves to a new area 
where this process would be practical; 

(5) the authority shall require the person to report 
any changes to the registration information provided 
under subdivision 4a and to comply with the periodic 
registration requirements specified under paragraph (g); 
and 

(6) the authority shall require the person to comply 
with the requirements of subdivision 3, paragraphs (b) 
and (c), if the person moves to a primary address. 
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(g) If a person continues to lack a primary address 
and continues to report to the same law enforcement 
authority, the person shall provide the authority with all 
of the information the individual is required to provide 
under this subdivision and subdivision 4a at least 
annually, unless the person is required to register under 
subdivision 1b, paragraph (c), following commitment 
pursuant to a court commitment under Minnesota 
Statutes 2012, section 253B.185, chapter 253D, Minnesota 
Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a similar law of another 
state or the United States. If the person is required to 
register under subdivision 1b, paragraph (c), the person 
shall provide the law enforcement authority with all of the 
information the individual is required to report under this 
subdivision and subdivision 4a at least once every three 
months. 

(h) A law enforcement authority receiving 
information under this subdivision shall forward 
registration information and changes to that information 
to the bureau within two business days of receipt of the 
information. 

(i) For purposes of this subdivision, a person who fails 
to report a primary address will be deemed to be a person 
who lacks a primary address, and the person shall comply 
with the requirements for a person who lacks a primary 
address. 

Subd. 4. Contents of registration. (a) The 
registration provided to the corrections agent or law 
enforcement authority, must consist of a statement in 
writing signed by the person, giving information required 
by the bureau, fingerprints, biological specimen for DNA 
analysis as defined under section 299C.155, subdivision 1, 
and photograph of the person taken at the time of the 
person's release from incarceration or, if the person was 
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not incarcerated, at the time the person initially 
registered under this section. The registration 
information also must include a written consent form 
signed by the person allowing a treatment facility or 
residential housing unit or shelter to release information 
to a law enforcement officer about the person's admission 
to, or residence in, a treatment facility or residential 
housing unit or shelter. Registration information on 
adults and juveniles may be maintained together 
notwithstanding section 260B.171, subdivision 3. 

(b) For persons required to register under 
subdivision 1b, paragraph (c), following commitment 
pursuant to a court commitment under Minnesota 
Statutes 2012, section 253B.185, chapter 253D, Minnesota 
Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a similar law of another 
state or the United States, in addition to other information 
required by this section, the registration provided to the 
corrections agent or law enforcement authority must 
include the person's offense history and documentation of 
treatment received during the person's commitment. This 
documentation is limited to a statement of how far the 
person progressed in treatment during commitment. 

(c) Within three days of receipt, the corrections agent 
or law enforcement authority shall forward the 
registration information to the bureau. The bureau shall 
ascertain whether the person has registered with the law 
enforcement authority in the area of the person's primary 
address, if any, or if the person lacks a primary address, 
where the person is staying, as required by subdivision 3a. 
If the person has not registered with the law enforcement 
authority, the bureau shall notify that authority. 

(d) The corrections agent or law enforcement 
authority may require that a person required to register 
under this section appear before the agent or authority to 



78a 

 

be photographed. The agent or authority shall submit the 
photograph to the bureau. 

(1) Except as provided in clause (2), the agent or 
authority may photograph any offender at a time and 
frequency chosen by the agent or authority. 

(2) The requirements of this paragraph shall not 
apply during any period where the person to be 
photographed is: (i) committed to the commissioner of 
corrections and incarcerated, (ii) incarcerated in a 
regional jail or county jail, or (iii) committed to the 
commissioner of human services and receiving treatment 
in a secure treatment facility. 

(e) During the period a person is required to register 
under this section, the following provisions apply: 

(1) Except for persons registering under subdivision 
3a, the bureau shall mail a verification form to the person's 
last reported primary address. This verification form 
must provide notice to the offender that, if the offender 
does not return the verification form as required, 
information about the offender may be made available to 
the public through electronic, computerized, or other 
accessible means. For persons who are registered under 
subdivision 3a, the bureau shall mail an annual verification 
form to the law enforcement authority where the offender 
most recently reported. The authority shall provide the 
verification form to the person at the next weekly meeting 
and ensure that the person completes and signs the form 
and returns it to the bureau. Notice is sufficient under this 
paragraph if the verification form is sent by first class 
mail to the person's last reported primary address, or for 
persons registered under subdivision 3a, to the law 
enforcement authority where the offender most recently 
reported. 
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(2) The person shall mail the signed verification form 
back to the bureau within ten days after receipt of the 
form, stating on the form the current and last address of 
the person's residence and the other information required 
under subdivision 4a. 

(3) In addition to the requirements listed in this 
section, an offender who is no longer under correctional 
supervision for a registration offense, or a failure to 
register offense, but who resides, works, or attends school 
in Minnesota, shall have an in-person contact with a law 
enforcement authority as provided in this section. If the 
person resides in Minnesota, the in-person contact shall 
be with the law enforcement authority that has 
jurisdiction over the person's primary address or, if the 
person has no address, the location where the person is 
staying. If the person does not reside in Minnesota but 
works or attends school in this state, the person shall have 
an in-person contact with the law enforcement authority 
or authorities with jurisdiction over the person's school or 
workplace. During the month of the person's birth date, 
the person shall report to the authority to verify the 
accuracy of the registration information and to be 
photographed. Within three days of this contact, the 
authority shall enter information as required by the 
bureau into the predatory offender registration database 
and submit an updated photograph of the person to the 
bureau's predatory offender registration unit. 

(4) If the person fails to mail the completed and 
signed verification form to the bureau within ten days 
after receipt of the form, or if the person fails to report to 
the law enforcement authority during the month of the 
person's birth date, the person is in violation of this 
section. 

(5) For any person who fails to mail the completed 
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and signed verification form to the bureau within ten days 
after receipt of the form and who has been determined to 
be subject to community notification pursuant to section 
253D.32 or is a risk level III offender under section 
244.052, the bureau shall immediately investigate and 
notify local law enforcement authorities to investigate the 
person's location and to ensure compliance with this 
section. The bureau also shall immediately give notice of 
the person's violation of this section to the law 
enforcement authority having jurisdiction over the 
person's last registered primary address. 

For persons required to register under subdivision 
1b, paragraph (c), following commitment pursuant to a 
court commitment under Minnesota Statutes 2012, 
section 253B.185, chapter 253D, Minnesota Statutes 1992, 
section 526.10, or a similar law of another state or the 
United States, the bureau shall comply with clause (1) at 
least two times each year. For persons who, under section 
244.052, are assigned to risk level III and who are no 
longer under correctional supervision for a registration 
offense or a failure to register offense, the bureau shall 
comply with clause (1) at least two times each year. For 
all other persons required to register under this section, 
the bureau shall comply with clause (1) each year within 
30 days of the anniversary date of the person's initial 
registration. 

(f) For persons registered under this section on July 
1, 2019, each person, on or before one year from that date, 
must provide a biological specimen for the purpose of 
DNA analysis to the probation agency or law enforcement 
authority where that person is registered. A person who 
provides or has provided a biological specimen for the 
purpose of DNA analysis under chapter 299C or section 
609.117 meets the requirements of this paragraph. 
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(g) For persons registered under this section on July 
1, 2019, each person, on or before one year from that date, 
must provide fingerprints to the probation agency or law 
enforcement authority where that person is registered. 

Subd. 4a. Information required to be provided. (a) 
A person required to register under this section shall 
provide to the corrections agent or law enforcement 
authority the following information: 

(1) the person's primary address; 

(2) all of the person's secondary addresses in 
Minnesota, including all addresses used for residential or 
recreational purposes; 

(3) the addresses of all Minnesota property owned, 
leased, or rented by the person; 

(4) the addresses of all locations where the person is 
employed; 

(5) the addresses of all schools where the person is 
enrolled; 

(6) the year, model, make, license plate number, and 
color of all motor vehicles owned or regularly driven by 
the person; 

(7) the expiration year for the motor vehicle license 
plate tabs of all motor vehicles owned by the person; and 

(8) all telephone numbers including work, school, and 
home and any cellular telephone service. 

(b) The person shall report to the agent or authority 
the information required to be provided under paragraph 
(a), clauses (2) to (8), within five days of the date the clause 
becomes applicable. If because of a change in 
circumstances any information reported under paragraph 
(a), clauses (1) to (8), no longer applies, the person shall 
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immediately inform the agent or authority that the 
information is no longer valid. If the person leaves a 
primary address and does not have a new primary 
address, the person shall register as provided in 
subdivision 3a. 

Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) 
For the purposes of this subdivision: 

(1) "health care facility" means a facility: 

(i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a 
hospital, boarding care home or supervised living facility 
under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under 
chapter 144A; 

(ii) licensed by the commissioner of health as an 
assisted living facility as defined in section 144G.01; or 

(iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services 
as a residential facility under chapter 245A to provide 
adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, 
substance use disorder treatment to adults, or residential 
services to persons with disabilities; 

(2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in 
section 144A.43; and 

(3) "hospice provider" has the meaning given in 
section 144A.75. 

(b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home 
care services from a home care provider or hospice 
services from a hospice provider, a person required to 
register under this section shall disclose to: 

(1) the health care facility employee or the home care 
provider or hospice provider processing the admission the 
person's status as a registered predatory offender under 
this section; and 
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(2) the person's corrections agent, or if the person 
does not have an assigned corrections agent, the law 
enforcement authority with whom the person is currently 
required to register, that admission will occur. 

(c) A law enforcement authority or corrections agent 
who receives notice under paragraph (b) or who knows 
that a person required to register under this section is 
planning to be admitted and receive, or has been admitted 
and is receiving health care at a health care facility or 
home care services from a home care provider or hospice 
services from a hospice provider, shall notify the 
administrator of the facility or the home care provider or 
the hospice provider and deliver a fact sheet to the 
administrator or provider containing the following 
information: (1) name and physical description of the 
offender; (2) the offender's conviction history, including 
the dates of conviction; (3) the risk level classification 
assigned to the offender under section 244.052, if any; and 
(4) the profile of likely victims. 

(d) Except for a hospital licensed under sections 
144.50 to 144.58, if a health care facility receives a fact 
sheet under paragraph (c) that includes a risk level 
classification for the offender, and if the facility admits the 
offender, the facility shall distribute the fact sheet to all 
residents at the facility. If the facility determines that 
distribution to a resident is not appropriate given the 
resident's medical, emotional, or mental status, the facility 
shall distribute the fact sheet to the patient's next of kin 
or emergency contact. 

(e) If a home care provider or hospice provider 
receives a fact sheet under paragraph (c) that includes a 
risk level classification for the offender, the provider shall 
distribute the fact sheet to any individual who will provide 
direct services to the offender before the individual begins 
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to provide the service. 

Subd. 4c. Notices in writing; signed. All notices 
required by this section must be in writing and signed by 
the person required to register. For purposes of this 
section, a signature is as defined in section 645.44, 
subdivision 14, by an electronic method established by the 
bureau, or by use of a biometric for the person. If a 
biometric is used, the person must provide a sample that 
is forwarded to the bureau so that it can be maintained for 
comparison purposes to verify the person's identity. The 
bureau shall determine the signature methods available 
for use and post this determination on the bureau's 
website. 

Subd. 5. Criminal penalty. (a) A person required to 
register under this section who was given notice, knows, 
or reasonably should know of the duty to register and 
who: 

(1) knowingly commits an act or fails to fulfill a 
requirement that violates any provision of this section; 

(2) intentionally provides false information to a 
corrections agent, law enforcement authority, or the 
bureau is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to 
imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment 
of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both. 

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), a person 
convicted of violating paragraph (a) shall be committed to 
the custody of the commissioner of corrections for not less 
than a year and a day, nor more than five years. 

(c) A person convicted of violating paragraph (a), who 
has previously been convicted of or adjudicated 
delinquent for violating this section or a similar statute of 
another state or the United States, shall be committed to 
the custody of the commissioner of corrections for not less 
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than two years, nor more than five years. 

(d) Prior to the time of sentencing, the prosecutor 
may file a motion to have the person sentenced without 
regard to the mandatory minimum sentence established 
by this subdivision. The motion must be accompanied by 
a statement on the record of the reasons for it. When 
presented with the motion, or on its own motion, the court 
may sentence the person without regard to the mandatory 
minimum sentence if the court finds substantial and 
compelling reasons to do so. Sentencing a person in the 
manner described in this paragraph is a departure from 
the Sentencing Guidelines. 

(e) A person convicted and sentenced as required by 
this subdivision is not eligible for probation, parole, 
discharge, work release, conditional release, or 
supervised release, until that person has served the full 
term of imprisonment as provided by law, 
notwithstanding the provisions of sections 241.26, 242.19, 
243.05, 244.04, 609.12, and 609.135. 

Subd. 5a. Ten-year conditional release for 
violations committed by level III offenders. 
Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence 
otherwise applicable to the offense or any provision of the 
sentencing guidelines, when a court commits a person to 
the custody of the commissioner of corrections for 
violating subdivision 5 and, at the time of the violation, the 
person was assigned to risk level III under section 
244.052, the court shall provide that after the person has 
been released from prison, the commissioner shall place 
the person on conditional release for ten years. The terms 
of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455, 
subdivision 8. 

Subd. 6. Registration period. (a) Notwithstanding 
the provisions of section 609.165, subdivision 1, and except 
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as provided in paragraphs (b), (c), and (d), a person 
required to register under this section shall continue to 
comply with this section until ten years have elapsed since 
the person initially registered in connection with the 
offense, or until the probation, supervised release, or 
conditional release period expires, whichever occurs later. 
For a person required to register under this section who 
is committed under section 253B.18, Minnesota Statutes 
2012, section 253B.185, or chapter 253D, the ten-year 
registration period does not include the period of 
commitment. 

(b) If a person required to register under this section 
fails to provide the person's primary address as required 
by subdivision 3, paragraph (b), fails to comply with the 
requirements of subdivision 3a, fails to provide 
information as required by subdivision 4a, or fails to 
return the verification form referenced in subdivision 4 
within ten days, the commissioner of public safety shall 
require the person to continue to register for an additional 
period of five years. This five-year period is added to the 
end of the offender's registration period. 

(c) If a person required to register under this section 
is incarcerated due to a conviction for a new offense or 
following a revocation of probation, supervised release, or 
conditional release for any offense, the person shall 
continue to register until ten years have elapsed since the 
person was last released from incarceration or until the 
person's probation, supervised release, or conditional 
release period expires, whichever occurs later. 

(d) A person shall continue to comply with this section 
for the life of that person: 

(1) if the person is convicted of or adjudicated 
delinquent for any offense for which registration is 
required under subdivision 1b, or any offense from 
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another state or any federal offense similar to the offenses 
described in subdivision 1b, and the person has a prior 
conviction or adjudication for an offense for which 
registration was or would have been required under 
subdivision 1b, or an offense from another state or a 
federal offense similar to an offense described in 
subdivision 1b; 

(2) if the person is required to register based upon a 
conviction or delinquency adjudication for an offense 
under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (2), or a 
similar statute from another state or the United States; 

(3) if the person is required to register based upon a 
conviction for an offense under section 609.342, 
subdivision 1, clause (a) to (c) or (e), or subdivision 1a, 
clause (a) to (e) or (h); 609.343, subdivision 1, clause (a) to 
(c) or (e), or subdivision 1a, clause (a) to (e) or (h); 609.344, 
subdivision 1, clause (a) or (c), or subdivision 1a, clause (a), 
(c), (g), or (h); or 609.345, subdivision 1, clause (a) or (c), 
or subdivision 1a, clause (a), (c), (g), or (h); or a statute 
from another state or the United States similar to the 
offenses described in this clause; or 

(4) if the person is required to register under 
subdivision 1b, paragraph (c), following commitment 
pursuant to a court commitment under Minnesota 
Statutes 2012, section 253B.185, chapter 253D, Minnesota 
Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a similar law of another 
state or the United States. 

(e) A person described in subdivision 1b, paragraph 
(b), who is required to register under the laws of a state in 
which the person has been previously convicted or 
adjudicated delinquent, shall register under this section 
for the time period required by the state of conviction or 
adjudication unless a longer time period is required 
elsewhere in this section. 



88a 

 

Subd. 7. Use of data. (a) Except as otherwise 
provided in subdivision 4b or 7a or sections 244.052 and 
299C.093, the data provided under this section is private 
data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12. 

(b) The data may be used only by law enforcement 
and corrections agencies for law enforcement and 
corrections purposes. Law enforcement or a corrections 
agent may disclose the status of an individual as a 
predatory offender to a child protection worker with a 
local welfare agency for purposes of doing a family 
assessment under chapter 260E. A corrections agent may 
also disclose the status of an individual as a predatory 
offender to comply with section 244.057. 

(c) The commissioner of human services is authorized 
to have access to the data for: 

(1) state-operated services, as defined in section 
246.014, for the purposes described in section 246.13, 
subdivision 2, paragraph (b); and 

(2) purposes of completing background studies under 
chapter 245C. 

Subd. 7a. Availability of information on offenders 
who are out of compliance with registration law. (a) 
The bureau may make information available to the public 
about offenders who are 16 years of age or older and who 
are out of compliance with this section for 30 days or 
longer for failure to provide the offenders' primary or 
secondary addresses. This information may be made 
available to the public through electronic, computerized, 
or other accessible means. The amount and type of 
information made available is limited to the information 
necessary for the public to assist law enforcement in 
locating the offender. 

(b) An offender who comes into compliance with this 
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section after the bureau discloses information about the 
offender to the public may send a written request to the 
bureau requesting the bureau to treat information about 
the offender as private data, consistent with subdivision 7. 
The bureau shall review the request and promptly take 
reasonable action to treat the data as private, if the 
offender has complied with the requirement that the 
offender provide the offender's primary and secondary 
addresses, or promptly notify the offender that the 
information will continue to be treated as public 
information and the reasons for the bureau's decision. 

(c) If an offender believes the information made 
public about the offender is inaccurate or incomplete, the 
offender may challenge the data under section 13.04, 
subdivision 4. 

(d) The bureau is immune from any civil or criminal 
liability that might otherwise arise, based on the accuracy 
or completeness of any information made public under 
this subdivision, if the bureau acts in good faith. 

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 3 s 31] 

Subd. 9. Offenders from other states. (a) When the 
state accepts an offender from another state under a 
reciprocal agreement under the interstate compact 
authorized by section 243.1605, or under any authorized 
interstate agreement, the acceptance is conditional on the 
offender agreeing to register under this section when the 
offender is living in Minnesota. 

(b) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall notify 
the commissioner of corrections: 

(1) when the bureau receives notice from a local law 
enforcement authority that a person from another state 
who is subject to this section has registered with the 
authority, unless the bureau previously received 
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information about the offender from the commissioner of 
corrections; 

(2) when a registration authority, corrections agent, 
or law enforcement agency in another state notifies the 
bureau that a person from another state who is subject to 
this section is moving to Minnesota; and 

(3) when the bureau learns that a person from 
another state is in Minnesota and allegedly in violation of 
subdivision 5 for failure to register. 

(c) When a local law enforcement agency notifies the 
bureau of an out-of-state offender's registration, the 
agency shall provide the bureau with information on 
whether the person is subject to community notification 
in another state and the risk level the person was 
assigned, if any. 

(d) The bureau must forward all information it 
receives regarding offenders covered under this 
subdivision from sources other than the commissioner of 
corrections to the commissioner. 

(e) When the bureau receives information directly 
from a registration authority, corrections agent, or law 
enforcement agency in another state that a person who 
may be subject to this section is moving to Minnesota, the 
bureau must ask whether the person entering the state is 
subject to community notification in another state and the 
risk level the person has been assigned, if any. 

(f) When the bureau learns that a person subject to 
this section intends to move into Minnesota from another 
state or has moved into Minnesota from another state, the 
bureau shall notify the law enforcement authority with 
jurisdiction in the area of the person's primary address 
and provide all information concerning the person that is 
available to the bureau. 



91a 

 

(g) The commissioner of corrections must determine 
the parole, supervised release, or conditional release 
status of persons who are referred to the commissioner 
under this subdivision. If the commissioner determines 
that a person is subject to parole, supervised release, or 
conditional release in another state and is not registered 
in Minnesota under the applicable interstate compact, the 
commissioner shall inform the local law enforcement 
agency that the person is in violation of section 243.161. If 
the person is not subject to supervised release, the 
commissioner shall notify the bureau and the local law 
enforcement agency of the person's status. 

Subd. 10. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 8 art 9 s 8] 

Subd. 10. Venue; aggregation. (a) A violation of this 
section may be prosecuted in any jurisdiction where an 
offense takes place. However, the prosecutorial agency in 
the jurisdiction where the person last registered a 
primary address is initially responsible to review the case 
for prosecution. 

(b) When a person commits two or more offenses in 
two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted for 
all of the offenses in any county in which one of the 
offenses was committed. 

Subd. 11. Certified copies as evidence. Certified 
copies of predatory offender registration records are 
admissible as substantive evidence when necessary to 
prove the commission of a violation of this section. 
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APPENDIX I 

Filed in District Court 
State of Minnesota 
2/12/2021 3:12 PM 

STATE OF MINNESOTA          IN DISTRICT COURT 

COUNTY OF RAMSEY              SECOND JUDICICAL 
DISTRICT 
Case type: § 1983 

_________________________________________________ 

Jade Joseph Nickels, 

COMPLAINT 

   Plaintiff, 

 vs. 

Court file No. 

Drew Evans, Superintendent, 
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, 

 

   Defendant. 

_________________________________________________ 

 

Plaintiff Jade Joseph Nickels, by and through his 
attorneys, Legal Assistance to Minnesota Prisoners 
(LAMP), states the following: 

INTRODUCTION 

1. This is a civil action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983 
against Drew Evans, the Superintendent of the 
Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA). The 
claim arises from the Defendant’s determination that the 
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Plaintiff must register as a predatory offender even 
though Plaintiff was never convicted of a predatory 
offense and the State agreed that he would not have to 
register as a predatory offender. Forcing Plaintiff to 
register has harmed Plaintiff in many ways, including 
preventing him from accessing state provided housing for 
the homeless, making it more difficult to secure a job, and 
reintegrating into the community. The Defendant’s 
actions have violated: (1) Plaintiff’s constitutional right to 
substantive and procedural due process; (2) the doctrine 
against collateral estoppel; and (3) the right to be 
protected against unconstitutional bills of attainder. 

PARTIES 

2. Plaintiff Jade Joseph Nickels is a citizen of the 
State of Minnesota. 

3. Defendant Drew Evans is the Superintendent of 
the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. 

FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS 

5. In 1998, the State charged Nickels with 1st Degree 
Criminal Sex Conduct, and 5th Degree Possession of 
Schedule 1,2,3,4, - Not Small Amount Marijuana. 

6. The parties reached an agreement whereby the 
State agreed to reduce the 1st Degree Criminal Sexual 
Conduct charge to 5th Degree Gross-Misdemeanor 
Criminal Sexual Conduct in return for Nickels’s 
agreement to plead guilty to 5th Degree Possession and 
5th Degree Gross-Misdemeanor Criminal Sexual 
Conduct. 

7. Nickels eventually entered an Alford plea to fifth 
degree possession and gross misdemeanor Criminal 
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Sexual Conduct in the 5th Degree. Nickels was sentenced 
to an executed prison sentence of seventeen months. 

8. Nickels was not convicted of a felony predatory 
offense and was told during plea negotiations that if he 
pled to the gross misdemeanor criminal sexual conduct 
crime that he would not need to register as a predatory 
offender. 

9. Defendant subsequently determined that Nickels 
was required to register as a predatory offender pursuant 
to Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 1b (a)(1)(iii). The Defendant 
has extended the registration requirement since Nickels 
was originally required to register. 

10. The registration requirement has caused Nickels 
undue hardship Forcing Plaintiff to register has harmed 
Plaintiff in many ways, including preventing him from 
accessing state provided housing for the homeless, 
making it more difficult to secure a job, and reintegrating 
into the community. 

CLAIMS 

CAUSE OF ACTION COUNT 1, PROCEDURAL DUE 
PROCESS VIOLATION 

11. Plaintiff incorporates by reference all of the above 
paragraphs of this Complaint as though fully stated 
herein. 

12. The Defendant, acting under color of state law, 
violated Plaintiff’s right to procedural due process under 
the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the United 
States Constitution and Article I § 7 of the Minnesota 
Constitution by determining that he is required to 
register as a predatory offender based on a dismissed 
charge without providing him any sort of process to 
challenge the dismissed charge and by not making an 
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individualized determination that the purpose of the 
statute is served by requiring Plaintiff to register based 
upon a dismissed charge. 

COUNT 2, SUBSTANTIVE DUE PROCESS 

VIOLATION 

13. Plaintiff incorporates by reference all of the above 
paragraphs of this Complaint as though fully stated 
herein. 

14. The Defendant violated Plaintiff’s right to 
substantive due process under the Fifth and Fourteenth 
Amendments of the United States Constitution and 
Article I § 7 of the Minnesota Constitution by determining 
that Nickels is required to register as a predatory 
offender when he did not commit a predatory offense and 
by not making an individualized determination that the 
purpose of the statute is served by requiring Plaintiff to 
register based upon a dismissed charge. 

COUNT 3, COLLATERAL ESTOPPEL 

18. Plaintiff incorporates by reference the above 
paragraphs of this Complaint as though fully stated 
herein. 

19. The Defendant and his agents are estopped from 
requiring Plaintiff to register as predatory offender 
because the State agreed during the criminal process that 
Plaintiff would not have to register as a predatory 
offender. 

COUNT 4, BILL OF ATTAINDER 

21. Plaintiff incorporates by reference the above 
paragraphs of this Complaint as though fully stated 
herein. 

22. Minnesota Statute § 243.166 violates the 
prohibition on unconstitutional bills of attainder 
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mandated by Article 1, § 9 of the United States 
Constitution and Article 1, § 11 of the Minnesota 
Constitution by requiring all persons who have been 
charged, but not convicted, of a predatory offense to 
register as predatory offenders 

RELIEF REQUESTED 

Wherefore, Plaintiff prays that this Court grand 
judgment providing the following relief:  

A. Preliminary and permanent injunctive relief 
enjoining the Defendant and his agents from requiring 
Nickels to register as a predatory offender. 

B. Direct Defendant to remove Plaintiff from the 
predatory offender registry. 

C. Declare that Minn. Stat. § 243.166 as applied to 
Plaintiff is unconstitutional. 

D. For costs, disbursements, expert witness fees, and 
reasonable attorney’s fees in accordance with 42 U.S.C. § 
1988. 

E. For all other legal and equitable relief that the 
court deems appropriate under the circumstances. 

 

Dated: February 8, 2021 Respectfully submitted, 

LEGAL ASSISTANCE TO 
MN PRISONERS 

/s/ Bradford Colbert 
Bradford Colbert 
License No. 166790 

 

/s/ Maleah Otterson 
Maleah Otterson 
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Certified Student Attorney, 
LAMP 
875 Summit Avenue, Room 
254 
St. Paul, MN 55105 
(507) 340-8378 

 

ACKNOWLEDGMENT 

The undersigned acknowledges that sanctions may 
be imposed pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 549.211. 

 

Dated: February 8, 2021 /s/ Bradford Colbert 
Bradford Colbert 


