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Before: Alex Kozinski, M. Margaret McKeown
and Paul J. Watford, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Kozinski
SUMMARY"
Civil Rights

The panel reversed the district court’s dismissal of
an action brought under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 alleging that
Los Angeles police officers violated plaintiff’s Fourth
Amendment rights when they impounded her vehicle
for 30 days pursuant to California Vehicle Code section
14602.6(a)(1), which authorizes impounding a vehicle
when the driver has a suspended license.

Plaintiff loaned her vehicle to her brother-in-law,
who was stopped by police officers and discovered to be
driving without a license. When plaintiff, who had a
valid driver’s license, attempted to recover her vehicle,
the Los Angeles Police Department refused to release
the vehicle before the 30-day holding period had
elapsed.

The panel held that the 30-day impound of
plaintiff’s vehicle constituted a seizure that required
compliance with the Fourth Amendment. The panel
held that the exigency that justified the initial seizure
vanished once the vehicle arrived in impound and
plaintiff showed up with proof of ownership and a valid
driver’s license. The panel concluded that appellees
provided no justification for the continued impound of
plaintiff’s vehicle.

" This summary constitutes no part of the opinion of the court. It
has been prepared by court staff for the convenience of the reader.
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OPINION
KOZINSKI, Circuit Judge:

We consider whether a 30-day impound of a vehicle
is a “seizure” requiring compliance with the Fourth
Amendment.

BACKGROUND

Lamya Brewster loaned her vehicle to Yonnie Percy,
her brother-in-law. Percy was stopped by Los Angeles
Police Department (LAPD) officers who learned that
Percy’s driver’s license was suspended. The officers
then seized the vehicle under California Vehicle Code
section 14602.6(a)(1), which authorizes impounding a
vehicle when the driver has a suspended license.
Vehicles seized under this section must generally be
held in impound for 30 days. Cal. Veh. Code.
§ 14602.6(a)(1).

Three days later, Brewster appeared at a hearing
before the LAPD with proofthat she was the registered
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owner of the vehicle and her valid California driver’s
license. Brewster offered to pay all towing and storage
fees that had accrued, but the LAPD refused to release
the vehicle before the 30-day holding period had
lapsed.’

Brewster filed a class action lawsuit under 42
U.S.C. § 1983 on behalf of all vehicle owners whose
vehicles were subjected to the 30-day impound. The
complaint alleges that the 30-day impound is a
warrantless seizure that violates the Fourth
Amendment. The district court concluded that the 30-
day impound is a valid administrative penalty and
granted appellees’ motion to dismiss.

DISCUSSION

Section 14602.6(a)(1) of the California Vehicle Code
authorizes police to seize a vehicle when the driver’s
license has been suspended. “A vehicle so impounded
shall be impounded for 30 days.” Id. Within two
business days of impoundment, the agency that seizes
the vehicle must notify the vehicle’s owner and provide
an “opportunity for a storage hearing to determine the
validity of, or consider any mitigating circumstances
attendant to, the storage.” Id. § 14602.6(a)(2), (b). The
LAPD’s “Impound Policy” mirrors section 14602.6.

! Ten days after the impound, the LAPD released the vehicle to
Superior Auto, the lien holder and legal owner of the vehicle. But,
under LAPD policy, Superior Auto had to “ensure that no one,
including the registered owner . . . will have access to the . . .
vehicle during the remainder of the 30-day impoundment period.”
Accordingly, Brewster was deprived of her vehicle for the full 30
days.
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The district court found that “the thirty-day
impoundment period—designed to deter unlicensed
drivers or drivers with a suspended license from
driving—is an administrative penalty, and thus not
unconstitutional under the Fourth Amendment.” But
this is the wrong inquiry. Whether the seizure is a
valid penalty or forfeiture under the Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments is an interesting question but
not one that is raised in this case. Plaintiff claims only
that the 30-day impound violates the Fourth
Amendment.”

The Fourth Amendment protects against
unreasonable searches and seizures. U.S. Const.
amend. IV. A seizure is a “meaningful interference with
an individual’s possessory interests in [his] property.”
Soldal v. Cook County, 506 U.S. 56, 61 (1992) (internal
quotation marks and citation omitted). “A seizure
conducted without a warrant is per se unreasonable
under the Fourth Amendment—subject only to a few
specifically established and well delineated exceptions.”
United States v. Hawkins, 249 F.3d 867, 872 (9th Cir.
2001) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted).

It’s well established that “a seizure lawful at its
inception can nevertheless violate the Fourth
Amendment because its manner of execution

2 We express no view as to whether the 30-day impound is a valid
administrative penalty under the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments. See Lee v. City of Chicago, 330 F.3d 456, 474 (7th
Cir. 2003) (Wood, J., concurring) (suggesting that a prolonged
impound of a vehicle may be an unconstitutional taking under the
Fifth Amendment). On remand, Brewster shall be given leave to
amend the complaint to include any additional claims she may
choose to bring.
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unreasonably infringes possessory interests.” United
States v. Jacobsen, 466 U.S. 109, 124 & n.25 (1984)
(citing United States v. Place, 462 U.S. 696, 707-10
(1983)). For example, in United States v. Dass, officers
validly seized packages that they suspected contained
marijuana. 849 F.2d 414, 414-15 (9th Cir. 1988). But
we held that the length of the warrantless seizures—in
that case, between seven to twenty-three days—
violated the Fourth Amendment. Id.

The parties agree that the LAPD could
impound—and, therefore, seize—Brewster’s vehicle
under section 14602.6(a)(1) pursuant to the community
caretaking exception to the Fourth Amendment. See
United States v. Cervantes, 703 F.3d 1135, 1141 (9th
Cir. 2012) (discussing the community caretaking
exception). But this exception is available only to
“impound vehicles that jeopardize public safety and the
efficient movement of vehicular traffic.” Id. (internal
quotation marks and citation omitted). The exigency
that justified the seizure vanished once the vehicle
arrived in impound and Brewster showed up with proof
of ownership and a valid driver’s license. The question
we must consider is whether the Fourth Amendment
required further authorization for the LAPD to hold the
vehicle for 30 days.

We have no cases on point, but Judge Henderson of
the Northern District of California has addressed the
matter in a thorough and well-reasoned opinion, which
we find persuasive. See Sandoval v. County of Sonoma,
72 F. Supp. 3d 997 (N.D. Cal. 2014).

Because a 30-day impound is a “meaningful
interference with an individual’s possessory interests
in [his] property,” Soldal, 506 U.S. at 61 (internal
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quotation marks and citation omitted), the Fourth
Amendment is implicated when a vehicle is impounded
under section 14602.6(a). The district court found that
such a seizure doesn’t present a Fourth Amendment
problem because “the state has an important interest
in . . . keeping unlicensed drivers from driving
illegally.” But that is beside the point. The Fourth
Amendment “is implicated by a delay in returning the
property, whether the property was seized for a
criminal investigation, to protect the public, or to
punish the individual.” Sandoval, 72 F. Supp. 3d at
1004.

The Fourth Amendment doesn’t become irrelevant
once an initial seizure has run its course. See Jacobsen,
466 U.S. at 124 & n.25; Lavan v. City of Los Angeles,
693 F.3d 1022, 1030 (9th Cir. 2012); see also Manuel v.
City of Joliet, 137 S. Ct. 911, 914, 920 (2017) (holding
that the Fourth Amendment governed the entirety of
plaintiff's 48-day detention). A seizure is justified
under the Fourth Amendment only to the extent that
the government’s justification holds force. Thereafter,
the government must cease the seizure or secure a new
justification. Appellees have provided no justification
here.

The only other circuit to address this specific issue
is the Seventh. See Lee, 330 F.3d at 466. There, the
City of Chicago seized Lee’s vehicle for evidentiary
purposes but failed to return it when it was no longer
needed. Id. at 458-59. The parties agreed that the
initial seizure of the vehicle was reasonable. Id. at 460.
But Lee argued that “the continued possession of the
property by the government became a meaningful
interference with his possessory interest and, thus,
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must be interpreted as a Fourth Amendment seizure.”
Id. (emphasis added). The Seventh Circuit disagreed,
holding that “[olnce an individual has been
meaningfully dispossessed, the seizure of the property
is complete, and once justified by probable cause, that
seizure is reasonable.” Id. at 466. Reasoning that “Lee’s
car was seized when it was impounded,” the Seventh
Circuit concluded that the City’s continued possession
of the vehicle “neither continued the initial seizure nor
began another.” Id.

To arrive at its conclusion, the Seventh Circuit
distinguished United States v. Place. Law enforcement
agents seized Place’s luggage on suspicion that he
might be carrying narcotics. 462 U.S. at 699. “There
[was] no doubt that the agents made a ‘seizure’ of
Place’s luggage for purposes of the Fourth Amendment
when . .. the agent told Place that he was going to take
the luggage to a federal judge to secure issuance of a
warrant.” Id. at 707. But it wasn’t this initial seizure
that concerned the Supreme Court. Rather, it was the
“90-minute detention of [Place’s] luggage [that was]
sufficient to render the seizure unreasonable.” Id. at
710. We are unpersuaded by the Seventh Circuit’s
conclusion that Place “deallt] only with the
transformation of a momentary, investigative detention
into a seizure” and “has no application after probable
cause to seize has been established.” Lee, 330 F.3d at
464.

ok ook

The 30-day impound of Brewster’s vehicle
constituted a seizure that required compliance with the
Fourth Amendment. Appellees argue that this result
frustrates the state legislature’s intent to impose a
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penalty on unlicensed drivers. We have no occasion to
decide whether this objective is lawful. See supra p. 5
n.2. The police could impound a vehicle under section
22651(p), which authorizes impoundment when the
driver doesn’t have a valid license. See Cal. Veh. Code
§ 22651(p). Section 22651(p) doesn’t have a mandatory
30-day hold period, thus avoiding the Fourth
Amendment problem presented by section 14602.6(a).

REVERSED.



App. 10

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Case No. EDCV 14-2257-JGB (Spx)
[Filed March 19, 2015]

LAMYA BREWSTER
Plaintiff,

V.

CITY OF LOS ANGELES, LOS ANGELES
POLICE DEPARTMENT, CHIEF
CHARLIE BECK, DOES 1-10

Defendants.

R N N N N

JUDGMENT

TO ALL PARTIES AND THEIR ATTORNEYS OF
RECORD:

Pursuant to the Order filed herewith, IT IS
ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that Plaintiff’s
Complaint is DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE. The
Court orders that such judgment be entered.

Dated: March 19, 2015
/s/

Jesus G. Bernal
United States District Judge
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APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA
CIVIL MINUTES—GENERAL

Case No. EDCV 14-2257-JGB (SPx)
[Filed February 27, 2015]

Lamya Brewster )
)

V. )

)

City of Los Angeles, et al. )

)

Present: The Honorable JESUS G. BERNAL,
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

MAYNOR GALVEZ
Deputy Clerk

Not Reported
Court Reporter

Attorney(s) Present for Plaintiff(s):
None Present

Attorney(s) Present for Defendant(s):
None Present
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Proceedings:

Order: (1) GRANTING Defendants’ Motion to
Dismiss (Doc. No. 33); (2) DENYING Plaintiff’s
Motion for Class Certification (Doc. No. 26):
and (3) DENYING Plaintiff’s Motion for

Preliminary Injunction (Doc. No. 28)
(IN CHAMBERS)

Before the Court are three motions. The Court has
considered all papers filed in support of and in
opposition to the motions, as well as the arguments
presented at the February 9, 2015 hearing. For the
reasons expressed below, the Court GRANTS
Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss. (Doc. No. 33.)
Accordingly, the Court DENIES Plaintiff’s Motion for
Class Certification (Doc. No. 26) and DENIES
Plaintiffs Motion for a Preliminary Injunction
(Doc. No. 28), as both of these motions presuppose the
existence of a valid legal claim.

I. BACKGROUND
A. Factual Allegations

Plaintiff Lamya Brewster (“Plaintiff”) is the
registered owner of a 2010 Chevrolet Impala.
(Complaint, Doc. No. 1, { 12.) On October 28, 2014,
Plaintiff and a group of family and friends were at the
Kaiser Permanente Hospital in Hollywood, as
Plaintiff's daughter was undergoing medical evaluation
and treatment. (Id. J 14.) At some point during the day,
Plaintiff loaned her car to her brother-in-law, Yonnie
Percy. (Id.) Mr. Percy drove himself and two other
members of the group to a nearby restaurant. (Id.)



App. 13

As Mr. Percy was about to pull into the restaurant’s
parking lot, Los Angeles Police Department (“LAPD”)
officers conducted a traffic stop of the car. (Id. | 15.)
During the course of the stop, the officers learned Mr.
Percy’s driver’s license was suspended. (Id.) The
officers ultimately seized and impounded the vehicle,
as it was being driven by a person with a suspended
license. (Id.) The Complaint alleges the two passengers,
both licensed drivers, offered to drive the car to a safe
location. (Id.) Plaintiff learned of the traffic stop and
took a taxi to the scene, but by the time she arrived the
car had already been towed. (Id. { 16.) The Complaint
alleges one of the LAPD officers explained to Plaintiff
that her car would be impounded for thirty days,
during which she could not reclaim possession. (Id.)

On October 31, 2014, Plaintiff’s legal representative
“made demand” on the LAPD to release the car to
Plaintiff. (Id. ] 19.) Plaintiff’s representative informed
the LAPD that Plaintiff was the registered owner and
was willing to pay the charged and fees that had
accrued. (Id.) The LAPD denied Plaintiff’s request to
release the car. (Id.)

B. California Vehicle Code § 14602.6 and
LAPD Special Order No. 7

California Vehicle Code § 14602.6(a)(1), the
statutory authority used to impound Plaintiff’s vehicle,
provides:

Whenever a peace officer determines that a
person was driving a vehicle while his or her
driving privilege was suspended or revoked,
driving a vehicle while his or her driving
privilege is restricted pursuant to Section 13352
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or 23575 and the vehicle is not equipped with a
functioning, certified interlock device, or driving
a vehicle without ever having been issued a
driver’s license, the peace officer may either
immediately arrest that person and cause the
removal and seizure of that vehicle or, if the
vehicle is involved in a traffic collision, cause the
removal and seizure of the vehicle without the
necessity of arresting the person.... A vehicle so
impounded shall be impounded for 30 days.

Within two working days of an impoundment
pursuant to § 14602.6(a)(1), the impounding agency
must notify the vehicle’s owner of the impoundment.
Cal. Veh. Code § 14602.6(a)(2). The vehicle’s owner
“shall be provided the opportunity for a storage hearing
to determine the validity of, or consider any mitigating
circumstances attendant to, the storage, in accordance
with Section 22852.” Cal. Veh. Code § 14602.6(b).
Section 22852 sets out the procedure for hearings to
“determine the validity of the storage” and provides,
among other things, that a “public agency may
authorize its own officer or employee to conduct the
hearing if the hearing officer is not the same person
who directed the storage of the vehicle.” Cal. Veh. Code
§ 22852(c).

The LAPD’s Impound Policy, also referred to as
Special Order No. 7, (“SO7,” Mot. for Class Cert.,
Exh. 1, Doc. No. 26-1) outlines the LAPD’s
interpretation and enforcement of Section 14602.6. The
Impound Policy does not contain any additional bases
for the thirty-day impoundment of a vehicle beyond
those set forth in California Vehicle Code § 14602.6; in
effect, the Impound Policy mirrors the statute.
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C. Procedural History

On November 2, 2014, Plaintiff filed a class action
Complaint against Defendants City of Los Angeles (the
“City”), Los Angeles Police Department, and Police
Chief Charlie Beck (collectively “Defendants”) seeking
injunctive relief and damages under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.
(Doc. No. 1.) The Complaint alleges that Defendants
have promulgated the “Impound Policy”, an official
policy by which an LAPD officer may direct or cause a
vehicle to be seized then impounded for thirty days
under certain conditions. (Id. J 8.) The Complaint
alleges the Impound Policy violates the Fourth
Amendment of the Constitution. (Id. 9 41, 44.)

On November 24, 2014, Plaintiff filed two motions.
The first is a motion for class certification. (“Mot. for
Class Cert.,” Doc. No. 26.) Defendants opposed this
motion on January 12, 2015. (“Opp’n Mot. for Class
Cert.,” Doc. No. 34.) Plaintiff replied on January 20,
2015. (“Reply Mot. for Class Cert.,” Doc. No. 37.)
Plaintiff's second motion is for a preliminary
injunction, which would enjoin Defendants from
imposing thirty day holds on vehicles; specifically,
those seized (1) without a warrant and (2) under
Defendants’ Impound Policy. (“Mot. for PI,” Doc.
No. 28) Defendants opposed on January 12, 2015
(“Opp’n Mot. for PI,” Doc. No. 35) and Plaintiff replied
on January 20, 2015 (“Reply Mot. for PI1,” Doc. No. 39.)

On December 26, 2014, Defendants filed a motion to
dismiss based on (1) Plaintiff’s lack of standing and
(2) Plaintiff’'s failure to state a claim. (“MTD,”
Doc. No. 33.) Plaintiff filed an opposition on January
20, 2015. (“Opp’n MTD,” Doc. No. 40.) On January 26,
2015, Defendants replied. (“Reply,” Doc. No. 39.)
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On February 9, 2015, the Court heard oral
argument on the motions. At the hearing, the Court
requested supplemental briefing on Defendants’
contention that the thirty-day impound is an
administrative penalty. Both parties filed their
supplemental briefs on February 17, 2015. (“Pl.’s Supp.
Br.,” Doc. No. 49; “Def.’s Supp. Br.,” Doc. No. 50.)

II. MOTION TO DISMISS

Defendants move to dismiss on several grounds.
Defendants contend that (1) Plaintiff lacks standing to
bring her suit, (2) the Complaint fails to state a claim
because Defendants’ Impound Policy rests on state law,
and (3) the Complaint fails to state a claim because the
thirty-day impoundment of Plaintiff’s car was a valid
administrative penalty. (MTD at 6-13.) The Court finds
Defendants’ third contention persuasive, for reasons
explained below, and therefore need not examine
Defendants’ remaining arguments.

A. Legal Standard
1. Failure to State a Claim

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6) allows a
party to bring a motion to dismiss for failure to state a
claim upon which relief can be granted. Rule 12(b)(6) is
read in conjunction with Rule 8(a), which requires only
a short and plain statement of the claim showing that
the pleader is entitled to relief. Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(a)(2);
Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 47 (1957) (holding that
the Federal Rules require that a plaintiff provide “a
short and plain statement of the claim’ that will give
the defendant fair notice of what the plaintiff’s claim is
and the grounds upon which it rests.” (quoting Fed. R.
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Civ. P. 8(a)(2))); Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombly, 550 U.S.
544, 555 (2007).

When evaluating a motion to dismiss, a court must
accept all material allegations in the complaint — as
well as any reasonable inferences to be drawn from
them — as true and construe them in the light most
favorable to the non-moving party. See Doe v. United
States, 419 F.3d 1058, 1062 (9th Cir. 2005); ARC
Ecology v. U.S. Dep’t of Air Force, 411 F.3d 1092, 1096
(9th Cir. 2005); Moyo v. Gomez, 32 F.3d 1382, 1384 (9th
Cir. 1994).

To survive a motion to dismiss, a plaintiff must
allege “enough facts to state a claim to relief that is
plausible on its face.” Twombly, 550 U.S. at 570;
Ashcroft v. Igbal, 556 U.S. 662, 129 S. Ct. 1937, 1949
(2009). “The plausibility standard is not akin to a
‘probability requirement,” but it asks for more than a
sheer possibility that a defendant has acted unlawfully.
Where a complaint pleads facts that are ‘merely
consistent with’ a defendant’s liability, it stops short of
the line between possibility and plausibility of
‘entitlement to relief.” Igbal, 556 U.S. at 678 (quoting
Twombly, 550 U.S. at 557). The Ninth Circuit has
clarified that (1) a complaint must “contain sufficient
allegations of underlying facts to give fair notice and to
enable the opposing party to defend itself effectively,”
and (2) “the factual allegations that are taken as true
must plausibly suggest an entitlement to relief, such
that it is not unfair to require the opposing party to be
subjected to the expense of discovery and continued
litigation.” Starr v. Baca, 652 F.3d 1202, 1216 (9th Cir.
2011).
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Dismissal under Rule 12(b)(6) is appropriate only
where the complaint lacks a cognizable legal theory or
sufficient facts to support a cognizable legal theory.”
Mendiondo v. Centinela Hosp. Med. Ctr., 521 F.3d
1097, 1104 (9th Cir.2008).

B. Application

It is undisputed that Defendants’ Impound Policy
rests upon California Vehicle Code § 14602.6 (“Section
14602.6”). When a vehicle is seized under Section
14602.6, the statute imposes a mandatory thirty-day
impoundment. Cal. Veh. Code § 14602.6 (stating that
the vehicle “shall be impounded for thirty days”). In
this lawsuit, Plaintiff does not challenge the initial
decision to impound her car.! Rather, she contends the
thirty-day impoundment is unconstitutional under the
Fourth Amendment. (See Complaint ] 39-45; Mot. for
PI at 5; Reply Mot. for Class Cert., at 4.) Defendants
argue that the thirty-day impoundment is a valid
administrative penalty. (Motion at 8-13.) Defendants
contend that, as an administrative penalty, the
impoundment presents no Fourth Amendment issue.
(Def.’s Supp. Br. at 10.)

The Fourth Amendment prohibits unreasonable
searches and seizures. U.S. Const. amend. IV. A Fourth

! See Mot. for PI at 1-2 (“Finally, it should be noted what is not
challenged. Plaintiff does not seek to restrict or limit LAPD policy
for seizing and removing from the street a vehicle without a
warrant when such seizure is justified by community caretaking.
Hence, on this motion Plaintiff does not dispute defendants’ claim
they had, as of October 28, 2014, community caretaking
justification for seizing and removing from the street Plaintiff’s
2010 Impala.”
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Amendment “seizure” occurs where there is “some
meaningful interference with an individual’s
possessory interest in that property.” United States v.
Jacobsen, 466 U.S. 109, 113 (1984). Here, Defendants
do not dispute that the initial impoundment of
Plaintiff’s car was a seizure. This accords with Ninth
Circuit case law that “the impoundment of an
automobile is a seizure within the meaning of the
Fourth Amendment.” Mirandav. City of Cornelius, 429
F.3d 858, 862 (9th Cir. 2005).

Consequently, Defendants must provide a
justification for the initial seizure of Plaintiff’s vehicle.
United States v. Hawkins, 249 F.3d 867, 872 (9th Cir.
2001) (“A seizure conducted without a warrant is per se
unreasonable under the Fourth Amendment—subject
only to a few specifically established and well
delineated exceptions. The burden is on the
Government to persuade the district court that a
seizure comes under one of a few specifically
established exceptions to the warrant requirement.”)
Defendants justify the initial seizure of Plaintiff’'s
automobile under the community caretaking doctrine,
an exception to the warrant requirement. (MTD at 8.)
The community caretaking exception allows police
officers to impound vehicles that “jeopardize public
safety and the efficient movement of vehicular traffic.”
S. Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S. 364, 368-69 (1976).
Plaintiff does not challenge the initial seizure of her
vehicle.

Instead, the parties’ dispute centers on the validity
of the thirty-day impoundment that follows the initial
seizure.
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Plaintiff's argument stems from case law that
teaches that a seizure justified at its outset may
become unreasonable. For example, in United States v.
Place, 462 U.S. 696 (1983), the police seized the
defendant’s luggage to permit the use of a drug
detection dog; the process took about ninety minutes.
Id. at 698-99. The initial seizure of the bag, while
without a warrant, was found to be justified under the
Terry exception to the warrant requirement;
nevertheless, the Court found that the ninety-minute
detention of the luggage was “sufficient to render the
seizure unreasonable.” Id. at 709. In other words, “a
seizure lawful at its inception can nevertheless violate
the Fourth Amendment because its manner of
execution unreasonably infringes possessory interests.”
United States v. Jacobsen, 466 U.S. 109, 124 (1984)
(citing Place, 462 U.S. at 709710 (1983)).

However, while Plaintiff’s analytical framework has
some merit, the Court is persuaded that the thirty-day
impoundment period — designed to deter unlicensed
drivers or drivers with a suspended license from
driving — is an administrative penalty, and thus not
unconstitutional under the Fourth Amendment. This
conclusion conforms with the significant majority of
federal and state courts that have examined this issue.

Most tellingly, the Ninth Circuit has addressed this
issue in Salazar v. City of Maywood, 414 Fed. Appx. 73
(9th Cir. 2011.) In that case, the plaintiffs’ automobiles
had been impounded for thirty days pursuant to
Section 14602.6. 414 Fed. Appx. at 74. The plaintiffs
asserted in the trial court that Section 14602.6 , as well
as the defendants’ implementation of the statute,
violated their rights under “the Fourth, Fifth, and
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Fourteenth Amendments.” Id. (emphasis added). The
Ninth Circuit upheld the district court’s grant of
summary judgment in favor of defendants “on the
federal claims.” Id. While an unpublished opinion, the
Ninth Circuit’s reasoning is instructive. The court
noted:

“Section 14602.6 applies only in very limited
circumstances. The statute authorizes
impoundment of vehicles for up to thirty days
when an individual is found to be driving with a
suspended or revoked license or without ever
having been issued a driver’s license. Cal.
Veh.Code § 14602.6(a)(1). This limited
application accords with the California
legislature’s determination that such a
temporary forfeiture is warranted to protect
Californians from the harm caused by
unlicensed drivers—a determination we have no
basis to reject.”

Id. In other words, the Ninth Circuit, when faced with
a Fourth Amendment challenge to Section 14602.6,
upheld the statue as a temporary forfeiture?, thereby
finding that the statutorily mandated thirty-day
impoundment was not an unconstitutional seizure.

2 The thirty-day impoundment is an administrative penalty that
has aspects of a temporary forfeiture as well — hence the
admittedly imprecise nomenclature used. See Wilson v. Com., 23
Va. App. 443, 449 (1996) (“A temporary impoundment of a vehicle
is not a forfeiture, although it has characteristics of a forfeiture.
Being temporarily deprived of one’s vehicle until one pays a fee to
release it also resembles a civil penalty.”). However, the analysis
remains the same under either classification.
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This holding aligns with two other decisions from
this district. In Salazar v. Schwarzenegger, 2008 U.S.
Dist. LEXIS 124790 (C.D. Cal. Sept. 8, 2008) — the case
upheld by Maywood — the district court found that a
temporary forfeiture comports with the spirit of Section
14602.6 as well as “the legislative policy decision to
deter unlicensed driving by impounding the vehicle
driven by an unlicensed person.” “ 2008 U.S. Dist.
LEXIS at * 13. Thus, the plaintiffs’ claims regarding
the impoundment — including the unlawful seizure
claims — were reduced to challenges concerning the
sufficiency of the procedural due process afforded under
the statute. In Miranda v. Bonner, No. CV 08-03178
SJO (C.D. Cal. Apr. 26, 2012), several plaintiffs
challenged Section 14602.6’s thirty-day impoundment
on a variety of grounds, including a claim that the
statute effected an unconstitutional seizure — the same
claim made by Plaintiff here. The district court
dismissed this claim without leave to amend as to three
of the plaintiffs, explaining that these plaintiffs’
vehicles were lawfully impounded under Section
14602.6, and that such a temporary forfeiture was
lawful under the Fourth Amendment “because it served
the legitimate purpose of removing vehicles driven by
unlicensed drivers from the streets.” Id., slip op. at 6.

In contrast, in Sandoval v. County of Sonoma, 2014
WL 5474804 (N.D. Cal. Oct. 29, 2014), a case heavily
cited by Plaintiff, the court did not address the
administrative penalty argument Defendants put
forward here. In fact, in ruling on a motion to dismiss
in that case, the Court made clear that the plaintiff —
who had a Mexican driver’s license — did not fall under
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Section 14602.6.2 Sandoval v. Cnty. of Sonoma, 942 F.
Supp. 2d 890, 908 (N.D. Cal. 2013). The court explained
that, therefore, the defendants “cannot justify the
thirty-day impoundment of [plaintiff’s] truck by
reference to § 14602.6, and the Court may not decide
whether the provision is facially valid as an
administrative penalty.” Id. Consequently, the Court’s
later ruling on summary judgment also did not address

Section 14602.6's validity as an administrative penalty.
See 2014 WL 5474804.

Furthermore, there are numerous published
California State Court opinions that have upheld the
constitutionality of Section 14602.6. See Smith v. Santa
Rosa Police Dept., 97 Cal. App. 4th 546, 557-62 (2002)
(extensively analyzing the legislative history of Section
14602.6, noting that it was part of statutory changes
“aimed at increasing penalties for driving without a
valid license”); Samples v. Brown, 146 Cal. App. 4th
787 (2007) (explaining that the statute implements “the
legislative policy decision to deter and punish
unlicensed driving”); Thompson v. Petaluma Police
Dep’t, 231 Cal. App. 4th 101 (“The courts have . . .
concluded that the statute does not violate state and
federal constitutional principles of . . . freedom from

# As noted previously, Section 14602.6 permits police officers to
impound for thirty days vehicles driven by three categories of
drivers: (1) those whose driving privilege has been suspended or
revoked, (2) those who have been convicted of driving under the
influence and who are driving a vehicle not equipped with a
required ignition interlock device, and (3) those who are “driving
a vehicle without ever having been issued a driver’s license.” Cal.
Veh. Code. § 14602.6(a)(1). The plaintiff in Sandoval had been
issued a license; thus, the court found he did not fit into any of the
categories of drivers covered by Section 14602.6.
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unreasonable seizures.”). In Alviso v. Sonoma County
Sheriff's Dept., 186 Cal. App. 4th 198 (2010), the
California appellate court squarely addressed whether
“the 30-day impoundment without a warrant . . .
violates the unlawful seizure provisions of both the
state and federal Constitutions” and held that it did
not. 186 Cal. App. 4th at 786. The Alviso court found
that the prompt administrative hearing provided by
Section 14602.6 satisfied due process requirements,
and thus a thirty-day impoundment under the statute
was not an unconstitutional seizure. 186 Cal. App. 4th
at 786. This holding comports with the principle that
administrative penalties are generally not subject to
analysis under the Fourth Amendment, but are more
appropriately analyzed under due process standards.

The Court finds the analysis under Alviso
particularly instructive. While the initial seizure of the
car must comport with the Fourth Amendment, see
Miranda, 429 F.3d at 862, the storage hearing provides
an opportunity for the owner of the car to contest the
validity of the seizure before the full thirty-day
impoundment occurs. The owner may argue that the
driver of the vehicle had a valid license, for example, or
the owner may present mitigating circumstances. See
Cal. Veh. Code § 14602(b). The owner may also put
forward one of the several other defenses available
under the statute (although these may also be
presented at other times). See Cal. Veh. Code
§ 14602(d)(1)(A)-(E). If the owner is successful, the
thirty-day impoundment does not occur. If the owner
either does not request a storage hearing or is
unsuccessful at the hearing — i.e.,, there is a
determination that the car was driven by a driver
without a valid license — then the owner’s vehicle is
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impounded for the full thirty-day period. Thus, the
thirty-day impoundment, analytically separated from
the initial seizure by the storage hearing, is not an
unconstitutional seizure; rather, it is an administrative
penalty.

The federal and state courts cited above have
afforded significant weight to the California
legislature’s intent in passing Section 14602.6. The
legislative findings that accompanied the enactment of
section 14602.6 identified significant public safety
issues arising out of vehicles operated by unlicensed
drivers. Cal. Veh. Code, § 14607.4. The California
legislature found that unlicensed drivers are far more
likely than licensed drivers to cause fatal accidents and
to inflict injuries and property loss on innocent drivers.
Id., §§ (b)-(e). Yet, an estimated 75 percent of all
drivers whose driving privileges have been withdrawn
continue to drive. Id., § (e). As a result, the California
Legislature determined that it was “necessary and
appropriate to take additional steps to prevent
unlicensed drivers from driving, including the civil
forfeiture of vehicles used by unlicensed drivers.” Id.,

§ (.

It is clear that the state has an important interest
in enforcing its traffic laws and in keeping unlicensed
drivers from driving illegally. As the legislature has
stated, seizing the vehicles used by unlicensed drivers
“serves a significant governmental and public interest,
namely the protection of the health, safety, and welfare
of Californians who are involved in a disproportionate
number of traffic accidents, and the avoidance of the
associated destruction and damage to lives and
property.” Id.
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Through Section 14602.6, the legislature has
provided for a temporary impoundment to penalize
drivers who pose an increased risk to community
safety. It is clear that the weight of authority, including
the Ninth Circuit, has held that Section 14602.6’s
thirty-day impoundment is not an unconstitutional
seizure. This Court comes to the same conclusion.

Accordingly, Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss is
GRANTED. The Court DISMISSES the Complaint
WITHOUT LEAVE TO AMEND.*

III. MOTIONS FOR CLASS CERTIFICATION
AND PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION

Plaintiff realleges the foregoing constitutional
challenge in her Motion for Class Certification. (Mot.
for Class Cert. at 1, 13.) Because Plaintiff’s Fourth
Amendment claim — on which the proposed class action
is based — fails to state a claim upon which relief could
be granted, Plaintiff’s Motion for Class Certification
also fails.

As to Plaintiff’s Motion for a Preliminary Injunction,
“a plaintiff seeking a preliminary injunction must
establish that he is likely to succeed on the merits, that
he is likely to suffer irreparable harm in the absence of
preliminary relief, that the balance of equities tips in
his favor, and that an injunction is in the public
interest.” Winter v. Natural Res. Def. Council, Inc., 555

* A district court can deny leave “where the amendment would be
futile . . . or where the amended complaint would be subject to
dismissal.” Saul v. United States, 928 F.2d 829, 843 (9th Cir. 1991)
(citations omitted); see also Steckman v. Hart Brewing, Inc., 143
F.3d 1293, 1298 (9th Cir. 1998).
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U.S. 7, 20 (2008). As discussed above, Plaintiff has
failed to state a claim on which relief can be granted.
Therefore, there is no likelihood of success on the
merits. As Plaintiff fails to clear this threshold
requirement for injunctive relief, her Motion for
Preliminary Injunction is DENIED.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court GRANTS
Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss, and DISMISSES the
Complaint WITHOUT LEAVE TO AMEND. The Court
DENIES Plaintiff’s Motion for Class Certification and
DENIES Plaintiff's Motion for Preliminary Injunction.

IT IS SO ORDERED.
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APPENDIX D

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 15-55479
D.C. No. 5:14-¢cv-02257-JGB-SP

[Filed August 23, 2017]

LAMYA BREWSTER, individually
and as class representative,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

and official capacity; CITY OF LOS
ANGELES, a municipal corporation;
CITY OF LOS ANGELES POLICE
DEPARTMENT, a public entity,

)
)
)
)
)
)
CHARLIE BECK, Chief, individual )
)
)
)
)
Defendants-Appellees. )

)

ORDER

Before: KOZINSKI, McKEOWN and WATFORD,
Circuit Judges.

The petition for rehearing en banc is DENIED.
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APPENDIX E

VEHICLE CODE - VEH

DIVISION 6. DRIVERS’ LICENSES [12500 - 15325]
(Heading of Division 6 amended by Stats. 1961,
Ch. 1615.)

CHAPTER 4. Violation of License Provisions
[14600 - 14611] (Chapter 4 enacted by Stats. 1959,
Ch. 3.)

14602.6.

(a)(1) Whenever a peace officer determines that a
person was driving a vehicle while his or her driving
privilege was suspended or revoked, driving a vehicle
while his or her driving privilege is restricted pursuant
to Section 13352 or 23575 and the vehicle is not
equipped with a functioning, certified interlock device,
or driving a vehicle without ever having been issued a
driver’s license, the peace officer may either
immediately arrest that person and cause the removal
and seizure of that vehicle or, if the vehicle is involved
in a traffic collision, cause the removal and seizure of
the vehicle without the necessity of arresting the
person in accordance with Chapter 10 (commencing
with Section 22650) of Division 11. A vehicle so
impounded shall be impounded for 30 days.

(2) The impounding agency, within two working days of
impoundment, shall send a notice by certified mail,
return receipt requested, to the legal owner of the
vehicle, at the address obtained from the department,
informing the owner that the vehicle has been
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impounded. Failure to notify the legal owner within
two working days shall prohibit the impounding agency
from charging for more than 15 days’ impoundment
when the legal owner redeems the impounded vehicle.
The impounding agency shall maintain a published
telephone number that provides information 24 hours
a day regarding the impoundment of vehicles and the
rights of a registered owner to request a hearing. The
law enforcement agency shall be open to issue a release
to the registered owner or legal owner, or the agent of
either, whenever the agency is open to serve the public
for nonemergency business.

(b) The registered and legal owner of a vehicle that is
removed and seized under subdivision (a) or their
agents shall be provided the opportunity for a storage
hearing to determine the validity of, or consider any
mitigating circumstances attendant to, the storage, in
accordance with Section 22852.

(c) Any period in which a vehicle is subjected to storage
under this section shall be included as part of the
period of impoundment ordered by the court under
subdivision (a) of Section 14602.5.

(d)(1) An impounding agency shall release a vehicle to
the registered owner or his or her agent prior to the
end of 30 days’ impoundment under any of the
following circumstances:

(A) When the vehicle is a stolen vehicle.

(B) When the vehicle is subject to bailment and is
driven by an unlicensed employee of a business
establishment, including a parking service or repair
garage.
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(C) When the license of the driver was suspended or
revoked for an offense other than those included in
Article 2 (commencing with Section 13200) of Chapter 2
of Division 6 or Article 3 (commencing with Section
13350) of Chapter 2 of Division 6.

(D) When the vehicle was seized under this section for
an offense that does not authorize the seizure of the
vehicle.

(E) When the driver reinstates his or her driver’s
license or acquires a driver’s license and proper
insurance.

(2) No vehicle shall be released pursuant to this
subdivision without presentation of the registered
owner’s or agent’s currently valid driver’s license to
operate the vehicle and proof of current vehicle
registration, or upon order of a court.

(e) The registered owner or his or her agent is
responsible for all towing and storage charges related
to the impoundment, and any administrative charges
authorized under Section 22850.5.

(f) A vehicle removed and seized under subdivision (a)
shall be released to the legal owner of the vehicle or the
legal owner’s agent prior to the end of 30 days’
impoundment if all of the following conditions are met:

(1) The legal owner is a motor vehicle dealer, bank,
credit union, acceptance corporation, or other licensed
financial institution legally operating in this state or is
another person, not the registered owner, holding a
security interest in the vehicle.



App. 32

(2)(A) The legal owner or the legal owner’s agent pays
all towing and storage fees related to the seizure of the
vehicle. No lien sale processing fees shall be charged to
the legal owner who redeems the vehicle prior to the
15th day of impoundment. Neither the impounding
authority nor any person having possession of the
vehicle shall collect from the legal owner of the type
specified in paragraph (1), or the legal owner’s agent
any administrative charges imposed pursuant to
Section 22850.5 unless the legal owner voluntarily
requested a poststorage hearing.

(B) A person operating or in charge of a storage facility
where vehicles are stored pursuant to this section shall
accept a valid bank credit card or cash for payment of
towing, storage, and related fees by a legal or
registered owner or the owner’s agent claiming the
vehicle. A credit card shall be in the name of the person
presenting the card. “Credit card” means “credit card”
as defined in subdivision (a) of Section 1747.02 of the
Civil Code, except, for the purposes of this section,
credit card does not include a credit card issued by a
retail seller.

(C) A person operating or in charge of a storage facility
described in subparagraph (B) who violates
subparagraph (B) shall be civilly liable to the owner of
the vehicle or to the person who tendered the fees for
four times the amount of the towing, storage, and
related fees, but not to exceed five hundred dollars
($500).

(D) A person operating or in charge of a storage facility
described in subparagraph (B) shall have sufficient
funds on the premises of the primary storage facility
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during normal business hours to accommodate, and
make change in, a reasonable monetary transaction.

(E) Credit charges for towing and storage services shall
comply with Section 1748.1 of the Civil Code. Law
enforcement agencies may include the costs of
providing for payment by credit when making
agreements with towing companies on rates.

(3) The legal owner or the legal owner’s agent presents
a copy of the assignment, as defined in subdivision (b)
of Section 7500.1 of the Business and Professions Code;
a release from the one responsible governmental
agency, only if required by the agency; a
government-issued photographic identification card;
and any one of the following, as determined by the legal
owner or the legal owner’s agent: a certificate of
repossession for the vehicle, a security agreement for
the vehicle, or title, whether paper or electronic,
showing proof of legal ownership for the vehicle. Any
documents presented may be originals, photocopies, or
facsimile copies, or may be transmitted electronically.
The law enforcement agency, impounding agency, or
any other governmental agency, or any person acting
on behalf of those agencies, shall not require any
documents to be notarized. The law enforcement
agency, impounding agency, or any person acting on
behalf of those agencies may require the agent of the
legal owner to produce a photocopy or facsimile copy of
its repossession agency license or registration issued
pursuant to Chapter 11 (commencing with Section
7500) of Division 3 of the Business and Professions
Code, or to demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the law
enforcement agency, impounding agency, or any person
acting on behalf of those agencies, that the agent is
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exempt from licensure pursuant to Section 7500.2 or
7500.3 of the Business and Professions Code.

No administrative costs authorized under subdivision
(a) of Section 22850.5 shall be charged to the legal
owner of the type specified in paragraph (1), who
redeems the vehicle unless the legal owner voluntarily
requests a poststorage hearing. No city, county, city
and county, or state agency shall require a legal owner
or a legal owner’s agent to request a poststorage
hearing as a requirement for release of the vehicle to
the legal owner or the legal owner’s agent. The law
enforcement agency, impounding agency, or other
governmental agency, or any person acting on behalf of
those agencies, shall not require any documents other
than those specified in this paragraph. The law
enforcement agency, impounding agency, or other
governmental agency, or any person acting on behalf of
those agencies, shall not require any documents to be
notarized. The legal owner or the legal owner’s agent
shall be given a copy of any documents he or she is
required to sign, except for a vehicle evidentiary hold
logbook. The law enforcement agency, impounding
agency, or any person acting on behalf of those
agencies, or any person in possession of the vehicle,
may photocopy and retain the copies of any documents
presented by the legal owner or legal owner’s agent.

(4) A failure by a storage facility to comply with any
applicable conditions set forth in this subdivision shall
not affect the right of the legal owner or the legal
owner’s agent to retrieve the vehicle, provided all
conditions required of the legal owner or legal owner’s
agent under this subdivision are satisfied.
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(g)(1) A legal owner or the legal owner’s agent that
obtains release of the vehicle pursuant to subdivision
(f) shall not release the vehicle to the registered owner
of the vehicle, or the person who was listed as the
registered owner when the vehicle was impounded, or
any agents of the registered owner, unless the
registered owner is a rental car agency, until after the
termination of the 30-day impoundment period.

(2) The legal owner or the legal owner’s agent shall not
relinquish the vehicle to the registered owner or the
person who was listed as the registered owner when
the vehicle was impounded until the registered owner
or that owner’s agent presents his or her valid driver’s
license or valid temporary driver’s license to the legal
owner or the legal owner’s agent. The legal owner or
the legal owner’s agent or the person in possession of
the vehicle shall make every reasonable effort to ensure
that the license presented is valid and possession of the
vehicle will not be given to the driver who was involved
in the original impoundment proceeding until the
expiration of the impoundment period.

(3) Prior to relinquishing the vehicle, the legal owner
may require the registered owner to pay all towing and
storage charges related to the impoundment and any
administrative charges authorized under Section
22850.5 that were incurred by the legal owner in
connection with obtaining custody of the vehicle.

(4) Any legal owner who knowingly releases or causes
the release of a vehicle to a registered owner or the
person in possession of the vehicle at the time of the
impoundment or any agent of the registered owner in
violation of this subdivision shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor and subject to a fine in the amount of two
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thousand dollars ($2,000) in addition to any other
penalties established by law.

(5) The legal owner, registered owner, or person in
possession of the vehicle shall not change or attempt to
change the name of the legal owner or the registered
owner on the records of the department until the
vehicle is released from the impoundment.

(h)(1) A vehicle removed and seized under subdivision
(a) shall be released to a rental car agency prior to the
end of 30 days’ impoundment if the agency is either the
legal owner or registered owner of the vehicle and the
agency pays all towing and storage fees related to the
seizure of the vehicle.

(2) The owner of a rental vehicle that was seized under
this section may continue to rent the vehicle upon
recovery of the vehicle. However, the rental car agency
may not rent another vehicle to the driver of the
vehicle that was seized until 30 days after the date that
the vehicle was seized.

(3) The rental car agency may require the person to
whom the vehicle was rented to pay all towing and
storage charges related to the impoundment and any
administrative charges authorized under Section
22850.5 that were incurred by the rental car agency in
connection with obtaining custody of the vehicle.

(i) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section,
the registered owner and not the legal owner shall
remain responsible for any towing and storage charges
related to the impoundment, any administrative
charges authorized under Section 22850.5, and any
parking fines, penalties, and administrative fees
incurred by the registered owner.
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(G)(1) The law enforcement agency and the impounding
agency, including any storage facility acting on behalf
of the law enforcement agency or impounding agency,
shall comply with this section and shall not be liable to
the registered owner for the improper release of the
vehicle to the legal owner or the legal owner’s agent
provided the release complies with the provisions of
this section. A law enforcement agency shall not refuse
to issue a release to a legal owner or the agent of a
legal owner on the grounds that it previously issued a
release.

(2)(A) The legal owner of collateral shall, by operation
of law and without requiring further action, indemnify
and hold harmless a law enforcement agency, city,
county, city and county, the state, a tow yard, storage
facility, or an impounding yard from a claim arising out
of the release of the collateral to a licensed repossessor
or licensed repossession agency, and from any damage
to the collateral after its release, including reasonable
attorney’s fees and costs associated with defending a
claim, if the collateral was released in compliance with
this section.

(B) This subdivision shall apply only when collateral is
released to a licensed repossessor, licensed
repossession agency, or its officers or employees
pursuant to Chapter 11 (commencing with Section
7500) of Division 3 of the Business and Professions

Code.

(Amended by Stats. 2015, Ch. 740, Sec. 14. Effective
January 1, 2016.)
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VEHICLE CODE - VEH

DIVISION 11. RULES OF THE ROAD [21000 -
23336] (Division 11 enacted by Stats. 1959, Ch. 3.)

CHAPTER 10. Removal of Parked and Abandoned
Vehicles [22650 - 22856] (Chapter 10 enacted by
Stats. 1959, Ch. 3.)

ARTICLE 2. Vehicle Disposition [22850 - 22856]
(Heading of Article 2 renumbered from Article 3
by Stats. 1980, Ch. 1111, Sec. 28.)

22852.

(a) Whenever an authorized member of a public agency
directs the storage of a vehicle, as permitted by this
chapter, or upon the storage of a vehicle as permitted
under this section (except as provided in subdivision (f)
or (g)), the agency or person directing the storage shall
provide the vehicle’s registered and legal owners of
record, or their agents, with the opportunity for a
poststorage hearing to determine the validity of the
storage.

(b) A notice of the storage shall be mailed or personally
delivered to the registered and legal owners within 48
hours, excluding weekends and holidays, and shall
include all of the following information:

(1) The name, address, and telephone number of the
agency providing the notice.

(2) The location of the place of storage and description
of the vehicle, which shall include, if available, the
name or make, the manufacturer, the license plate
number, and the mileage.
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(3) The authority and purpose for the removal of the
vehicle.

(4) A statement that, in order to receive their
poststorage hearing, the owners, or their agents, shall
request the hearing in person, writing, or by telephone
within 10 days of the date appearing on the notice.

(c) The poststorage hearing shall be conducted within
48 hours of the request, excluding weekends and
holidays. The public agency may authorize its own
officer or employee to conduct the hearing if the
hearing officer is not the same person who directed the
storage of the vehicle.

(d) Failure of either the registered or legal owner, or his
or her agent, to request or to attend a scheduled hearing
shall satisfy the poststorage hearing requirement.

(e) The agency employing the person who directed the
storage shall be responsible for the costs incurred for
towing and storage if it is determined in the
poststorage hearing that reasonable grounds for the
storage are not established.

(f) This section does not apply to vehicles abated under
the Abandoned Vehicle Abatement Program pursuant
to Sections 22660 to 22668, inclusive, and Section
22710, or to vehicles impounded for investigation
pursuant to Section 22655, or to vehicles removed from
private property pursuant to Section 22658.
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(g) This section does not apply to abandoned vehicles
removed pursuant to Section 22669 that are
determined by the public agency to have an estimated
value of five hundred dollars ($500) or less.

(Amended by Stats. 2004, Ch. 650, Sec. 17. Effective
January 1, 2005.)
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OFFICE OF THE CHIEF OF POLICE
SPECIAL ORDER NO. 7 April 10, 2012

APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF POLICE
COMMISSIONERS ON FEBRUARY 28, 2012

SUBJECT:

COMMUNITY CARETAKING DOCTRINE AND
VEHICLE IMPOUND PROCEDURES -
ESTABLISHED

EFFECTIVE:
APRIL 22, 2012
PURPOSE:

The California State Legislature continues to
recognize that driving a motor vehicle is a privilege and
not a right, as delineated in Section 14607.4 of the
California Vehicle Code (VC). This Order establishes
the procedures for impounding vehicles from
unlicensed drivers, and drivers with suspended or
revoked licenses encountered in the field, at the scene
of traffic collisions and at driving under the influence
(DUI) checkpoints. In addition, this Order provides
guidance regarding the enforcement of VC Sections
22651(p) “Unlicensed Driver,” and 14602.6(a)(1) “30-
Day Holds,” and guidance on how to apply the
“Community Caretaking Doctrine.” However, this
Order is not intended to preclude officers from
impounding vehicles for non-license violations by using
appropriate statutory authority. This Order establishes
Section 4/222. 05, Community Caretaking Doctrine and
Vehicle Impound Procedures, to the Department
Manual.
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PROCEDURE:

Various sections of the California Vehicle Code
authorize the impoundment of a motor vehicle driven
by an unlicensed driver or a driver with a suspended or
revoked driver’s license. However, State and federal
court decisions have held that the statutory authority
to 1impound, alone, does not determine the
constitutional reasonableness of the seizure under the
Fourth Amendment of the United States Constitution.
In evaluating the reasonableness of warrantless vehicle
impounds, courts have focused on whether the
impoundment was in accordance with the Community
Caretaking Doctrine. Consequently, this Order clarifies
the application of the Community Caretaking Doctrine
and establishes the Department’s impound procedures.

I. COMMUNITY CARETAKING DOCTRINE
OVERVIEW. Officers shall be guided by the
Community Caretaking Doctrine and the
procedures set forth in this Order when deciding
whether to impound a vehicle driven by an
unlicensed driver, or a driver with a suspended or
revoked license. The courts have ruled that this
doctrine allows officers to impound a vehicle when
doing so serves a community caretaking function.
An impoundment based on the Community
Caretaking Doctrine is likely warranted:

* When the vehicle is impeding traffic or
jeopardizing public safety and convenience, such
as when a vehicle is disabled following a traffic
collision;

* When the vehicle is blocking a driveway or
crosswalk or otherwise preventing the efficient
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movement of traffic (e.g., vehicle, pedestrian,
bicycle);

*  When the location of the stopped vehicle may
create a public safety hazard (e.g., vehicle,
pedestrian, bicyclist);

*  When the location of the vehicle, if left at the
location, may make it a target for vandalism or
theft; or,

* To prevent the immediate and continued
unlawful operation of the vehicle (e.g., licensed
driver not immediately available).

The totality of circumstances, including the factors
listed above, should be considered when deciding
whether impoundment is reasonable under the
Community Caretaking Doctrine and the Fourth
Amendment. The decision to impound any vehicle
must be reasonable and in furtherance of public
safety.

UNLICENSED DRIVER AND DRIVER WITH A
SUSPENDED/REVOKED LICENSE IMPOUND
AUTHORITIES.

A. Unlicensed Driver — No Priors. Section 22651(p)
VC shall be used as the impound authority £or
all vehicles being impounded when it has been
determined that the driver was involved in the
following and the officer issues a Traffic Notice
to Appear citation, Form 04.50.00:

*  Driving without a valid California Driver’s
License (unless the driver is a nonresident with
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a valid license or otherwise exempt under the
Vehicle Code); or,

Driving with an expired, withheld, or out-of-
class California Driver’s License.

Officers shall release the vehicle in lieu of impound
provided all of the following conditions are met:

&

The registered owner or his/her designee has a
valid California Driver’s license or is a
nonresident with a valid license or otherwise
exempt under the Vehicle Code;

The registered owner and licensed driver are
immediately available;

The registered owner authorizes the licensed
driver to drive the vehicle; and,

The vehicle’s registration is not expired over six
(6) months.

Note: If the traffic stop is conducted in the
registered owner’s residential driveway or a
legal parking space in the immediate vicinity of
the owner’s residence, impounding the vehicle
would not be appropriate. However, if the traffic
stop is conducted in the driver’s residential
driveway or in the immediate vicinity of the
driver’s residence but the driver is not the
registered owner, officers must consider the
totality of the circumstances to determine if
impoundment is reasonable.

The name and driver’s license number of the
licensed driver that the vehicle is being released to
shall be documented in the narrative portion of the
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Traffic Notice to Appear that is issued to the
unlicensed driver. If it is determined that the
registered owner knowingly allowed an unlicensed
driver to operate the vehicle, he or she may be cited
for Section 14604(a) VC, “Non-Owner Driver of
Vehicle.”

When the vehicle cannot be released to a licensed
driver, the vehicle shall be impounded pursuant to
Section 22651(p) VC or, if the vehicle’s registration
is expired over six (6) months, pursuant to Section
22651(0) VC, to prevent the immediate and
continued unlawful operation as warranted under
the Community Caretaking Doctrine. The Official
Police Garage (OPG) tow should be requested when
it is determined that the vehicle cannot be released.

Note: If it is determined that the vehicle will be
impounded, use impound authority Section
14602.6(a)(1) VC (30-Day Hold) if all of the
following conditions are met:

* The driver has never been issued a
driver’s license by any jurisdiction
(foreign or domestic); and,

* The driver is unable to show proof of
insurance or at-fault in the traffic
collision or lacks proof of identification.

The reason to impound the vehicle shall not be
based on whether the vehicle is properly
insured.

B. Unlicensed Driver — With Prior(s). Section
14602.6(a)(1) VC (30-Day Hold) shall be used as
the impound authority when it has been
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determined that the driver has never been
issued a driver’s license by any jurisdiction
(foreign or domestic) and has a prior
misdemeanor conviction, failure to appear, or
warrant for Section 12500(a) VC.

Note: Section 22651(p) VC shall always be
used as the impound authority if it has been
determined that the driver has an expired,
withheld or out of class driver’s license and
has a prior misdemeanor conviction, failure
to appear, or warrant for 12500(a), 14601,
14601.1, 14601.2, 14601.3, 14601.4, or
14601.5 VC.

If the driver is the registered owner and has a
prior misdemeanor conviction: Officers shall
document in the “Remarks” or “Narrative”
section of the impound Vehicle Report, CHP 180
form, that the vehicle is eligible for vehicle
forfeiture as delineated in Section 14607.6 VC,
except if the driver’s license expired within the
preceding 30 days, then no such notation shall
be made.

. Driver with Suspended/Revoked License — No
Priors. Section 14602.6(a)(1) VC (30-Day Hold)
shall be used as the impound authority for all
vehicles being impounded when it has been
determined that the driver was involved in any
of the following:

*  Driving with a suspended or revoked license;
or,

Driving with a restricted license pursuant to
Sections 13352 or 23575 VC, and the vehicle
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is not equipped with a functioning, certified
interlock device.

Officers shall release the vehicle in lieu of
impound provided all of the following conditions
are met:

*

The registered owner or his/her designee has
a valid California Driver’s License or is a
nonresident with a valid license or is
otherwise exempt under the Vehicle Code;

The registered owner and licensed driver are
immediately available;

The registered owner authorizes the licensed
driver to drive the vehicle; and,

The vehicle’s registration is not expired over
six (6) months.

Note: If the traffic stop is conducted in the
registered owner’s residential driveway or a
legal parking space in the immediate vicinity
of the owner’s residence, impounding the
vehicle would not be appropriate. However, if
the traffic stop is conducted in the driver’s
residential driveway or in the immediate
vicinity of the driver’s residence but the
driver is not the registered owner, officers
must consider the totality of the
circumstances to determine if impoundment
is reasonable.

Officers impounding a vehicle under Section
14602.6(a)(1) VC shall either effect a custodial
arrest of the driver or issue a Traffic Notice to
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Appear citation in the field. Vehicles impounded
under this Section shall be impounded for 30
days, unless earlier release is authorized by the
Area Auto detectives in accordance with Section
14602.6 VC.

The name and driver’s license number of the
licensed driver that the vehicle is being released
to shall be documented in the narrative portion
of the Traffic Notice to Appear that is issued to
the unlicensed driver. If it is determined that
the registered owner knowingly allowed an
unlicensed driver to operate the vehicle, he or
she may be cited for Section 14604(a) VC, “Non-
Owner Driver of Vehicle.”

. Driver with Suspended/Revoked License — With
Prior(s) Section 14602.6(a)(1) VC (30-Day Hold)
shall be used as the impound authority for all
vehicles being impounded when it has been
determined that the suspended/revoked/
restricted violator has a prior misdemeanor
conviction, failure to appear, or warrant for
Sections 12500(a), 14601, 14601.1, 14601.2,
14601.3, 14601.4, or 14601.5 VC.

Note: If the driver is the registered owner
and has a prior misdemeanor conviction:
Officers shall document in the “Remarks” or
“Narrative” section of the impound Vehicle
Report, that the vehicle is eligible for vehicle
forfeiture as delineated in Section 14607.6
VC.
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MISCELLANEOUS IMPOUNDS.

. Impounding Vehicles Driven by Habitual

Driving Under the Influence Offenders. Section
14602.8(a)(1) VC authorizes an officer to
impound a vehicle from a driver when it is
determined that a person has been convicted of
Section 23140 VC, Juvenile Driving Under the
Influence of Alcohol; 23152 VC, Driving Under
the Influence of Drugs or Alcohol; or 23153 VC,
Causing Bodily Injury While Driving Under the
Influence of Drugs or Alcohol, within the past 10
years and one or more of the following
circumstances applies.

The officer shall immediately cause the removal
and seizure of the vehicle that such a person was
driving, under either of the following
circumstances:

* The person was driving a vehicle with a blood
alcohol content of 0.10 percent or more; or,

* The person driving the vehicle refused to
submit to or complete a chemical test.

A vehicle impounded pursuant to the
aforementioned section shall be impounded for
one of the following time periods:

* 5 Days — If the person has been convicted
once for violating Sections 23140, 23152 or
23153 VC, and the violation occurred within
the preceding 10 years; or,

* 15 Days — If the person has been convicted
two or more times for violating Sections
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23140, 23152 or 23153 VC or any
combination thereof, and the violations
occurred within the preceding 10 years.

The vehicle shall be released to the registered
owner or his or her designee prior to the end of
the impoundment period only under conditions
set forth in Section 14602.8(d) VC.

. Citing or Arresting Unlicensed Drivers at Traffic
Collision Scenes and Related Vehicle Impounds.
For an unlicensed driver or driver with a
suspended/revoked license at traffic collision
scenes, the appropriate impound authority or
release-at-scene protocol shall be utilized in
accordance with Section II in this Order.

A driver involved in a traffic collision may be
cited or placed under custodial arrest when the
officer determines that the involved vehicle was
operated by an unlicensed driver or a driver
whose driving privilege was suspended or
revoked.

The officer’s determination shall be based upon
witnesses’ statements, a driver’s admission
and/or physical evidence. The related impound
Vehicle Report shall contain the following:

* A full narrative listing all of the information/
elements to establish the driver’s offense;
and,

* Names, addresses, telephone numbers and
statements of witnesses that can establish
the driver operating the vehicle.
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If the traffic collision results in injuries, officers
shall complete the Traffic Collision Report, CHP
555 form. However, if the traffic collision does
not result in injuries and one of the parties is
unlicensed, a Traffic Collision Report shall not
be completed. The officer shall ensure an
exchange of information is completed between
the involved parties. Officers shall issue a
Traffic Notice to Appear citation to the
unlicensed driver and document the name,
address and telephone number of the witnessing
party or parties on the back of the “Golden Rod”
copy of the issuing officer’s Traffic Notice to
Appear citation.

If the violator challenges the citation during a
subsequent court proceeding, the issuing officer
shall be responsible for contacting the
witnessing parties and requesting their
attendance in court.

When the unlicensed driver does not possess
valid identification, officers shall advise the
other involved party of the option to effect a
private person’s arrest. When a private person’s
arrest is made, officers shall indicate a charge of
Section 12500(a) VC or 14601(a) VC, or other
appropriate VC section(s) for driving when the
privilege is suspended or revoked.

. Impounding Vehicles at Driving Under the
Influence Checkpoints. The following procedures
apply it the driver’s only offense is a violation of
Section 12500 VC, even if the driver has a prior
misdemeanor conviction, failure to appear, or
warrant for 12500 VC. Officers shall make a
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reasonable attempt to identify the registered
owner of the vehicle driven by an unlicensed
driver. When the registered owner is present or
able to respond to the scene prior to the
conclusion of the DUI checkpoint operation, or
the officer is able, without delay, to identify the
registered owner and obtain his/her
authorization to release the vehicle to a licensed
driver at the scene, the vehicle shall be released
to either the registered owner or the authorized
licensed driver provided the following conditions
are met:

* The registered owner or his/her designee has

a valid California Driver’s License or is a
nonresident with a wvalid license or is
otherwise exempt under the Vehicle Code;
and,

* The registered owner authorizes the licensed
driver to drive the vehicle.

The name and driver’s license number of the
licensed driver the vehicle is being released to
shall be documented in the narrative portion of
the Traffic Notice to Appear citation issued to
the violator.

When the vehicle cannot be released to the
registered owner or his or her designee, officers
shall impound the vehicle under the authority of
Section 22651(p) VC.

When the violator has a suspended or revoked
driver’s license, officers shall impound or release
the vehicle as outlined in Section II “Unlicensed



App. 53

and Suspended/Revoked Driver Impound
Authorities” of this Order.

. Impounding Vehicles When the Driver is
Arrested. Section 22651(h)(1) VC authorizes an
officer to impound a vehicle from a driver who
has been arrested and taken into physical
custody. However, as noted in Section I of this
Order, officers must also determine if the
totality of the circumstances supports
impoundment of the vehicle under the
Community Caretaking Doctrine.

When a driveris arrested, the vehicle should not
be impounded under the following
circumstances:

* If the arrestee is the registered owner and
the vehicle is parked in the arrestee’s
residential driveway or a legal parking space
in the immediate vicinity of the arrestee’s
residence;

* If the vehicle is parked in a legal parking
space where it is not posing a traffic hazard
and is not likely to be a target of vandalism
or theft; or,

* If a licensed passenger is present and not
impaired or otherwise unable to lawfully
operate the vehicle and is given permission
by the registered owner.

Note: In situations other than those above,
when community caretaking warrants
impoundment, Section 22651(h)(1) VC shall
be used as the impound authority. If the
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driver arrested has prior DUI convictions,
officers shall be guided by Section
14602.8(a)(1) VC.

Attached is the Vehicle Impound Chart, Form 15.23.06.

FORM AVAILABILITY: The Vehicle Impound Chart is
available in LAPD E-Forms on the Department’s Local
Area Network (LAN). A copy of the form is attached for
immediate use and duplication.

AMENDMENT: This Order adds Section 4/222.05 to
the Department Manual.

AUDIT RESPONSIBILITY: The Commanding Officer,
Internal Audits and Inspections Division, shall review
this directive and determine whether an audit or
inspection shall be conducted in accordance with
Department Manual Section 0/080.30.

/s/ Charlie Beck
CHARLIE BECK
Chief of Police

Attachment:
DISTRIBUTION “D”





